Retroactive: Detective Comics 1979 & Amazing Spider-Man 2003

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1978 and Amazing Spider-Man 2002. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1979detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 2003amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

3 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1979 & Amazing Spider-Man 2003

  1. My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 487. As it happened quite frequently in the last weeks, I found an image that has all the things I love most in a cover: a detailed background, a flaming sky, the characters being drawn in a very dynamic way… it doesn’t tell us anything about the content of the issue (it is so generic that it could be used for any Bat – comic book), but it is so well done that I can turn a blind eye to this major flaw.
    As for Spidey, the 2003 covers of ASM are very generic too. None of them gives us some clues about the content of the issue, so none of them compels you to open the book up for answers.
    I don’t like them even from an aesthetic point of view: most of them are deliberately drawn in a very simple way, but they look flat, dull and monotonous, in my opinion.
    Anyway, I agree with you that ASM Vol. 2 # 52 is the best cover of the year. I make a special mention for:
    – ASM Vol. 2 # 55, because of its Batman – esque feel;
    – ASM Vol. 2 # 51, because it shows a slice – of – life moment;
    – ASM Vol. 2 # 53, because its artist probably spent a lot of time drawing the background, so he deserves to get a prize for his dedication.
    ASM Vol. 2 # 49 has a detailed background too, but John Romita Jr will never get a medal from me. I don’t have anything against him as a person, I simply do not like his art at all. And I can’t even explain you why, it’s just an instinctive repulsion I felt from the very first time I saw something drawn by him. It happened the same thing to me with Spawn’s current artist, Szymon Kudranski. A lot of readers I know in person hate Alex Maleev’s art as much as I hate Romita Jr’s and Kudranski’s one. Did you ever feel a similar repulsion for an artist and/or a writer?

    • “My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 487.”
      A nice standard superhero shot if there ever was one. Only thing missing is the Bat-Signal in the upper corner.

      “ASM Vol. 2 # 55, because of its Batman – esque feel;”
      That was one of my runner-ups along with #500. I just loved seeing Campbell draw all those villains from Spidey’s past.

      “I don’t have anything against him as a person, I simply do not like his art at all. And I can’t even explain you why, it’s just an instinctive repulsion I felt from the very first time I saw something drawn by him.”
      Whoa! Colour me surprised!

      “Did you ever feel a similar repulsion for an artist and/or a writer?”
      For an artist, the one that immediately comes to mind is Simone Bianchi. As for a writer…Ann Nocenti. Surprise, surprise. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your choices!

Leave a Reply

