Coming Attractions 01/16/13

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most:

Batgirl #16
Batgirl #16
Creative Team
Gail Simone and Ed Benes
Solicitation
“In this issue you are invited to the wedding of Barbara Gordon and The Joker! The entire Gordon family is on hand for the most terrifying nuptials of all time!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Gail Simone’s stab at “Death of the Family” has been a tie-in that worked and actually further propelled the main plot of the book. Anytime Batgirl and Joker are in the same room together the tension is at an all-time high as she tries to battle her own dark urges that bubble to the surface. The resolution to this arc should be an enjoyable one, indeed.

 ________________________________________________________

Batman #16
Batman #16
Creative Team
Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo
Solicitation
“Batman heads into his showdown with The Joker as the madman’s plan is finally revealed – in Arkham Asylum! It all lead’s into next month’s terrifying conclusion! And in the backup story, in the midst of The Joker’s assault on Batman and his allies, get a secret glimpse into what started The Crown Prince of Crime on his horrifying journey!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Do I really need to say more? My favourite DC book by far continues its’ story here and I can’t be happier.

________________________________________________________

Batman & Robin #16
Batman And Robin #16
Creative Team
Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason
Solicitation

“Has The Joker broken Damian? Has Batman’s son met his fate at the hands of The Clown Prince of Crime?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Last issue was the shot in the arm that this book needed and the main reasons were the terrific characterization of the Joker who was at his absolute creepiness and that the issue was a Damian-centric one which I feel this series should become permanently. Hopefully this second issue is more of the same.

________________________________________________________

Daredevil #22
Daredevil 22 Cover
Creative Team
Mark Waid and Chris Samnee
Solicitation
“Daredevil teams up with the ALL NEW Superior Spider-Man! Yes, America, we’ve heard your calls! Stilt-Man Is BACK! Better than ever thanks to some last minute help from Doctor Octopus. The Eisner and Harvey Award winner for book of the year continues to baffle all of us here at the House of Ideas!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Daredevil and the Superior Spider-Man cross paths. How long will it take Matt to figure out that something is up with Spidey? Oh, and the return of Stilt-Man! Waid and Samnee look to deliver another stellar issue that has been a trademark of this series.

________________________________________________________

New Avengers #2
New Avengers #2
Creative Team

Jonathan Hickman and Steve Epting
Solicitation
“The Illuminati gather to plan for the death of Everything. Infinity gems, old wounds, lies, agendas and universal incursions. ‘It breaks hope — it crushes what makes us decent and steals what little honor remains.’ –Black Swan”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Here comes Issue #2. The first one was a little too much Black Panther for me but with the team assembled in this one, the series is primed to take off. Can’t wait to see how Black Panther and Namor get along especially after that “little” incident regarding Wakanda…
 ________________________________________________________

Other Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
All-New X-Men #6
Indestructible Hulk #3
Suicide Squad #16
Superboy #16
Threshold #1
Venom #30
X-Factor #250
________________________________________________________

The final tally stands at DC Comics (6 Issues), Marvel (6 Issues), and Independent (0 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

3 thoughts on “Coming Attractions 01/16/13

  1. “So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!” I’ll tell you my pull list from here to April:

    Batman: Arkham Unhinged # 10 (16/01)
    Grifter # 16 (16/01)
    Team 7 # 4 (16/01)
    Blue Beetle # 16 (23/01)
    Nightwing # 16 (23/01)
    Arrow # 3 (30/01)
    Batman Beyond Unlimited # 12 (30/01)
    Before Watchmen: Dollar Bill # 1 (30/01)
    Dial H # 9 (06/02)
    Green Arrow # 17 (06/02)
    Legends of the Dark Knight # 5 (06/02)
    Swamp Thing # 17 (06/02)
    Young Romance: A New 52 Valentine’s Day Special # 1 (06/02)
    Katana # 1 (13/02)
    Team 7 # 5 (13/02)
    Voodoo Vol. 2: The Killer in Me TP (20/02)
    Arrow # 4 (27/02)
    Green Arrow # 18 (06/03)
    Legends of the Dark Knight # 6 (06/03)
    Swamp Thing # 18 (06/03)
    Batman: Arkham Unhinged # 12 (13/03)
    Hawkeye Vol. 1: My Life As A Weapon TPB (13/03)
    Katana # 2 (13/03)
    Team 7 # 6 (13/03)
    Batman Beyond Unlimited # 14 (20/03)
    Blue Beetle Vol. 2: Blue Diamond TP (24/04)

    The 3 trades of Blue Beetle, Hawkeye and Voodoo are the ones I’m most looking forward to: I stopped buying them month by month a long time ago because of budget problems, so now, after an endless period without reading them, I’m facing a sort of cold turkey for these series.
    Of course Lemire’s Green Arrow and the brand new Katana are some other comics I’m anxious to put my hands on.
    As you can see, one of the very few series I buy month by month (instead of waiting for the trade) is Arkham Unhinged. The last issue I got (issue # 9) was the worst one I’ve been reading since the series started, but it had a detail I appreciated very much: Barbara Gordon appeared in that issue AS ORACLE!
    I don’t know how long our frequent conversations about comics will last, but, no matter if it’s weeks, months of years, I will always remember them as my most beautiful experience as a WordPress blogger and commentor. I meant to tell you this for my 1000th comment (this is the 973rd), but then I decided not to wait any longer.

    • “The 3 trades of Blue Beetle, Hawkeye and Voodoo are the ones I’m most looking forward to: I stopped buying them month by month a long time ago because of budget problems, so now, after an endless period without reading them, I’m facing a sort of cold turkey for these series.”
      You’ll be blown away by Hawkeye. I have a tough enough time going 1 month without an issue, so I can’t imagine waiting (5 or 6?) months. Hopefully it has that Christmas issue in it as that was fantastic!

      “Of course Lemire’s Green Arrow and the brand new Katana are some other comics I’m anxious to put my hands on.”
      With this past week, Nocenti’s last issue is done. Bring on Lemire! Bring on Lemire! I was intially going to get Katana but I can’t give another book to Nocenti and be disappointed. I’ll leaf through it at the store and if it catches my attention I may pick it up but I won’t commit to it so far out.

      “The last issue I got (issue # 9) was the worst one I’ve been reading since the series started, but it had a detail I appreciated very much: Barbara Gordon appeared in that issue AS ORACLE!”
      Excellent!

      Items We Share:
      Blue Beetle # 16 (23/01)
      Nightwing # 16 (23/01)
      Arrow # 3 (30/01)
      Batman Beyond Unlimited # 12 (30/01)
      Green Arrow # 17 (06/02)
      Legends of the Dark Knight # 5 (06/02)
      Swamp Thing # 17 (06/02)
      Young Romance: A New 52 Valentine’s Day Special # 1 (06/02)
      Arrow # 4 (27/02)
      Green Arrow # 18 (06/03)
      Legends of the Dark Knight # 6 (06/03)
      Batman Beyond Unlimited # 14 (20/03)

      “I don’t know how long our frequent conversations about comics will last, but, no matter if it’s weeks, months of years, I will always remember them as my most beautiful experience as a WordPress blogger and commentor. I meant to tell you this for my 1000th comment (this is the 973rd), but then I decided not to wait any longer.”
      You honor me with your words. I’ve enjoyed our frequent conversations and I appreciate your support for this blog. I usually come away either more well-informed or with a new point-of-view to consider. May the conversations continue long into the future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

