On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 08/07/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

All-New X-Men #15
All New X-Men #15
Creative Team
Brian Michael Bendis and Stuart Immonen
Solicitation
“Love is in the air! Cyclops heart and future start to fade before his eyes.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Is that Beast and Jean Grey about to kiss? As Cyclops watches helplessly by? They really wouldn’t go there…or would they? Yeah, this cover certainly has my attention and I can’t wait to see how this all unfolds inside. I really needn’t say more.
________________________________________________________

Atomic Robo and the Savage Sword of Dr. Dinosaur #2
Atomic Robo Savage Sword Of Dr Dinosaur #2 (of 5)
Creative Team
Brian Clevinger and Scott Wegener
Solicitation
“Atomic Robo is trapped in the caverns of Hollow Earth where Dr. Dinosaur reigns as the God-King of the Interior Sun! Oh, and either the previous 65 million years will be erased from time, or the Western Hemisphere will be covered in deadly radioactive ash. So, there’s that too.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
If you don’t read Atomic Robo, I seriously have to ask what is wrong with you? Do you dislike adventure? Do you dislike comedy? Do you dislike fun? Do you dislike a witty, well-crafted tale? If your answer is no to any of those questions then you owe it to yourself to check this series out. You wouldn’t want to miss the next zany plan from Dr. Dinosaur and how Atomic Robo will eventually overcome it would you? I love, love, love, this series! Could you not tell?
 ________________________________________________________

Green Arrow #23
Green Arrow #23
Creative Team
Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino
Solicitation

“Ollie learns the secret origin of Shado, and Count Vertigo attacks!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The New 52 origin of Shado revealed. More from the newly redesigned Count Vertigo. More drop-dead gorgeous art from Andrea. What more could we ask? Nothing, the answer is nothing.
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #2
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #2
Creative Team
Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“With superior villains come superior problems as the year’s sleeper hit continues! Out of bail and aiming to stay out of jail, Boomerang must get his cronies on target – but does the PUNISHER have them targeted already? Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber continue this most evil exploration into the Marvel U!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The first issue of this series blew me away. Not since Hawkeye have I been this excited for the second issue of a new ongoing. I really hope that they keep the momentum going and use this lightning in a bottle that worked so well in the first issue and apply it to the rest of the issues. It’s good to be bad, that’s for sure.
________________________________________________________

Superior Spider-Man #15
Superior Spider-Man #15
Creative Team

Dan Slott and Humberto Ramos
Solicitation
“‘Run, Goblin, Run!’ Part 1 of 2. What’s it like to be a villain in the Marvel Universe. . . once the Superior Spider-Man sets his sights on you? Find out, from Phil Urich’s point of view, in what might be the final days of the Hobgoblin. Plus, what is the secret of ‘The Tinkerer’s Apprentice’? Who’s been helping the Terrible Tinkerer? And how is he, of all people, the reason everything in Spider-Man’s life will be changed forever?!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Don’t throw stones at me Spider-Man purists but I’m really digging this fresh direction that this series is taking. Seeing Otto as Spider-Man is entertaining and the way that Slott is juggling multiple plot points is a master class lesson. Having this issue come from the point of view of the Hobgoblin should be the cherry on top of what is sure to be a highly enjoyable read with some excellent art to boot. Don’t get me wrong, I love Parker as Spider-Man and his time will come again but I’m going to savor Otto’s “heroic” actions until then.
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #23
Atomic Robo: Real Science Adventures #9
Avengers #17
Cyber Force #5
Deadpool Kills Deadpool #2
Detective Comics #23
Earth 2 #15
Green Lantern #23
Iron Man #14
Legends of the Dark Knight #11
Quantum & Woody #2
Superior Carnage #2
X-Factor #260
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 08/07/13 goes to….
Atomic Robo and the Savage Sword of Dr. Dinosaur #2
Atomic Robo Savage Sword Of Dr Dinosaur #2 (of 5)
The first issue of this new volume was light on Dr. Dinosaur. This issue looks to be the opposite. We are in for a real treat!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (6 Issues), Marvel (8 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 08/07/13

  1. ANXM and X-Factor are my big ones. I’m split on Iron Man. On the one hand, Greg Land. On the other hand, Death’s Head. Tough call. I’ll probably pick it up. I do love me some Death’s Head.

    • I for one am not a “Land hater” but I can see what others have against him. Regardless, this series brought Death’s Head onto my radar (haven never heard of him) and I love his portrayal. Don’t know if it is accurate to what has come before though…

Leave a Reply

