Monday Musings 01/28/13

Welcome one and all to Monday Musings!

Monday Musings serves multiple purposes:

1. I’ll update everyone to changes in relation to the blog including new features, modified formats to existing ones, and anything else blog-related.
2. I’ll reveal the character I’m going to feature in my Character Spotlight article this week.
3. I’ll reveal my Top 3 Comics of the Week though I won’t tell you which one finishes first, second, third until the actual article comes out (got to give you all a reason to check it out)
4. I’ll reveal what issues I’ll be reviewing in each part of Bullet Points.

________________________________________________________

Blog Updates

Well my first Top 3 article in a long time finally saw the light of day and I see this as a step in the right direction. 11/14/13’s Top 3 is 75% complete and my hope is that by this time next week I’ll have all of my November Top 3 complete in some form. Speaking of the Top 3 that was posted, it featured my new format for the feature going forward. Hope everyone likes it. Also, starting this week Monday Musings is going to have a new section where I highlight the week that was on this Blog. The new section is entitled Previously On. With that said, that wraps up the Updates for this week.

________________________________________________________

spotlightsThe Character Spotlight

This week it is DC’s turn. It was a pretty easy choice and I knew who my selection would be since last Wednesday. This character looks to make his live-action television premiere on Arrow this Wednesday in a role that is not merely a one-shot but a recurring part. That’s right I’m turning the Spotlight on Count Vertigo. If you missed any of the previous entries, click on the following names to be taken instantly to their respective entry:

Issue #1: The Huntress (Helena Bertinelli)
Issue #2: Scarlet Spider (Ben Reilly)
Issue #3: Ocean Master (Orm)
Issue #4: Doctor Octopus (Otto Octavius)
Issue #5: Firefly (Garfield Lynns)
Issue #6: Star-Lord (Peter Quill)
________________________________________________________Previously OnComic Book Rankings: 01/17/13-01/23/13
Retroactive: Detective Comics 1948 & Amazing Spider-Man 1972
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 01/18/13-01/24/13
Coming Attractions: 01/30/13
Covers of the Week: 01/23/13
The Top 3 Comics 11/07/12: Death Doesn’t Discriminate – Be It A Series, A Character, Or A Secret
________________________________________________________

123The Top 3

To be taken to the listings of my future Top 3 Reviews including my grand reveal of my Top 3 for 01/23/13, click the above logo or simply move onto Page 2.

________________________________________________________

bullet pointsBullet Points

To be taken to the listings of my future Bullet Point Reviews, click the above logo or simply move onto Page 3.

________________________________________________________

7 thoughts on “Monday Musings 01/28/13

    • That was awesome. The dialogue is engaging, the art looks great, and they’ve succeeded in catching my attention with this preview. Looking good, looking good. Can’t wait until Saturday (when I pick up my comics) and reading this all the way through. Your Tarantino assessment is spot on as well.

      • You must have a eagle eye, because I couldn’t read a single word. Anyway, the images were more than enough to make me crave for this comic book. I do hope it won’t get lost by the way from U.S. to Italy: in the last months 4 comics I ordered didn’t arrive, so I’m a bit worried. 2 were published by DC and 2 by Image, so it doesn’t depend on the publisher. Fingers crossed!

        • “You must have a eagle eye, because I couldn’t read a single word.”
          Strange. I clicked on the pictures, hit full-size, and then read away. You can also make them even larger by zooming in after that.

          “Fingers crossed!”
          My fingers are crossed. What ones are missing?

          • DC Comics:
            Blackhawks Vol. 1: The great leap forward TP (released on the 21th of November in the U.S.)
            Batman Beyond Unlimited # 11 (released on the 2nd of January in the U.S.)

            Image Comics:
            Bloodstrike # 34 (released on the 28th of November in the U.S.)
            Happy! # 4 (of 4) (released on the 19th of December in the U.S.)

            Usually I get U.S. comics the month after they are released in the U.S., so I have little hope for Batman Beyond Unlimited # 11, but all the others can be considered lost. Happy! # 4 is a very peeving loss, because, if I don’t get it somehow, it means that I threw away the 15 euros I spent for the first 3 issues.
            Blackhawks is another comic book I did want to read, because it’s an action packed comic book, and it’s drawn by CAFU. As you know, usually I don’t give a damn about the art, but CAFU is one of the very few pencillers that make me buy his comics solely because of his name in the credits, exactly like Liefeld’s and McFarlane’s fans used to do in the early 90s.
            Talking about Liefeld, you may wonder why I ordered one of his comics, Bloodstrike # 34. Simple: I remember the original Bloodstrike series published in the 90s, and I wanted to clarify whether this series still is so bad it’s good.
            And, talking about Image series, yesterday I read Witchblade # 96 – 99. For the second time, I chose some Witchblade issues at random, and even in this case I found a treasure: all the issues I read yesterday had a very impressive quality.
            Another thing that impressed me was the fact that, even if I had skipped from issue # 8 to issue # 96, I immediately understood what was going on. Usually, if you miss only one issue, it’s enough to lose the thread, but in this case even skipping 88 of them didn’t make the read any difficult. I think it’s because, each time the comic book refers to something happened in the past, there is a narration box that summarizes the event the characters are alluding to.
            As for Lemire’s Green Arrow, I checked that preview on Comic Book Resources, and that site provided me a larger version of the first pages, so I read the dialogues, and I agree that they were engaging. Miller used the “superhero going broke” idea for Daredevil in the 80s, and the result was one of the best comic books ever written, Daredevil: Born Again. I hope Lemire will use this idea as brilliantly as Miller did. Thank you for your reply! : )

            • “Usually I get U.S. comics the month after they are released in the U.S., so I have little hope for Batman Beyond Unlimited # 11, but all the others can be considered lost. Happy! # 4 is a very peeving loss, because, if I don’t get it somehow, it means that I threw away the 15 euros I spent for the first 3 issues.”
              That’s too bad and also infuriating that you might miss the last issue of the mini-series. I take it they don’t provide any tracking numbers or any means to track if it has shipped even?

              “Another thing that impressed me was the fact that, even if I had skipped from issue # 8 to issue # 96, I immediately understood what was going on. Usually, if you miss only one issue, it’s enough to lose the thread, but in this case even skipping 88 of them didn’t make the read any difficult.”
              That’s quite a talent. And here we have Marvel where they have to devote an entire page just to left you know what happened last issue. 🙂

              “As for Lemire’s Green Arrow, I checked that preview on Comic Book Resources, and that site provided me a larger version of the first pages, so I read the dialogues, and I agree that they were engaging.”
              Glad you could finally read it! 2 more days and it shall be mine…

Leave a Reply

