Retroactive: Detective Comics 1961 & Amazing Spider-Man 1985

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1960 and Amazing Spider-Man 1984. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1961detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 1985amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

4 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1961 & Amazing Spider-Man 1985

  1. I’m very fond of Clayface too, so I agree with the Batman cover you chose. Even if I hadn’t appreciated Clayface so much, I think I would have chosen this cover anyway, because, apart from this one, all the other issues show very campy villains: most of them are Godzilla – like monsters, and even the ones who are not Godzilla – like monsters would never find a spot in a comic book nowadays. Not even in a C – list title like Stormwatch. This makes you understand that Batman stood the test of time, but some of his stories and supporting characters definitely didn’t.
    As for ASM, even in this case the cover you chose is by far the best one, but I want to make a special mention for issue # 266. About 10 years ago David Mack, who wrote some gorgeous stories for Daredevil, decided to introduce the very campy villain you find in that cover (the frog – like one, not Toad) in Matt Murdock’s life. If my memory does not fail me, Frog – Man did not even appear in those issues: they entirely focused on his son, a traumatized child – probably because of his father’s activity as a criminal. I must read that story arc again. : )

    • “Even if I hadn’t appreciated Clayface so much, I think I would have chosen this cover anyway, because, apart from this one, all the other issues show very campy villains: most of them are Godzilla – like monsters, and even the ones who are not Godzilla – like monsters would never find a spot in a comic book nowadays.”
      I personally can’t wait for this era to end. Enough with the aliens and the robots and the monsters! Batman’s resilience despite these awful plots is remarkable and is perhaps even his superpower. 🙂

      “If my memory does not fail me, Frog – Man did not even appear in those issues: they entirely focused on his son, a traumatized child – probably because of his father’s activity as a criminal. I must read that story arc again”
      You’ve certainly piqued my interest!

      I also find #263 funny if you reflect on the current state of Superior Spider-Man. A Spider-Man imposter with what resembles Doc Ock’s tentacles? Was this a precursor to the current era? 🙂

      • “You’ve certainly piqued my interest!” If you want to read that story arc, it is collected in Daredevil Vol. 2 # 16 – 19. And here is Frog Man’s son, depicted in an incredibly beautiful cover: http://marvel.wikia.com/Daredevil_Vol_2_17.
        “Was this a precursor to the current era?” I don’t rule out this hypothesis. Writers can come up with an idea starting from the smallest of things, so maybe Slott leafed through his collection of old Spider Man issues, and this cover gave him the inspiration for the most controversial narrative move of the 21st century.
        I would like to end my comment talking about Cable again. Unfortunately my experience with him (and the X – world in general) is very limited, but I really like this awesome character. He really is a natural born leader: he’s self confident, he always has everything under control and he always knows the right thing to do. I think that every team based series has a character like Cable, but none of them is as enthralling as he is. I read an enthusiast review of his latest title, Cable and the X – Force, so I may give it a try when the italian edition comes out.

        • “And here is Frog Man’s son, depicted in an incredibly beautiful cover”
          I love how they incorporated the “with great power comes great responsibility” line. Nice job indeed!

          Most of my experience with Cable came from the series Cable & Deadpool. I really enjoyed how they played off of one another there.

          “I read an enthusiast review of his latest title, Cable and the X – Force, so I may give it a try when the italian edition comes out.”
          Let me know how it goes for you. I tried it out but the first issue wasn’t for me…

Leave a Reply

