The Edge: Week 21 – 250th Post

theEdge

The first batch of Comics Rundown Reviews for 05/01/13 should be popping up in the next few days. Been a little out of sorts these past few days as my PS3 got the dreaded Yellow Light of Death…and I was foolish enough not to have any of my game saves backed-up. I’m hoping to resuscitate it long enough to access them but I have to take the whole thing apart! Time to flex my non-existent tech skills. 🙂 This posting also marks another milestone on this blog as it is my 250th one, a fact that astounds me. Where did the time go? Thanks to everyone that is a regular supporter. Your comments, feedback, and discussion mean quite a lot to me. Well, enough talking. Time to crank out some reviews, catch-up on my features, and hopefully revive my PS3…

– GothamRogue

________________________________________________________

Previously OnCovers of the Week 05/01/13
Comic Book Rankings: 05/02/13-05/08/13
The Time Capsule – Spider-Man: July 1963 (The Many Arms of Villainy)
Retroactive: Detective Comics 1964 & Amazing Spider-Man 1988
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 05/02/13-05/08/13
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 05/15/13
The Comic Connection: Issue #11
Comic Book Rankings: 05/09/13-05/15/13
________________________________________________________

spotlightsThe Character Spotlight
Issue #1: The Huntress (Helena Bertinelli)
Issue #2: Scarlet Spider (Ben Reilly)
Issue #3: Ocean Master (Orm)
Issue #4: Doctor Octopus (Otto Octavius)
Issue #5: Firefly (Garfield Lynns)
Issue #6: Star-Lord (Peter Quill)
Issue #7: Count Vertigo (Werner Vertigo)
Issue #8: Agent 13 (Sharon Carter)
Issue #9: Deathstroke (Slade Wilson)
Issue #10: Arthur Douglas (Drax The Destroyer)
________________________________________________________

6 thoughts on “The Edge: Week 21 – 250th Post

  1. Congrats for you 250th post!
    Also, here’s another Easter-Egg-themed post you’ll probably dig: http://goodcomics.comicbookresources.com/2013/05/14/comic-book-easter-eggs-easter-eggs-from-grant-morrisons-action-comics/.
    When I saw it, I thought “Morrison + Action Comics + Easter Eggs… I must make Gotham Rogue see this!”
    The last Easter Egg is the best one, in my opinion, because it also breaks the 4th wall, which is one of the things I love most in comics.

    • Awesome! Thanks for sharing. Can’t believe I missed most of these.

      “The last Easter Egg is the best one, in my opinion, because it also breaks the 4th wall, which is one of the things I love most in comics.”
      That was a great one. Speaking of you loving 4th wall-breaking…I’m surprised you don’t like Deadpool then. He does it quite frequently and the planned movie is supposed to feature it as well.

      • There are some things of Deadpool I like, and some others I don’t like at all.
        Pros: 4th wall breaking; irony; frequent action packed scenes.
        Cons: disfigured leading character (it really hurts my eye when he takes his mask off…); not very intriguing plots.
        Let’s say that I consider Deadpool a character with a great potential, but each time I read a comic book featuring him I never found it particularly interesting. I hope the Thunderbolts series will invert this trend, but you’re not liking it, so probably it won’t.
        Talking about 4th wall breaking again, I loved the cover of Nightwing # 19 you uploaded last month. You perfectly explained all the details that make it so great, and each time I see it I am impressed by how ingenious (and simple at the same time) that cover is. It is definitely one of the most beautiful covers you’ve ever uploaded. Thank you for your reply! : )

        • “I hope the Thunderbolts series will invert this trend, but you’re not liking it, so probably it won’t.”
          Way is definitely writing him slightly more serious than he did in his pre-Marvel NOW solo series. His dynamic with the team was my sole bright spot on Thunderbolts. When the new writer comes, I’m going to give it another shot. It has too many characters I love in it. Someone has to get it right.

          “You perfectly explained all the details that make it so great, and each time I see it I am impressed by how ingenious (and simple at the same time) that cover is. ”
          Thanks! 🙂 It was, in my opinion, the best use of the WTF concept for the entire month. Glad you liked it as much as I did.

          • Yesterday I read the 1st trade of Thunderbolts, collecting issues # 1 – 6. Honestly, I liked it: Thunderbolts is what Team 7 could have been if it had been handled by a better writer, that is to say an action packed series with a decent plot.
            Team 7, on the contrary, didn’t have a real plot: it was a series where all the characters used to shoot and kill for the sake of it, and therefore it was terribly boring.
            Yesterday I also read Katana # 4: Katana asked Killer Croc to tell her the reason why he had broken the sword, but he didn’t reply. This means that the plot hole still exists, but at least now we know that miss Nocenti is aware of it. Thank you for your replies! : )

            • “Honestly, I liked it: Thunderbolts is what Team 7 could have been if it had been handled by a better writer, that is to say an action packed series with a decent plot.”
              I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed it. If everyone’s opinions were the same the world would be a pretty dull place. 🙂

              “Katana asked Killer Croc to tell her the reason why he had broken the sword, but he didn’t reply.”
              The mystery deepens…

Leave a Reply

