On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 07/03/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Detective Comics #22
Detective Comics #22
Creative Team
John Layman and Jason Fabok
Solicitation
“Meet The Wrath! In Gotham City, he’s the anti-Batman, and the body count is about to shoot through the roof! And in the backup story, Man-Bat makes a startling discovery!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This is not the first time we’ve seen a villain calling himself the Wrath and I’m sure it won’t be the last. I’m interested to see this New 52 version of this “anti-Batman” just to see what direction, what changes (if any) are going to be applied. If it turns out to be a disappoint, DC will be the ones feeling my “wrath” if you catch my drift.
________________________________________________________

Five Weapons #5
Five Weapons #5 (of 5)
Creative Team
Jimmie Robinson
Solicitation
“Tyler’s life hangs in the balance between a master assassin, saving his parents, and the wrath of the school principal. This could be the biggest caper ever pulled off, or the end of the world at the School of Five Weapons.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This is sadly the end. While I can’t wait to see how it is all going to end, I hold out hope for an announcement of another mini-series on the horizon. If this is truly to be the end though it will be with a heavy heart that I bid farewell but with a smile on my face as well due to the sheer awesomeness of what is about to unfold. My pull list was better off with this series on it…
 ________________________________________________________

Green Arrow #22
Green Arrow #22
Creative Team
Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino
Solicitation

“Count Vertigo makes his debut in The New 52! And just when Ollie thinks he’s got it all figured out, another piece of his family mystery emerges only this one is still breathing!'”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Oliver’s past deepens. The next terrific chapter of Lemire and Sorrentino’s run. Oh, and did someone mention Count Vertigo? I talked earlier about being interested in seeing how the New 52 version of the Wrath will differ from what came before but I think in this case I’m even more intrigued to see what twist they’ll apply to Vertigo. Will they go the classic route, the new route from the TV show, or a hybrid of the two? My head is spinning just imagining all the possibilities.
________________________________________________________

Iron Man #12
Iron Man #12
Creative Team
Kieron Gillen and Dale Eaglesham
Solicitation
“‘THE SECRET ORIGIN OF TONY STARK’ CONTINUES! The Birth. 451’s ulterior motive proves to be a big one. In a very literal sense.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
And speaking of mysteries deepening, get ready to see the truth behind Tony Stark’s birth! So far the “Secret Origin” arc has been really enjoyable and it’s done a nice job of balancing the past segments with the present day ones. The next chapter should be another enjoyable affair as it looks like Howard Stark’s “Ocean’s 11” group is going to reunite for one more job.
________________________________________________________

The Superior Foes of Spider-Man #1
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #1
Creative Team

Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“Boomerang and some of Spidey’s deadliest baddies prove that with terrible powers come terrible responsibilities! Rising Star Nick Spencer teams with Eisner Award winning sensation Steve Lieber for a walk on the Spider-Verse’s evil side!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
NEW SERIES ALERT! I haven’t hid the fact that I’m a sucker for any comic starring a bunch of villains. Here we get a comic starring the new version the Sinister Six: Boomerang, Shocker, Speed Demon, Overdrive, a female Beetle, and a mystery character. Who is it going to be I wonder? Regardless of the answer, I expect some witty dialogue, a great story from the mind that brought us Morning Glories, and just an overall villainous good time!
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #22
Avengers #15
Batman Incorporated #12
Earth 2 #14
Green Lantern #22
Legends of the Dark Knight #10
Mark Waid’s Green Hornet #3
Venom #37
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 07/03/13 goes to….
Five Weapons #5
Five Weapons #5 (of 5)
The end is here. How can Robinson wrap everything he’s setup in such a limited space? Awesomely is the answer!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (7 Issues), Marvel (4 Issues), and Independent (2 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 07/03/13

  1. I don’t really have anything I’m particularly looking forward to. A few comics that look cool, but nothing that makes me go, “Yes! I need that!” Nothing to get me off my ass, basically.

Leave a Reply

