The Edge: Week 24 – One Down, Two To Go

theEdge

So previously on the Edge I made a vow to catch-up on all my Covers of the Week postings. With that goal accomplished I turn my attention to my last two regular features that are running behind: Comic Book Rankings and The Time Capsule. As part of my initiative to get on track, this week will feature not one but two editions of the Time Capsule. The first one you should see up in the next day or so and the second one will arrive later on in the week. Speaking of later on in the week, I’ll also have a special posting called Covers of the Month. In it I’ll highlight the best DC, Marvel, and Independent Covers for the month of May while also handing out the crown to the Overall Winner. As for Comic Book Rankings, I’m still behind on my reading since I picked up two (huge) weeks worth of comics on the weekend due to me working all of last weekend. This weekend I have a family get-together so I don’t know how much progress will be made in that regards. Once I’m caught up on my readings and my regular features though I’ll once again try my Comics Rundown feature. What went wrong the last time was due to three circumstances. #1. I was behind on my regular features so I felt the time crunch. #2. My schedule of the regular features didn’t flow well in regards to time management. #3. I felt the way I was doing these Comics Rundown features wasn’t quite working. With #2 taken care of and #1 almost complete, I’ll turn my attention to improve #3 then. Otherwise, that’s about it for this installment of the Edge. Until next week…Happy Reading!

– GothamRogue

________________________________________________________

Previously On Covers of the Week 05/15/13
Covers of the Week 05/22/13
Comic Book Rankings: 05/23/13-05/29/13
The Time Capsule – Spider-Man: October 1963 (My Prescription Calls For Doom)
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 05/23/13-05/29/13
Retroactive: Detective Comics 1967 & Amazing Spider-Man 1991
The Comic Connection: Issue #14
Covers of the Week 05/29/13
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 06/05/13
________________________________________________________

4 thoughts on “The Edge: Week 24 – One Down, Two To Go

  1. These are the comic books I read in December 2013:

    Green Arrow # 25
    Daredevil # 25
    Marvel Fanfare # 1 (only the story titled “Snow”)
    Catwoman # 17 – 19
    Catwoman: When in Rome # 1 – 6
    Batman Villains Secret Files & Origins 2005 (only the story titled “If a Man be Clay!”)
    Witchblade # 170
    Black Panther: The Man Without Fear # 513 – 520
    Dylan Dog # 292
    Batman & Poison Ivy: Cast Shadows
    Superman Forever # 1
    Criminal: The Last of the Innocent # 1 – 4
    Selina’s Big Score
    Superman: Secret Origin # 6
    Superman Confidential # 1 – 6; 11
    Hawkeye # 14
    Animal Man # 18
    The Phantom Stranger # 5
    Joker # 4
    Superman The Man of Steel # 1
    Superman # 57
    Wolverine: The Best There Is # 1 – 6
    Superman/Wonder Woman # 3

    Selina’s Big Score wins the gold medal as the best read of the month; Superman/Wonder Woman # 3 gets the silver one and is my favorite new comic book of the month.
    When I started reading Wolverine: The Best There Is, I thought that it would have won the gold medal… but issue after issue this miniseries became more and more slow paced, until I decided not to read it anymore. The art was fantastic though.
    As you can see, I went on reading Superman comics. The more I read them, the more I realize how great Superman’s supporting characters are. Steel, Superboy, Guardian, Dubbilex, Jimmy Olsen, Cat, Lex Luthor… all of them are simply awesome.
    The problem is, most of them are underexploited. I can’t even recall the last time DC used Guardian or Dubbilex, for example. This is the problem with DC: they have plenty of interesting characters (the ones I just listed, Grifter, Blue Beetle, Lobo and so on), but they don’t manage to exploit the potential these characters have.
    I still don’t give a damn about Superman’s main characters (Clark & Lois), but I’m so fond of the supporting characters that I think I’m becoming a Superman fan anyway.
    I got the trade collecting the Joker’s solo series, but so far I read only issue # 4, because of Green Arrow being the Joker’s enemy in that issue. Maybe I’ll read the other issues too sooner or later.
    December was a good month for me not only as a comic book reader, but also as a blogger: I got 548 visits and I gained 23 new followers (now they’re 310).
    I hope 2014 will be an awesome year for you both as blogger and as a person. I don’t know you in person, but I’m sure you deeply deserve it.

    • “Selina’s Big Score wins the gold medal as the best read of the month”
      Darwyn Cooke on art is always a win-win for me.

      “When I started reading Wolverine: The Best There Is, I thought that it would have won the gold medal… but issue after issue this miniseries became more and more slow paced, until I decided not to read it anymore. The art was fantastic though.”
      Maybe a sign that Marvel needs to cut back on all these multi-title Wolverine books. Does one character need to be in so much? It would be alright if they were all high calibre but with ones like these they run the risk of burning out the fans.

      “As you can see, I went on reading Superman comics.”
      And I did a double-take when I saw so many Superman titles. “Am I reading this right?” I thought to myself.

      “I can’t even recall the last time DC used Guardian or Dubbilex, for example.”
      The New 52 has shafted a lot of these characters so far like these and more…

      “I still don’t give a damn about Superman’s main characters (Clark & Lois), but I’m so fond of the supporting characters that I think I’m becoming a Superman fan anyway.”
      You don’t even like Lois? What is your problem with her? Also, I agree the supporting cast is excellent but underdeveloped. One of my fav Olsen one-shots was “Jimmy Olsen’s Big Week” by Nick Spencer. And Lex? He is always awesome.

      “December was a good month for me not only as a comic book reader, but also as a blogger: I got 548 visits and I gained 23 new followers (now they’re 310).”
      Congratulations!

      “I hope 2014 will be an awesome year for you both as blogger and as a person. I don’t know you in person, but I’m sure you deeply deserve it.”
      Ah, thank you so much. I wish you the same. Here’s to a fantastic 2014 for both of us! 🙂

      • “It would be alright if they were all high calibre but with ones like these they run the risk of burning out the fans.” I agree. DC has the same problem with Batman.
        “You don’t even like Lois? What is your problem with her?” Probably I don’t like her because I’m a fan of the Superman-Wonder Woman coupling.
        “One of my fav Olsen one-shots was “Jimmy Olsen’s Big Week” by Nick Spencer.” I must check it out! : )

        • “Probably I don’t like her because I’m a fan of the Superman-Wonder Woman coupling.”
          Ah! My eyes are burning just by reading that line… Say it ain’t so wwayne. Lois and Clark forever in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

