Retroactive: Detective Comics 1945 & Amazing Spider-Man 1969

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1944 and Amazing Spider-Man 1968. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. This week debuts the slightly tweaked look of Retroactive, utilizing page breaks so it isn’t just one big article and enabling it be easier to navigate to the section that interests you. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them. Let me know how you like the new format in the Comments section.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1945detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 1969amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

 

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1945 & Amazing Spider-Man 1969

  1. ASM #75 is the cover that makes me want to read what’s happening in that issue which is what a great cover should do. Other favorites are ASM #70 and #74 – something about that penciled background character is different and cool. Det #105 made me laugh too.

    • “ASM #75 is the cover that makes me want to read what’s happening in that issue which is what a great cover should do.I agree.”
      I agree. As soon as I was done this week’s Retroactive I had to look up who actually died in that issue. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  2. My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 106, because it really reminds me of Scooby Doo. The Phantom of the Library, a haunted house, people coming out or spying on you from a fake portrait… everything seems to allude to the Scooby Doo world. Of course it’s impossible, because that cartoon was born over 20 years later, but it’s an impressive amount of coincidences anyway.
    Talking about a real Easter Egg, look at this panel:
    http://twitter.com/i/#!/FreaknAnimalMan/media/slideshow?url=pic.twitter.com%2F7YyhFEJf
    Buddy wears the real Animal Man t – shirt, on sale on the DC site. Obviously Lemire loves to create Easter Eggs: this year Easter comes on the 31st of March, so I expect many of them to come in the March or April issues of Animal Man, Green Arrow and Justice League Dark.
    My favorite ASM cover… I’m wavering between issue # 68 and issue # 69. The cover for issue # 69 shows more or less the same scene of issue # 60, so the cover for issue # 68, being more original, deserves the 1st prize.
    I like the cover for issue # 68 so much because it shows a lot of people staging a protest, so it is clearly inspired from the political climate of those years. I normally don’t like references to external events in comics, but in this case I appreciated it. Maybe because it seems to be come naturally, instead of being a heavy handed reference.

    • “My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 106, because it really reminds me of Scooby Doo.”
      Now that you mention it, I see it. That’s the thing, reading your comments always opens up new possibilities/takes for me that never crossed my mind.

      Speaking of Scooby-Doo and Batman brings up memories of when I was a kid watching re-runs on TV and seeing the two of them team-up together. I also liked that they did an homage to that by having Batman and Scooby team-up once again in 2011’s episode of Batman: The Brave and the Bold as well. Batman and Scooby-Doo, two icons that stand the test of time…

      “My favorite ASM cover… I’m wavering between issue # 68 and issue # 69. The cover for issue # 69 shows more or less the same scene of issue # 60, so the cover for issue # 68, being more original, deserves the 1st prize.”
      Knowing your affinity for the Kingpin, when I was doing this piece I knew that one would rank high in your books.

      Thanks for sharing your choices. Always appreciated!

  3. P.S.: Honestly, I liked the old format more, because I could see all the covers at once. But this statement comes from a person hating any sort of changes, so I suppose I would have preferred the old format in any case. : )

    • Thanks for the feedback. As with everything on this blog, I’m constantly refining the format. I thought it would work better for some people who only care about one part or the other instead having to go through the whole thing. We’ll see how it goes…

Leave a Reply

