Comic Book Rankings: 08/22/13-08/28/13

Rankings

Welcome all to my Weekly Ranking System! I’ve broken the comics into three groups (DC, Marvel, & Independent). I will include a summary section in each entry to comment on any changes in spots. Only comics that I purchase are included in the Rankings. Below you’ll find the different company’s logos. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to their specific Ranking page or just continue onto the next page.

 ________________________________________________________

DC Comics Rankingsdccomicslogo ________________________________________________________

Marvel Comics Rankings
marvel logo
________________________________________________________

Independent Comics Rankings

 ________________________________________________________

com-next

7 thoughts on “Comic Book Rankings: 08/22/13-08/28/13

  1. These are the comic books I read in September 2014:

    Terminator: Enemy of my enemy # 5
    X # 16
    Daredevil # 35 – 36
    Thunderbolts Annual # 1
    Secret Origins # 5
    The Punisher # 10
    Superior Foes of Spider – Man # 4 – 5
    Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman # 1
    Superior Foes of Spider – Man # 6
    The Fade – Out # 1
    Witchblade # 175 – 177
    Superior Foes of Spider – Man Vol. 2: The Crime of the Century TPB
    Superman/Wonder Woman Annual # 1
    Superior Foes of Spider – Man # 12
    Daredevil: Dark Nights # 6 – 8
    Animal Man # 26
    Swamp Thing # 26
    Dylan Dog # 299
    The Phantom Stranger # 14

    As for the best reads of the month, the podium is:

    Bronze medal: Superman/Wonder Woman Annual # 1
    Silver medal: The Fade – Out # 1
    Gold medal: Witchblade # 175 – 177

    Superman/Wonder Woman # 10 and # 11 were atrocious (turning Lois into an alien definitely is the comic book version of “jumping the shark”): that’s why I was so surprised by the high quality of the Annual. Let’s hope that, when this series is not involved in crossovers anymore, it will start being awesome again.
    The Thunderbolts Annual, on the contrary, was one of the worst comics I’ve ever read. It was so full of senseless things and idiot ideas that I felt the need to throw the comic book into the rubbish skip when I finished it. At the end I decided not to do it, because that italian comic book also contained a good Daredevil issue (Daredevil # 36).
    The last time I shared with you the list of the comics I read, I wrote:

    “Last month has been very weak for me as a blogger until the 23rd of August… then on that day I published a new post, and from that moment my blog simply exploded. I got over 100 visits almost every single day. I don’t know why that post became so successful, it’s just a review of a novel many people do not even know here in Italy (“Summerland” by Elin Hilderbrand).”

    The “Summerland effect” lasted until the 12th of September: from the 13th of September on, the visits to my blog drasticly decreased. Despite that, September 2014 was my best month ever as a blogger: I got 2693 visits, 1109 visitors and 127 new followers. I must thank Elin Hilderbrand, and Elin Hilderbrand should thank me, because a lot of commentors wrote on my blog to tell me that they had bought the book because of my good word.

    • “Let’s hope that, when this series is not involved in crossovers anymore, it will start being awesome again.”
      The entire Doomed crossover just went on and on and was simply put not a great idea to begin with let alone one that took over multiple books for month after month.

      “The Thunderbolts Annual, on the contrary, was one of the worst comics I’ve ever read. It was so full of senseless things and idiot ideas that I felt the need to throw the comic book into the rubbish skip when I finished it. At the end I decided not to do it, because that italian comic book also contained a good Daredevil issue (Daredevil # 36).”
      Wow! Wanting to throw it in the trash is quite a strong emotional response but it sounds like it deserved it. Thunderbolts is ending pretty soon so I wonder what its replacement will be for you?

      “Despite that, September 2014 was my best month ever as a blogger: I got 2693 visits, 1109 visitors and 127 new followers. I must thank Elin Hilderbrand, and Elin Hilderbrand should thank me, because a lot of commentors wrote on my blog to tell me that they had bought the book because of my good word.”
      Awesome! Congratulations. To hear that multiple people picked up the book on your good word is mighty impressive and mighty rewarding at the same time. 🙂

      • “Thunderbolts is ending pretty soon so I wonder what its replacement will be for you?” I didn’t know that Thunderbolts is about to end. That saddens me a bit, because, apart from that awful annual, I liked this series so far.
        As for the replacement, it doesn’t depend on me: I read Thunderbolts only because it’s bundled up with Daredevil in the italian edition, so the “heir” of this series in my pull list will be decided by the italian branch of Marvel comics, not from me. It is quite hard to find a right partner for Daredevil, because it’s so different from all the other Marvel comics.

        • “It is quite hard to find a right partner for Daredevil, because it’s so different from all the other Marvel comics.”
          And that difference makes it even better. 🙂

    • I knew that I couldn’t top my huge August but September ranked as my 2nd best month in every category. For the first nine months I’m up from last year for six of them and I’m hopeful that in October I will have beaten my total yearly views from last year a whole two months early. My fingers are crossed.

Leave a Reply

