Retroactive: Detective Comics 1974 & Amazing Spider-Man 1998

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1973 and Amazing Spider-Man 1997. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1974detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 1998amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1974 & Amazing Spider-Man 1998

  1. Really like the cover of Detective #439, its so spooky, with the mist rising from the swamp and the moon in the sky behind Batman, those criminals must have been terrified! The cover of ASM #431 is really eye catching, great to see Carnage take of the Silver Surfer, what a great story!

  2. Detective Comics # 439 is not only the best cover of the week, but perhaps the best cover you’ve ever uploaded for the Retroactive section.
    I make a special mention for Detective Comics # 442. A detailed background, an orange moon (I don’t know why, but I find orange moons and flaming skies extremely gorgeous), massive bullets flying all over Batman… a lot of details help making this image a very impressive cover.
    As for Spidey, I like the cover you chose, but I prefer ASM # 430. The background is more detailed, the digital coloring is used in a less heavy handed way, and I also love the contrast between the cool colors (Silver Surfer and the sky) and the warm ones (Carnage and Spider Man).
    Also, I appreciated that you mentioned some details of the story arc involving ASM # 430 and 431, because it remained engraved on my memory as well. Especially the scene with Carnage and Robertson’s wife in the elevator, which is one of the most tense scenes I’ve ever seen in a comic book.
    P.S.: The Joker’s solo series we talked about some months ago is about to be reprinted! http://www.dccomics.com/graphic-novels/the-joker-the-clown-prince-of-crime. Of course I instantly ordered it.
    P. P.S.: Sorry for the delay, I’m about to go on holiday and I had to pack. I still don’t know whether I’ll take the pc with me, so, if you don’t see my comments in the next days, don’t worry: I’ll probably be back in a very short time. : )

    • “Detective Comics # 439 is not only the best cover of the week, but perhaps the best cover you’ve ever uploaded for the Retroactive section.”
      Wow! I’m surprised and pleased to hear this cover resonates with you so strongly. And we both picked it as well. “Great minds think alike” 🙂

      “I make a special mention for Detective Comics # 442. A detailed background, an orange moon (I don’t know why, but I find orange moons and flaming skies extremely gorgeous), massive bullets flying all over Batman… a lot of details help making this image a very impressive cover.”
      All really valid points. If I had to choose a runner-up it would be #444 just due to the shock value alone.

      “As for Spidey, I like the cover you chose, but I prefer ASM # 430.”
      I knew I had a 50-50 shot of selecting the same cover as you this week. wwayne sure loves his Carnage!

      “Especially the scene with Carnage and Robertson’s wife in the elevator, which is one of the most tense scenes I’ve ever seen in a comic book.”
      Oh! Now you’ve compelled me to dig out the back issues. 🙂

      “P.S.: The Joker’s solo series we talked about some months ago is about to be reprinted!”
      You have Villain’s Month to thank for that happening.

      “P. P.S.: Sorry for the delay, I’m about to go on holiday and I had to pack. I still don’t know whether I’ll take the pc with me, so, if you don’t see my comments in the next days, don’t worry: I’ll probably be back in a very short time.”
      Always happy to hear your choices no matter the wait. Also, I hope you have an awesome holiday.

Leave a Reply

