Retroactive: Detective Comics 1965 & Amazing Spider-Man 1989

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1964 and Amazing Spider-Man 1988. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1965detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 1989amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

4 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1965 & Amazing Spider-Man 1989

  1. In 1984 David Mazzucchelli pencilled a lot of standalone stories of Daredevil. One of them, “The Deadliest Night of My Life” (Daredevil # 208), was particularly brilliant: in fact, I put it in the list of my favorite single issues ever I shared with you last year.
    In that issue, there is a wealthy old woman who wants to avenge the death of her son before she dies too.
    She blames Daredevil for the death of his son (because he was one of Matt’s villains), so she attracts him into her house and subjects him to a lot of ingenious deadly traps.
    At the end of the issue, Matt manages to escape from the house, of course, but each time he had to face a trap, you were 100 % sure that he wouldn’t have gone beyond it, and each time a brilliant stage trick made him survive.
    Detective Comics # 346 made me remember that Daredevil issue, and apparently it has a similar plot, so it deserves to win the gold medal.
    As for Spidey, of course you chose the best cover of the year, but I would like to make a special mention for ASM # 317. This cover is so dynamic, and Spidey’s body conveys so much energy… and I also love the 4th wall breaking detail: a tagline states that ASM is “the world’s greatest comic magazine”, and a resentful Thing peeps out and cries “Hey!” Very funny indeed.

    • “Detective Comics # 346 made me remember that Daredevil issue, and apparently it has a similar plot, so it deserves to win the gold medal.”
      A comic from the future inspiring your choice in the past! 🙂

      “I also love the 4th wall breaking detail: a tagline states that ASM is “the world’s greatest comic magazine”, and a resentful Thing peeps out and cries “Hey!” Very funny indeed.”
      I missed this the frist time through as my eye was drawn to Spidey being consumed by Venom’s tendrils. That is brilliant! On a side note…you could tell the X-Men were a hot property at the time by the need to include on other Amazing Spider-Man covers this year the tagline “The Non-Mutant Super Hero!”

  2. This was when the McFarlane run on Spider-Man was at its absolute peak and it was my favourite comic book of the time. I missed issue 311 and I think that Mysterio cover is awesome.
    The cover to Amazing Spider-Man 324 was also jaw-dropping when I saw it on the newsagent’s stand, but imagine my disappointment when I opened the comic – the interior art wasn’t by McFarlane! He was rushed off his feet with that absurd decision to print two books a month and just couldn’t manage it.
    Today McFarlane’s art is classic and very well-known so it’s hard to capture the excitement that came with each new issue in those days. We were desperate to see his take on each of the classic villains.

    • “I missed issue 311 and I think that Mysterio cover is awesome.”
      That one and #313 with the Lizard were my runner-ups for this week! Tough time to choose just one when McFarlane is involved.

      “The cover to Amazing Spider-Man 324 was also jaw-dropping when I saw it on the newsagent’s stand, but imagine my disappointment when I opened the comic – the interior art wasn’t by McFarlane!”
      I’ve felt that pain many times with different artists involved…

      Thanks for commenting and sharing your choice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

