Retroactive: Detective Comics 1960 & Amazing Spider-Man 1984

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1959 and Amazing Spider-Man 1983. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1960detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 1984amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1960 & Amazing Spider-Man 1984

  1. As you know, I love when a superhero is drawn with an alternative outfit, so I like Detective Comics # 275 too… but I like issue # 281 even more, because I’m a huge fan of the Law & Order franchise, so a comic book set in a courthouse instantly catches my attention.
    Talking about alternative outfits, since the black costume was introduced Marvel has been designing a lot of other unusual outfits for Spider Man, and honestly the only one I liked (even more of the traditional costume) is Scarlet Spider’s one.
    As for Amazing Spider Man, I pick issue # 248, because it’s one of the most moving comic books I’ve ever read. I know that our choices are supposed to be based solely on the cover, so the content of that issue shouldn’t influence me, but in this case I really couldn’t choose anything else. : )

    • “I know that our choices are supposed to be based solely on the cover, so the content of that issue shouldn’t influence me, but in this case I really couldn’t choose anything else”

      I’ll forgive you…this time. 🙂 It was a great story, an emotionally moving piece, and is regarded by many as one of the most loved Spider-Man comics of all-time. Quite a resume if I say so myself. Thanks for sharing your picks!

  2. I love your choice of covers! The Batman covers are awesome! I really like the Spiderman covers as well, the Black Costume was a great storyline, when Spiderman returned from the Secret Wars. The fact that it turned out to be so deadly was really creepy, and later of course it became Venom. This is still one of my favourite run of Spiderman comics. Seeing these covers again on your site has made me want to read them again :O)

    • “Seeing these covers again on your site has made me want to read them again”
      Then I’ve succeeded in my mission! 🙂 Happy to hear that it was an enjoyable period for you! Spider-Man 3 just didn’t quite live up to the greatness of the comic…

Leave a comment