The Comic Connection: Issue #7

comicconnection

Welcome to the seventh edition of the Comic Connection! The main point of its existence is to share and discuss, to Connect through Comics. Its centrepiece is the Weekly Question, a question I will pose dealing with anything Comic related. Then I turn it over to you and to Twitter to offer any feedback/your opinion on the topic with your answers being featured on next week’s posting. I’ll also share some cool comic-related fan art along with links to my favourite blogs and people to follow on Twitter. With this installment, I’m opening up the fan-art section to individuals that have had work previously published in comics. The only catch is they must have a deviantART page and the only pieces that I will feature are original non-published works (ie. no covers or interior art). With that said, let’s revisit last week’s question:

________________________________________________________

Last week I asked “What current DC Titles would you like to see cancelled to make room for new entries into the New 52?”. To see my answer on the topic visit HERE. As for what the rest of you had to say…

@Impul5se: I think DC are doing a good enough job of that themselves 😉 If I HAD to choose, Dark Knight, way too many Bat-Books

@JamesGibbons17: Even though i like them, Red Lanterns & Stormwatch have ran outta steam. (Weird that both were written by peter milligan) / I love peter milligan. Loved his hellblazer stuff. But these stories were just plodding along with not alot happening 🙂 / It (Red Lanterns) had potential to be a dark, violent, rage filled comic but its just a load of moaning and really whiney every issue / Also what is the point of Rankorr!? Seems like a big set up for nothing!

@GL875: @JamesGibbons17 Totally agree with all of your comics re. Milligan. / I groan inwardly reading #RedLanterns predicting the next panel will contain the words Manhunters & Massacre. / Fingers crossed Milligan will kill off Atrocitus before he goes and the remaining RLs will start kicking ass! / I think Milligan’s story was derailed by the GL Xovers but I’m not sure that’s such a bad thing.

@MerryLandOfAus: I wouldn’t be upset if Red Hood And The Outlaws was canned. In return, I want Plastic Man to have his own book. / DC needs more lighthearted fun! Demon Knights almost counts (still kinda gory), but we need capery and hi-jinx!

@JoeTeulon: Superman and Action Comics. If DC aren’t committed to giving Superman A-List titles I’d rather they just cancel them

@In_ma_zone: Batman, Superman, Flash, Aquaman, Green Lantern, Justice league, 😉

@TheCodeCrimson: I would trade Red Hood and the Outlaws for Plastic Man in a heartbeat! I love his manic madness.

The Pure Mood: There isn’t really one title of the New 52 that I would like to see cancelled…but there are a lot I would like to see revamped (TEEN TITANS, SUPERBOY)! If I had to pick, I’d agree with you and say DARK KNIGHT. There are already plenty of Batman titles!

Thanks to all that shared! Now we move onto this week’s question:

________________________________________________________

“What character do you think will become Batman’s new Robin?”
________________________________________________________

Before I give my answer, let’s take a look at the various frontrunners:

Harper Row

In her three appearances so far, Scott Snyder has crafted a character that people have instantly fallen in love with and a character that has already proven her dedication to Batman and his cause. Her attitude is perfect, she’s resourceful, and her statement that she doesn’t want to know Batman’s true identity, that she only wants him to realize how much Gotham needs him is simply great.. While they’ve said in the past that she wasn’t going to assume the mantle of Robin, I think they could be persuaded especially since I believe they may have underestimated how quickly people would warm up to her.

Carrie Kelley

In Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns, she saved Batman’s life after he came out of retirement and it was recently revealed that she would be debuting in continuity in the pages of the title previously known as Batman & Robin. Will she be the one to save Batman, emotionally speaking? Regardless, big things are in store for her but they deny that she is going to be Robin, just like they are doing for Harper Row. Is it all a swerve on their part? Unlike Harper, I’m pretty certain the answer is no but you never can quite tell in the wonderful world of comics.

Ellie

Up until Batman Incorporated #8 she’s been a bit player. In fact I have to admit I didn’t even realize until after the issue came out that she was in a Morrison-written Batman comic before not once, not twice, but four times. Morrison always has a reason behind everything he does, he doesn’t introduce someone and have her keep recurring unless he has a plan. Damian sacrificed his life to save hers. Could Morrison of killed one Robin, only to have chosen his replacement? Only time will tell…

Somebody Else

The frontrunners are all decidedly female, a fact that shows people are accepting and willing to see a female Robin once again. Perhaps it will be an established character (Cassandra Cain, Stephanie Brown), perhaps a completely new male/female character, or maybe, just maybe, it will be a resurrected Damian Wayne. One can hope, can’t they?

My Choice: The more and more I think about it, the more and more I have to agree with Bleeding Cool. Their choice, and mine, is none other Ellie. Now, it may not be next month, it may not be until next year, but if Damian doesn’t return as Robin, then she is my number one choice. Check out Bleeding Cool’s full theory HERE.

