On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 02/20/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Batwoman #17
Batwoman #17
Creative Team
W. Haden Blackman and J.H. Williams III
Solicitation
“It’s the massive conclusion to the current storyline as Batwoman and Wonder Woman struggle to defeat Medusa and a horde of villains! Don’t miss the start of a surprising new status quo for Batwoman!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The conclusion to the Wonder Woman/Batwoman team-up arc is primed to go out with a bang. One thing that you can expect is fabulous art from J.H. Williams III and panel placements/configurations that will blow your mind! Also, this bit about a new status quo is just the cherry on top for a book that routinely challenges for a place in my Top 3 every week it comes out.
  ________________________________________________________

Green Lantern #17
Green Lantern #17
Creative Team
Geoff Johns and Doug Mahnke
Solicitation
“An epic, destiny-fueled adventure begins here with part one of ‘WRATH OF THE FIRST LANTERN!’ The threat that first led to the formation of the Guardians of the Universe returns-and he’s set his sights on the biggest and brightest of the Corps! Simon Baz comes face-to-face with his first supervillain-BLACK HAND!-as the First Lantern targets them both with ‘life decimation.’ Plus: The ultimate fate of Hal Jordan and Sinestro is revealed!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The first of three books written by Geoff Johns on this list (what did I do to get such a reward?) is also the first chapter of the “Wrath of the First Lantern” storyarc taking place over the three Green Lantern books. This debut chapter will set the tone for the entire crossover and because of that it ranks higher than the other two Green Lantern series that are coming out the same day. In Johns I trust!
 ________________________________________________________

Justice League #17
Justice League #17
Creative Team
Geoff Johns and Ivan Reis
Solicitation

“The epic, full-length conclusion to ‘THRONE OF ATLANTIS’ hits as Aquaman and the League make a sinister discovery that changes both the outcome of the war and the future of the Justice League! What is THE GRID-and what does it mean to expanding the Justice League?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Another series that is wrapping up its’ current storyarc while also being the final issue of the crossover with Aquaman. I’m intrigued at what “The Grid” is and am wondering how this story will find its’ resolution. While there won’t be any Shazam back-up, a full length tale should allow this finale to have room to breathe and more room to impress.
________________________________________________________

Justice League of America #1
Justice League Of America #1
Creative Team
Geoff Johns and David Finch
Solicitation
“The march toward TRINITY WAR begins with part one of ‘WORLD’S MOST DANGEROUS’! Green Lantern! Green Arrow! Catwoman! Katana! Vibe! Hawkman! Stargirl! They aren’t the world’s greatest super heroes-they’re the most dangerous! But why does a team like the JLA need to exist? What is their ultimate mission? And who is pulling the strings? Plus: Find out why Martian Manhunter is the most dangerous of them all. Period.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
New series? CHECK. Green Arrow? CHECK. Catwoman? CHECK. One of my favourite characters making her debut in the New 52 in the form of Stargirl? CHECK. One of my favourite writers in charge? CHECK. This has the makings for sheer awesomeness and I look forward to the answers to all the question posed in the solicitation.
________________________________________________________

Wonder Woman #17
Wonder Woman #17
Creative Team

Brian Azzarello and Tony Akins
Solicitation
“Wonder Woman, War and Orion must join forces to save Zola’s baby from Hermes! Orion’s reasons for helping Wonder Woman lead to a disastrous betrayal! Plus: The truth about the dreaded First Born is revealed! Woe to the world…”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
They’re finally going after the baby…but what is this about betrayal? You just knew it wouldn’t be easy. The thing I love about this series is it throws these curveballs my way, curveballs that only add to an already entertaining read, and I expect a curveball or two to take place before all is said and done in this issue.
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #17
Avengers #6
Batman Beyond Unlimited #13
Birds of Prey #17
Catwoman #17
Daredevil #23
Deadpool #5
Green Lantern Corps #17
Green Lantern: The New Guardians #17
Indestructible Hulk #4
Nightwing #17
Red Hood and the Outlaws #17
Supergirl #17
Superior Spider-Man #4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #19
X-Factor #252
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 02/20/13 goes to….
Justice League of America #1
Justice League Of America #1
The first issue of a new series starring some of my favourite characters has my undivided attention.

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (14 Issues), Marvel (6 Issues), and Independent (1 Issue). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 02/20/13

  1. These are the comic books I read in February 2013 (listed from the first one I read to the latest one):

    Arrow # 2
    Black Hole
    Witchblade # 96 – 99
    Daredevil Vol. 1 # 208
    Witchblade # 100 – 103
    Daredevil Vol. 1 # 241
    Daredevil Vol. 1 # 176
    Venom Vol. 2 # 1 – 4
    Daredevil Vol. 1 # 194
    Daredevil Vol. 1 # 236
    Kingdom Come
    Robin Vol. 4 # 85 – 99
    Batman Confidential # 1 – 6
    Before Watchmen: Minutemen # 2 – 3

    I also read a fantastic whodunit novel, “Death’s Old Sweet Song” by Jonathan Stagge. All the books written by this author are a very enjoyable read, and are written in an incredibly clever way.
    “Black Hole” by Charles Burns is the best comic book I’ve ever read. I thought that the first time I read it years and years ago, I’m still thinking that and, no matter how many comics I will read, I will probably go on thinking that for the rest of my life.

    • ““Black Hole” by Charles Burns is the best comic book I’ve ever read. I thought that the first time I read it years and years ago, I’m still thinking that and, no matter how many comics I will read, I will probably go on thinking that for the rest of my life.”
      Wow, that’s quite a statement there. Never heard of it, what’s it about?

      Besides Black Hole, what was your best February 2013 comic you read?

      • “Wow, that’s quite a statement there. Never heard of it, what’s it about?” It’s about some young boys and girls whose life is turned upside down when some of them get a mysterious sexually transmissible disease. I love Charles Burns’ comics because, exactly like McFarlane’s one, they have the unique peculiarity of being nightmarish and delightful at the same time.
        “Besides Black Hole, what was your best February 2013 comic you read?” The Witchblade issues. Kingdom Come gets the 2nd prize, and the 15 issues of Robin get the bronze medal.
        Also, I can understand how you feel about the Human Target problem, because I’m facing an even worse situation with Daria. The series closed, the italian channel of MTV doesn’t broadcast it anymore, and no one released a single DVD of Daria here in Italy. And you can’t even buy a DVD in a foreign language, because it doesn’t have the italian subtitles. Generally speaking I can understand a movie or a TV series spoken in english without the subtitles, but Daria’s irony is too subtle to be understood in a language you don’t master perfectly. Thank you for your replies!

        • Thanks for explaining and giving your Top 3. Never read Kingdom Come (I don’t know why) but I’m seriously considering picking it up next weekend when my LCS has their March Madness sale. If they have it in stock that is…

          “The series closed, the italian channel of MTV doesn’t broadcast it anymore, and no one released a single DVD of Daria here in Italy.”
          That’s too bad that you’re being deprieved of your Daria fix. 😦 Maybe one of these days?

          “Generally speaking I can understand a movie or a TV series spoken in english without the subtitles, but Daria’s irony is too subtle to be understood in a language you don’t master perfectly.”
          You could have fooled me. You write better than some people I know that were born in Canada. 🙂

Leave a Reply

