Covers of the Week 03/27/13

It is time for the best covers from the week that was. A quick reminder: only comics that I personally have purchased qualify for this piece. If a title contains more than one cover, only the one I own is taken into consideration. Now without further ado:

________________________________________________________

Fifth Place The-Flash_18The Flash #18
Cover Artist:
 Francis Manapul
________________________________________________________

Fourth Place mgt25coverbMorning Glories #25
Cover Artist:
Rodin Esquejo
________________________________________________________

Third Place BMINC_Cv9Batman Incorporated #9
Chris Burnham
certainly delivered one dramatic cover this week to take the third place spot. The Dark Knight stands before a darkened grave consumed completely in shadows in a clever choice by the artist to obscure his emotional state. In this case showing less creates an even greater sense of the sullen mood he is in then simply showing his face would have accomplished. The shadows carry over to the grave itself which, along with the perspective utilized, really makes it seem quite ominous indeed. The grave is depicted much larger and deeper than it really is in order to heighten the severity of what is going on and I love how it frames Batman on the cover. The sky is cloaked in grey which mirrors the internal dreary and sombre emotional state that has overcome Batman. The “Requiem” tagline and main title are the only colourful objects on what is generally a monochromatic cover and they really pop off the page because of this fact. Overall, this cover really pulls at the heartstrings as no father should ever have to bury his son.
________________________________________________________

Second Place angelfaith20Angel & Faith #20
Rebekah Ann Isaacs
is the runner-up this week with this homage cover featuring Faith, Angel, and Spike which takes its inspiration from Archie comics. The title is a nice play on the Archie series “Archie’s Gals Betty and Veronica” in this instance being modified to read as “Buffy’s Friends Angel and Faith”. They even replicated the same colour scheme and font. The main scene is a familiar play on a typical Archie one where Archie is usually caught in the middle between Betty and Veronica, usually completely enamored with them or confused about who he should date. Archie is represented by Faith but with a twist as she is not enamored or confused but rather she is simply rolling her eyes at the whole situation. The roles of Betty and Veronica are represented by Angel and Spike with the two of them asking who she thinks is more attractive which pushes this cover that extra mile. I also love the little touches they applied such as having the various character heads on the left hand side which is another iconic Archie trait and that the Dark Horse logo is reminiscent of the “Approved By The Comics Code Authority” logo even replicating the stamp-like border design. This was simply a brilliant and fun cover for a series that has succeeded in doing these types of homages before.
________________________________________________________

First Placeaquaman-18Aquaman #18
And here is the Cover of the Week by Paul Pelletier who wins this distinction for the first time. He knocked it out of the park with this epic shot of Aquaman on his throne in a scene that feels very reminiscent of something out of the television series Game of Thrones. I love how his eyes are consumed in shadow which works brilliantly in tandem with his posture to really get across the emotion burden he is experiencing from assuming the throne of Atlantis. The throne itself is gorgeous to look at and is so detailed and appropriately ocean-themed in appearance while the octopus tentacles also add some interest. The colour tones are appropriately blue and almost has this ethereal appearance to it. The subtitle “Return of the King?” really gets my mind racing. What does it mean? Arthur having second thoughts? Orm is coming back as king? Someone else is coming to seize the throne? It compels you to open the book up for answers and like I always say…that is what truly makes a great cover. With that said, Paul
Pelletier, I award you the first place crown this week. Congratulations!
________________________________________________________

So those are my favourites and it’s a victory for DC with a three-to-two showing against the Independents. What’s your personal favourite covers from the week that was? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “Covers of the Week 03/27/13

  1. These are the comic books I read in August 2013:

    Animal Man # 14
    Katana # 5 – 6
    Swamp Thing # 14
    The Phantom Stranger # 1
    Daredevil # 216 – 218
    Robin Vol. 4 # 12 – 14
    Green Arrow # 23
    X # 4
    Daredevil: Dark Nights # 3
    Dylan Dog # 289

    Once again, the ones I enjoyed most are X and Daredevil: Dark Nights (Daredevil being slightly better than X). Believe it or not, Katana gets the bronze medal: that’s why I was so sad, when the owner of my LCS told me that my copy of Katana # 7 didn’t arrive. I hope I will get it the next time I go there, but I don’t think so: X # 4 came out in the same week, and I received it.
    Once again July 2013 was my best month ever as a blogger: I got 924 visits! And, for the first time since I started blogging in 2008, I got over 100 visits in one day! It happened on the 25th of August, when I got 106 visits. The previous record was 74.
    This month I also started blogging again. I published a post on the 24th of August, and this could explain the record I achieved the following day.
    In the last 20 days I always got at least 10 visits each days. I really can’t understand why. Maybe it’s because I wrote so many comments that each day at least 10 people see one of them, and decide to give a look to the blog of the guy who wrote that comment.
    Last month I also read a fantastic action packed novel: “Once a Spy” by Keith Thomson. I do suggest you to read it if you haven’t. : )

    • “Once again, the ones I enjoyed most are X and Daredevil: Dark Nights (Daredevil being slightly better than X).”
      A great one-two punch for you, month in and month out!

      “Believe it or not, Katana gets the bronze medal: that’s why I was so sad, when the owner of my LCS told me that my copy of Katana # 7 didn’t arrive. I hope I will get it the next time I go there, but I don’t think so”
      I’ll cross my fingers for you…

      “Once again July 2013 was my best month ever as a blogger: I got 924 visits!”
      Congrats! I just finished having my best month since February.

      “It happened on the 25th of August, when I got 106 visits. The previous record was 74.”
      That is quite an accomplishment anytime you hit triple digits.

      “Maybe it’s because I wrote so many comments that each day at least 10 people see one of them, and decide to give a look to the blog of the guy who wrote that comment.”
      I think you hit it on the nose. You take the time to leave a comment and that piques both the blog’s owner and his followers’ collective interests especially if they are as though-provoking and interesting as the comments you leave here. 🙂

      • When I write a comment, I always try to be thought provoking. I can’t stand those commentors who write only things like “Awesome blog, man!” or “I agree with the things you wrote in your post.” If you want to convey those messages, press the button “Like” and you’ll get the same result. A comment is supposed to convey deeper and more complex messages, so, when I write one of them, I always try to be better than that.
        I noticed that, if you write a good comment, you usually get a good reply. If you write a long, detailed and thought provoking comment, the blogger who reads it will feel motivated to reply in a thought provoking way too, and this leads to a very pleasant conversation.
        And sometimes that blogger is so much satisfied of the chat you had with him that he starts commenting your posts too, and this leads to some other delightful conversations.
        I also love those bloggers who recommend me the books, the comic books and the movies they like most. There are so many wonderful novels I would never have bumped into, if it wasn’t for some bloggers who decided to mention them to me. That’s why I do the same thing with you, by mentioning the novels I enjoyed most on your blog. Thank you for your compliments and for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