________________________________________________________

So that’s my answer to the question. I’d love to hear from everyone else what yours would be. Comment below if you have anything you’d like to share.
________________________________________________________

Comic Art Spotlight
Here I thought I’d share some of my favourite comic-related works of art from Dan Schoening. To check-out more from him, go to his DeviantArt page HERE.

laughingfish________________________________________________________thing________________________________________________________In_Blackest_Day________________________________________________________BAMF________________________________________________________darkseid&co________________________________________________________

Blog Quote Bubble

In this section I’ll highlight the various WordPress based blogs that I recommend:

House of Flying Scalpelshttp://houseofflyingscalpels.com/
Cover of the Week, Iconic Panel Art, and awesome reviews.

Sci-Fi Jubilee http://scifijubilee.wordpress.com/
Really nice in-depth reviews from a perfect gentleman residing in the UK.

Sidekick Reviewshttp://sidekickreviews.wordpress.com/
Blog I go to for excellent The Walking Dead and Arrow episode reviews.

Ramblings From A Comic Newbie http://newbiecomiclife.wordpress.com/
Cr8zyGurl brings us a blog with a refreshing perspective. She’s new to comics but that only makes her entries even more interesting.

The Indigo Tribe http://indigotribe.wordpress.com/
A blog about all things Green Lantern including reviews and musings.

Arousing Grammar http://arousinggrammar.com/
Great reviews that are a nice hybrid of commentary and full-page comic art.

The Pure Moodhttp://thepuremood.com/
Reviews and thorough articles are the makeup for this blog that also has a podcast element to it.

________________________________________________________

twitter-logoRecommended People To Follow On Twitter
@Comic_Maven
@tommylutz
@AUDone44
@Kooliebear
@TweetsoftheBat
@paul_bowler
@Superherologist
@JulzHendricks
@BlueJaigEyes
________________________________________________________

That wraps up the seventh edition of The Comic Connection. Have any comments? Anything you wanted to share? You know what to do.

5 thoughts on “The Comic Connection: Issue #7

  1. I don’t think that Bruce is going to choose Ellie as the next Robin: Damian died to save her, so I don’t think Bruce wants her to be around him, constantly remembering him the reason why Damian died and therefore twisting the knife in the wound only by making her presence felt.
    Honestly, I would love to see Carrie as the new Robin, but Tomasi denied this option from the start, so Harper Row seems to be the most probable choice. I don’t have anything to say about her, because I’m still buying Batman month by month, but I didn’t read almost any of it yet. I’m a so complete trade waiter that, even when I buy comics month by month, I wait the end of the story arc and then I read all the issues in a single session. The only comics I’m reading month by month are Green Arrow, Katana and Nightwing.
    Sometimes the Internet becomes 100 % sure of something without a valid reason. For example, Jim Lee left the Justice League, and everybody was sure he was going to work on WildC.A.T.S.. As I had predicted, the truth was: he left the JL for a Superman title.
    Second example: Everybody was sure that someone was about to die in the Death of the Family story arc. As I had predicted, the truth was: nobody was about to die.
    Third example: Everybody is sure that Bruce will choose a new Robin soon. In this case I can’t make a prediction, but I’m very surprised that nobody considered the option that maybe Bruce doesn’t want a new Robin.
    After Jason’s death, Bruce didn’t want to work with a sidekick anymore, and Tim had to fight very hard to persuade him: if Jason’s death was enough to make him say “No Robins anymore”, the death of his son should make him say the same thing with even more conviction, and this time without changing his mind.
    I think that everybody is so sure that a new Robin will be chosen because a lot of people can not conceive Batman without his sidekick. A lot of other superheroes had a sidekick in the past (Captain America, Green Arrow and so on), but all of them never achieved an iconic status, so, when they disappeared from the title they first appeared in, fans reacted by shrugging their shoulders. This doesn’t happen when a Robin dies or leaves Batman: the very second a Robin disappears, fans immediately want another one to replace him. The truth is, readers can live without Bucky, they can live without Roy Harper, but they can’t rexist a single day without knowing that in the comic book world somebody is wearing Robin’s cowl. Do you agree with my theory?

    • “Honestly, I would love to see Carrie as the new Robin, but Tomasi denied this option from the start, so Harper Row seems to be the most probable choice.”
      Except Syder denied that Harper would become Robin as well.

      “Do you agree with my theory?”
      You bring up a lot of valid points that’s for sure. I’m not saying a new Robin will be chosen anytime soon, in fact a year to a year & a half will probably pass before the process begins. The thing is, Batman and Robin are so identifiable as a team going back to the early years, through the various TV shows, that people demand a Robin. The other characters you mention operated without a sidekick for such a long period of time that they’ve moved past it for the most part, that people have accepted them without one. The Dynamic Duo will always remain the Dynamic Duo. They are forever linked and when one link of that tandem leaves a new partner is wanted to fill that void. Regardless of who they pick, when they pick, if it’s not Damian, it’s going to be a female Robin for sure. That’s just my opinion.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

