On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 03/13/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Batman #18
Batman #18
Creative Team
Scott Snyder and Andy Kubert
Solicitation
“Welcome guest-artist Andy Kubert! In the wake of unspeakable tragedy, Batman is in danger of losing his humanity! Fan-favorite character Harper Row returns-will she be able to pull Batman back from the brink?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Harper Row is back! Batman is on the brink! Is she being set-up as the new Robin? Can Batman overcome his grief or will it lead him down the path to self-destruction? Snyder looks to follow-up “Death of the Family” with an emotional, moving read before we enter into the next epic arc for my favourite DC series.
________________________________________________________

Batman and Robin #18

Creative Team
Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason
Solicitation
“You dare not miss this issue! It’s the BATMAN AND ROBIN story of the year!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This series has been arguably the lynchpin of the Damian/Bruce dynamic and will be the title most affected by the death. This issue has the makings of being an instant classic with this all silent affair dealing with the aftermath of Batman Incorporated #8. I’ll try to hold back the tears…
 ________________________________________________________

Mind the Gap #8
Mind The Gap #8 (Cover A - Esquejo)
Creative Team
Jim McAnn and Rodin Esquejo
Solicitation

“WISH YOU WERE HERE, Part Three. The struggle between Katie and Elle’s mind is settled, and the winner still loses, as a difficult choice must be made. An uneasy alliance is formed to clear Dane’s name as Lonnie becomes an even bigger threat. Lives hang in the balance, and more than one person will find Death knocking on their door.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Everything seems to be coming to a head and the outlook doesn’t look optimistic. Drama, high stakes, life and death, and more makes this series a must read and makes this latest chapter a can’t miss!
________________________________________________________

Superboy #18
Superboy #18
Creative Team
Tom DeFalco and R. B. Silva
Solicitation
“H’EL ON EARTH has ended, and Superboy’s about to land in a new city, with a new secret identity and a surprising new foe on his trail! Guest-starring Superman!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This is the make it or break it point for me. There’s a whole lot of promises of “new” this and “new” that and this will be the issue to see if they’re truly serious about this series going forward. I’m anticipating what will hopefully be the kickstart it so desperately needs. Otherwise, this series may be going up, up, and away off my pull-list.
________________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men #3
Uncanny X-Men #3
Creative Team

Brian Michael Bendis and Chris Bachalo
Solicitation
“Everything has changed for Magneto in the last few weeks. Can he prove he is still the Master of Magnetism? Cyclops and the rest of his crew take the revolution on the road gathering up more new mutants.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Bendis and Bachalo have delivered with the first two issues and I’m expecting more of the same. An issue focusing on Magneto will not only prove to be an entertaining read but should provide a more in-depth look into his decisions as of late. Terrific art + great dialogue = a surefire winner.
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Age of Ultron #2
Avengers Arena #6
Batgirl #18
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 9 #19
Fantastic Four #5
Fearless Defenders #2
Ghostbusters #2
Green Lantern Corps #18
The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #2
Secret Avengers #2
Suicide Squad #18
Threshold #3
Thunderbolts #6
Wolverine and the X-Men #26
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 03/13/13 goes to….
Batman and Robin #18

The last issue of this series as it stands now looks to deliver an emotional gut-punch and is a serious contender for my Top 3 this week.

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (7 Issues), Marvel (8 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

3 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 03/13/13

  1. “So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours?” I’m going to tell you my pull list from here to May:

    Green Arrow # 18 (06/03)
    Legends of the Dark Knight # 6 (06/03)
    Swamp Thing # 18 (06/03)
    Batman: Arkham Unhinged # 12 (13/03)
    Hawkeye Vol. 1: My Life As A Weapon TPB (13/03)
    Katana # 2 (13/03)
    Team 7 # 6 (13/03)
    Batman Beyond Unlimited # 14 (20/03)
    Green Arrow # 19 (03/04)
    Legends of the Dark Knight # 7 (03/04)
    Point of Impact TP (03/04)
    Swamp Thing # 19 (03/04)
    Batman: Arkham Unhinged # 13 (10/04)
    Katana # 3 (10/04)
    Team 7 # 7 (10/04)
    Batman Beyond Unlimited # 15 (17/04)
    Thunderbolts # 8 (17/04)
    Blue Beetle Vol. 2: Blue Diamond TP (24/04)
    FF # 6 (24/04)
    Hawkeye # 10 (24/04)
    Green Arrow # 20 (08/05)
    Thunderbolts Vol. 1: No quarter TPB (08/05)
    X # 1 (08/05)
    Katana # 4 (15/05)
    Team 7 # 8 (15/05)

    “What comics are you most looking forward to?” The trades.

    I also have 2 good news:
    1) I FINALLY got Happy # 4. Probably the other 3 comic books my LCS didn’t receive will never arrive, but at least now I have the complete Happy! miniseries on my shelves.
    2) The italian branch of Marvel Comics announced which series is going to replace the Punisher as Daredevil’s “partner”: THUNDERBOLTS!!! Of course I’m very happy of it, because this way I won’t have to spend over 3 € each month for the U.S. edition of Thunderbolts. If I had known it in advance, I wouldn’t have ordered the very expensive Thunderbolts trade… anyway, these are the side effects of reading comics in 2 different languages.
    Usually, when Marvel and DC series get bundled, the italian publisher tends to match a very popular series with another one which wouldn’t sell much on its own. This makes me think that Thunderbolts isn’t selling much in the U.S., or the italian publisher wouldn’t have matched it with a best seller series like Daredevil.

    • “Hawkeye Vol. 1: My Life As A Weapon TPB”
      You are so going to enjoy that!

      “I FINALLY got Happy # 4”
      I’m glad that your collection will be completed.

      “The italian branch of Marvel Comics announced which series is going to replace the Punisher as Daredevil’s “partner”: THUNDERBOLTS!!!”
      I should have guessed considering Punisher is in Thunderbolts after all…

      “This makes me think that Thunderbolts isn’t selling much in the U.S., or the italian publisher wouldn’t have matched it with a best seller series like Daredevil.”
      That’s not the case here. In fact the last two issues of Thunderbolts that came out in Feb registered as #47 and #51 whereas Daredevil was #55. I really can’t believe it is outselling Daredevil!

      • “That’s not the case here. In fact the last two issues of Thunderbolts that came out in Feb registered as #47 and #51 whereas Daredevil was #55. I really can’t believe it is outselling Daredevil!” That surprised me as well. Anyway, the previews of Thunderbolts I saw in the last months make me think that the success this series is having is deeply deserved. Thank you for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

