Retroactive: Detective Comics 1976 & Amazing Spider-Man 2000

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1975 and Amazing Spider-Man 1999. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1976detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 2000amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1976 & Amazing Spider-Man 2000

  1. Great choices of covers this week, Amazing Spiderman vol 2 Annual 2000 is a very striking image, quite spooky, really like that one. As much as I agree with you on Detective Comics 457, I have to pick another issue this week, but for a very special reason. As soon as I saw the cover of Detective Comics 462 on this weeks retroactive I had to choose it! Its the very first comic I ever had as a kid! I remember my parents buying it for me at a car boot sale, along with some other old comics. This cover is the one that got me hooked on comics, so happy to see it again, made my day!

    • I’m glad I could bring up such fond memories! Thanks for sharing your story. My first Batman comic was a more educational one titled: Batman – A Word to the Wise. Though it did have the Joker in it. I’ll have to try and find DC #462 to see for myself what birthed the great Paul Bowler’s comic fandom. 🙂

  2. The cover for Detective Comics # 456 is FANTASTIC. The woman is worn exactly like a femme fatale in a ’40s noir movie, and her sneer confirms that she’s an erotic trap – a trap Batman seems to have fallen into, since she’s holding his cowl in her hand. It is a very subtle metaphor: the cover artist wants to convey the message that she’s having Batman in her power.
    As for Spidey, I pick ASM Vol. 2 # 14. I usually don’t like romantic comic books (as you know, I prefer action packed ones), but Spidey’s romantic stories usually are very good, and, if my memory does not fail me, the one contained in this issue is no exception.

    • “The cover for Detective Comics # 456 is FANTASTIC.”
      I had this one as my runner-up this week for all of your stated reasons. I love her pose as well.

      “I usually don’t like romantic comic books (as you know, I prefer action packed ones), but Spidey’s romantic stories usually are very good, and, if my memory does not fail me, the one contained in this issue is no exception.”
      That tease has me intrigued! I’ll have to check it out. It is definitely a striking cover but if I had to name a runner-up I’d select #22. Why? Spider-Man being confronted by a mysterious (symbiote?) foe that is spreading like a plaque over the cover as our hero holds the black suit in his hands. How could I pass that up?

Leave a Reply

