Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2010-2013 & Daredevil 2007

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 2007 and Daredevil 2006. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2010-2013legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2007daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2010-2013 & Daredevil 2007

  1. I really like Daredevil Vol. 2 # 94.
    First of all, it’s focused on Matt’s private life instead of his activity as a superhero: this is quite unusual, so I could give this cover the gold medal for this reason alone.
    Secondly, it’s a delightful tribute to the romance comics of the 70s like Young Love: as you know, I don’t like tribute covers very much (I prefer when the cover artist creates something totally new), but in this case I appreciated it, because I love superhero comics having a romantic vibe.
    Thirdly, the colouring is very simple yet fantastic. The tone of blue used for the sky and the tone of purple used for the wall are both gorgeous, and I also love how the various tones of pink and purple are matched on Milla’s skin.
    Special mention for Daredevil Vol. 2 # 97: raging faces under the pouring rain? I’m definitely sold! : ) I love this cover also because it reminds me of the fights between Batman and Bane.
    Bronze medal for Daredevil Vol. 2 # 99, because the lighting is jaw – dropping.
    As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is LOTDK Vol. 2 # 5, because it suggests that this time Bullock will be the protagonist, and I love when a supporting character upstages the leading one.
    By the way, I own LOTDK Special # 1, and I remember it was great. I do suggest you to read it if you haven’t.

    • “I really like Daredevil Vol. 2 # 94.”
      Your write-up of this cover truly does it justice. A phenomenal cover that was part of a collection of some truly breathtaking images this year. The mere thought of choosing a runner-up to my choice is quite perplexing. I love your selection for the very reasons you provided, I’m astounded by #99’s perfect use of shadows and lighting, #97’s rain is done magnificently, and the vicious action of #96 is amazing. Marko Djurdjević is one talented individual.

      After much debate, my Rankings are: 2nd (#99), 3rd (#94), 4th (#97), and 5th (#96). Why oh why did they all have to come out in the same year? Each one of them could have won the top spot, that’s for sure.

      “As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is LOTDK Vol. 2 # 5, because it suggests that this time Bullock will be the protagonist, and I love when a supporting character upstages the leading one.”
      My runner-up goes to #2’s twisted and creepy Joker as Batman cover. That smiley face bat-logo is an awesome modification and that Crisis in Identity is the perfect caption.

      “By the way, I own LOTDK Special # 1, and I remember it was great. I do suggest you to read it if you haven’t.”
      I have not had the pleasure but thank you for the recommendation along with providing your picks!

Leave a comment