Monday Musings 02/11/13

Welcome one and all to Monday Musings!

Monday Musings serves multiple purposes:

1. I’ll update everyone to changes in relation to the blog including new features, modified formats to existing ones, and anything else blog-related.
2. I’ll reveal the character I’m going to feature in my Character Spotlight article this week.
3. I’ll gather up the links to all the blog postings that I’ve made since last week’s Monday Musings
4. I’ll reveal my Top 3 Comics of the Week though I won’t tell you which one finishes first, second, third until the actual article comes out (got to give you all a reason to check it out)
5. I’ll reveal what issues I’ll be reviewing in each part of Bullet Points.

________________________________________________________

Blog Updates

With my completion of all my Top 3 Reviews for the month of November, I had an epiphany. Top 3 Reviews are the most time-consuming feature I do considering the amount of issues I review within each one. Meanwhile, as I focus of these I get further and further behind on my Bullet Point reviews. Well, enough is enough and it’s time for a change. I’ve formulated a new strategy where, along with my regular features, I’ll be tackling both my Top 3 and Bullet Points. The plan is each day, Monday through Saturday, to complete the rough outline for one issue of my Top 3 leading towards 2 rough draft articles being completed a week. With this scheduling I hope to be back on track by sometime in April. Meanwhile, my other goal is to complete the rough drafts of all my Bullet Point reviews for a given week each week. Once my Top 3 is caught up, than the extra time will be diverted to getting Bullet Points back on track. Getting back on track is only the beginning. I’ve got some exciting ideas percolating in my head when that day finally arrives. Until next time, Happy Reading!

________________________________________________________

spotlightsThe Character Spotlight

The Sharon Carter Spotlight should be up in the next day or two. With that said, let’s turn our attention to this week’s Spotlight which belongs to DC. This character had been featured quite regularly on CW’s hit new show Arrow, or at least so we were led to believe. This past week he made his official debut and I couldn’t be more excited. That’s right, I’m turning the Spotlight on Slade Wilson otherwise know as Deathstroke. If you missed any of the previous entries, click on the following names to be taken instantly to their respective entry:

Issue #1: The Huntress (Helena Bertinelli)
Issue #2: Scarlet Spider (Ben Reilly)
Issue #3: Ocean Master (Orm)
Issue #4: Doctor Octopus (Otto Octavius)
Issue #5: Firefly (Garfield Lynns)
Issue #6: Star-Lord (Peter Quill)
Issue #7: Count Vertigo (Werner Vertigo)
________________________________________________________Previously OnComic Book Rankings: 01/31/13-02/06/13
Retroactive: Detective Comics 1950 & Amazing Spider-Man 1974
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 02/01/13-02/07/13
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions: 02/13/13
Covers of the Week: 02/06/13
The Top 3 Comics 11/28/12: The Past, The Present, & The Future Collide
________________________________________________________

123The Top 3

This week’s Top 3 for 02/06/13 (in alphabetical order) consists of DC Comic’s Green Arrow #17, Image Comic’s Mudman #6, and Marvel Comic’s Venom #31. To be taken to the listings of my other future Top 3 Reviews, click the above logo or simply move onto Page 2.

________________________________________________________

bullet pointsBullet Points

To be taken to the listings of my future Bullet Point Reviews, click the above logo or simply move onto Page 3.

________________________________________________________

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings 02/11/13

  1. Of course I can’t wait to read your Character Spotlight about Deathstroke. As usual, you chose a character whose popularity is bigger than usual in this period, so I’m sure you’ll get a lot of visitors. Is Deathstroke’s characterization in Arrow true to the character?
    You surprised me when you wrote that you enjoyed so much Venom # 31, because last year you told me that this series had taken a nosedive, after Remender left the title. Well, I’m glad that you’re enjoying this series again.
    Talking about Marvel, in the last month I read a lot of complaints about the “double shipping problem”. Honestly, I didn’t understand what those bloggers were talking about, because I didn’t pay much attention to what they had written: usually, the only articles about comics I read with concentration are the ones which review an issue or a trade. And I tend to stop reading any sort of article, if the tone is too resentful. Some bloggers do not understand that they are talking about comics, not about the fate of the world, so they become ridiculous when they show they are in a temper for something that should be taken lightly like comic books.
    Then one day I wanted to order a Thunderbolts issue, and I found out that in March Marvel will release 2 issues of that series instead of just one, as usual. So I told myself “Hey, probably this is what those bloggers were complaining about!” I can understand that they feel peeved, because the “double shipping problem” forces them to spend the double sometimes, but honestly I’m glad that Marvel is doing this. As you know, I tend to wait for the trade, but I buy the comics I enjoy most month by month, and sometimes it’s a true agony to wait an entire month for the next issue: that’s why I’m glad that sometimes Marvel publishes 2 comics a month, instead of just one.
    Since you have so many comics to review for the Bullet Points section, why don’t you skip the issues published in 2012? I’m sure that most of your followers wouldn’t feel irritated. A nerd rage free blogger usually has nerd rage free readers, so, if you announce you’re going to cut some comics you had planned to review, they will think “I understand, Gotham Rogue had piled up too many of them”, or even “That’s fine! This way I will get Gotham Rogue’s reviews for the January and February issues much sooner.”
    Apart from Venom, another title you mentioned called my attention: Cyberforce. Its creator, Marc Silvestri, is the same one of Witchblade: while Witchblade had a remarkable success from the very first issue, Cyberforce wasn’t that lucky. In fact, from 1992 on it’s been published by fits and starts, and it’s been rebooted innumerous times (this is the 4th time, if my memory does not fail me). I had read only good things about the 1st issue, but, since I didn’t bump into any review for the following issues, it seems that Cyberforce fell into oblivion once again. Are you enjoying it?

    • “Is Deathstroke’s characterization in Arrow true to the character?”
      So far so good, though we’ve barely touched the surface on him. They’re changing a few minor things so far but he’s still one badass mercenary with a sword.

      “You surprised me when you wrote that you enjoyed so much Venom # 31, because last year you told me that this series had taken a nosedive, after Remender left the title.”
      I was shocked as well. I was almost at the end of my rope until the new issue came out. They got a new atrsit which did a fantastic job and the story was more grounded and emotional then his previous issues. In fact it was so good I had to turn to the front of the book to see if it was the same writer. It was! Now to see if this was merely a blip in the radar…

      “As you know, I tend to wait for the trade, but I buy the comics I enjoy most month by month, and sometimes it’s a true agony to wait an entire month for the next issue: that’s why I’m glad that sometimes Marvel publishes 2 comics a month, instead of just one.”
      The only part that bugs me is the inconsistency. Some series you know release 2 issues a month every month (Spider-Man, New Avengers, etc.) but others surprise you and some months multiple titles pull this double ship to really inflat the number of titles you buy. I get more DC comics series compared to Marvel but with the double shipping I basically get the same number of issues.

      “Since you have so many comics to review for the Bullet Points section, why don’t you skip the issues published in 2012?”
      That’s a possibility, though I really want to see it through. I believe I can do it and I don’t want to take the easy way out. Ask me again in a month and I may have changed my tune. 🙂

      “I had read only good things about the 1st issue, but, since I didn’t bump into any review for the following issues, it seems that Cyberforce fell into oblivion once again. Are you enjoying it?”
      I’m really only familiar with the character of Velocity so I’m not the best one to ask. The art has been phenomenal but the story is lacking. Also, despite it starting in October only 2 issues have been released so far. They are really falling behind. Let’s put it this way, if it wasn’t free I wouldn’t be spending the $2.99 every month.

Leave a Reply

