Retroactive: Detective Comics 1948 & Amazing Spider-Man 1972

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1947 and Amazing Spider-Man 1971. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1948detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 1972amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

3 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1948 & Amazing Spider-Man 1972

  1. My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 138, because it shows our heroes being forced to fight an apparently unbeatable villain. How can you beat someone you don’t even see? Of course you know in advance that the Dinamic Duo will make it, but that cover makes you want to know HOW they will make it, and that’s what makes it a functional cover.
    As for Spidey, I pick ASM # 114, because I love the clashes between superheroes and mobsters, and Hammerhead is one of the best comic book mobsters ever. I wish we could see him more often. Well, at least he didn’t sink into oblivion like the poor Prowler.
    The ASM covers of 1972 show all the possible gimmicks to raise the sales: secret identity revealed (ASM # 106), the leading character apparently ceasing to be a superhero (ASM # 112), a character making something he/she normally would never do and therefore getting in big trouble (ASM # 115)… these ones and the mind switch idea (Dan Slott, I’m looking at you) are the comic book versions of “jumping the shark”. I guess that in 1972 Spidey wasn’t selling well, or Marvel wouldn’t have tried to raise the sales so insistently.
    “The backdrop is a crossword puzzle with all the answers filled in as being BATMAN possibly signifying that this is all the villain has on his mind” Nice one Gotham Rogue, I didn’t think about it! : )

    • “My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 138, because it shows our heroes being forced to fight an apparently unbeatable villain.”
      I don’t know if I’m right but looking at the silhouette of the invisible man I think of the Joker instantly probably because of the outfit it looks like he is wearing.

      “As for Spidey, I pick ASM # 114, because I love the clashes between superheroes and mobsters, and Hammerhead is one of the best comic book mobsters ever.”
      I like how they try to up his credibility instantly by having an unconcious Doc Ock laying at his feat. This alone gets across that this is one guy you don’t want to cross.

      “The ASM covers of 1972 show all the possible gimmicks to raise the sales”
      Wow, nice catch there! It didn’t occur to me until you mentioned it.

Leave a Reply

