The Villainous Comic Connection: Issue #26

comicconnection Welcome to the twenty-sixth edition of the Comic Connection! The main point of its existence is to share and discuss, to Connect through Comics. Its centrepiece is the Weekly Question, a question I will pose dealing with anything Comic related. Then I turn it over to you and to Twitter to offer any feedback/your opinion on the topic with your answers being featured on next week’s posting. I’ll also share some cool comic-related fan art along with links to my favourite blogs and people to follow on Twitter. With that said, let’s revisit last week’s question:

________________________________________________________

Last week I asked “Ben Affleck as Batman: Yay or Nay?” To see my answer on the topic visit HERE. As for what the rest of you had to say…

wwayne: When I knew that Ben Affleck would have been the next Batman, my first thought was “A really good choice”, and the second one was “I wonder why I hadn’t thought about him before, he’s so perfect.” And then I found out that most fans didn’t appreciate this choice. I wonder why their nerd rage exploded in such a violent way: he’s a good actor, a good director, an Oscar winning screenwriter, an Oscar winning producer, he has a long experience in the industry, who could be a better Batman (apart from Bale)?

@paul_bowler: I think Ben Affleck is a good choice for the new Batman, he will bring a lot to the role, and his casting fits in with the older &  more experienced Dark Knight that we can expect to see in Zack Snyder’s Batman / Superman film. I agree, there was a similar reaction when Keaton was cast as Batman, and Heath Ledger as the Joker, it turned out really well. Everyone keeps going on about Daredevil, but that was ages ago, Affleck has done so much since then. I wasn’t expecting him to be chosen for the role, but I’m willing to given him a chance.

@SidekickReviews: Borderline Yay. I’m still not quite sold on Ben Affleck as Batman or as an serious actor but he’s got the star power, stature and chin. Don’t forget about the chin. :)  My initial reaction was disappointment. I was thinking .. “its’ just a rumor right? Director?” Nope! But by the next day, I realize it’s a good, safe choice. Seriously though, he was good recent movies like the Town and Argo … with a great script he might just pull it off. That’s what I’m hoping for anyways.

@TheGeekyBoss: Yay!

@JulzHendricks: Yay!

@PUDPiE2010: Yay. Hugely talented. Matt Damon summed it up perfectly here: http://www.express.co.uk/news/showbiz/425493/Matt-Damon-leaps-to-defend-his-friend-Ben-Affleck-over-Batman-criticism …

@ZakkSaam: Yay, everyone called for Keaton and Ledger’s heads when the were cast into the franchise. Both played exceptionally.

@cameronkieffer: I’m good with it

@IndomitableGeek: Yes, he will be good.

@BizarremoonS: Never! jk But you know we could be happily surprised. People thought Keaton was going to be bad and he turned out fantastic!

@2ComicNerds: we say nay, but we really hope he surprises us

@BrandonDLee: is there a don’t give a crap option?

@igasu: Yay, its not Ben im worried about. / Its just the Idea they may use Frank Miller’s Batman as a template. Not sure I can swallow that. / My hope is that Ben as some type of creative input with creating his Batman and even some script work.

@MerryLandOfAus: Yay. Said that on day one, my opinion has not changed since then.

________________________________________________________

“Who are your top Batman villains?”
________________________________________________________

It’s my first of four villain-centric editions of the Comic Connection and I could think of no better way to kick it off than looking at the most formidable stable of comic book villains assembled, the rogue’s gallery of Batman and the perennial inmates of Arkham Asylum. Over the years he has attained quite a collection of foes from all walks of life, a group of villainy that surpasses any other hero’s from the entire DC Universe. Of course, with every collection of individuals there are those rare characters that capture your imagination, that become your favourites. That is true for me as well and that is why I’ll be taking a look at my Top 3 Gotham City Rogues this week. Without further ado:

Harley Quinn:
My number one female Batman villain, Harley Quinn is a character full of energy and enthusiasm mixed with lunacy and zaniness. I fell in love with the character during her debut in the 1990s Batman Animated Series and it is a love that has carried over to her comic book appearances. What I really enjoy about the character is how she plays off and interacts with the others in her life be it her unhealthy relationship with the Joker or her friendship with Poison Ivy just to name a few. She can be goofy at times but just as soon at the flip of a coin she can lash out with a deadly serious demeanor which just makes her all the more intriguing. Harleen Quinzel is my prescription for one hell of a good time and one that I have to thank Bruce Timm and Paul Dini for bringing into my life.

The Riddler:
My number two Batman villain overall, Edward Nygma may not be a physical challenge for the Dark Knight but he is the epitome of his mental rival. Seeing Batman overcome this adversary every time is always an enticing prospect and he really gets my mind racing as well as I try to figure out the Riddler’s plot alongside Batman. Clever and calculating but with a compulsion to leave behind clues to his crimes, the Riddler and his motif has found a way into my heart and a smile cracks across my face whenever I see him grace the page.

The Joker:
Crazy. Sadistic. Menacing. Let’s face it, the Clown Prince of Crime is Batman’s number one foe, the antithesis to everything he stands for, and my Top Bat Baddie. The one thing guaranteed whenever the Joker shows up is that nothing is guaranteed. His chaotic nature creates memorable story after memorable story as the eternal struggle between Batman and him rages on even after 73 years. His personality has changed with each subsequent depiction but the core elements from that chilling smile to that maniacal laugh to his unpredictable nature remains at the core of the character. You know that when the Joker comes to play things step up in a huge way and watching Batman skate oh so close to crossing that uncrossable line, pulling back just in time to rise above the situation and triumph nonetheless is something I never grow tired of and never will.

________________________________________________________

Comic Art Spotlight

Here I thought I’d share some of my favourite comic-related works of art from Lynne Yoshii. This will be the third and final of three consecutive weeks that I’ll be highlighting her. To check-out more from her, go to her DeviantArt page HERE.

wonder_woman_by_protokitty-d5i2vbp________________________________________________________white_queen_by_protokitty-d4d2tte________________________________________________________superman_portrait_by_protokitty-d67p1cj________________________________________________________rogue_by_protokitty-d4c1mej________________________________________________________batgirl_and_robin_by_protokitty-d5bw3v6________________________________________________________ catwoman_marker_sketch_by_protokitty-d3fr5tt________________________________________________________
Blog Quote Bubble

In this section I’ll highlight the various WordPress based blogs that I recommend:

House of Flying Scalpelshttp://houseofflyingscalpels.com/
Cover of the Week, Iconic Panel Art, and awesome reviews.

Sci-Fi Jubilee http://scifijubilee.wordpress.com/
Really nice in-depth reviews from a perfect gentleman residing in the UK.

Sidekick Reviewshttp://sidekickreviews.wordpress.com/
Blog I go to for excellent The Walking Dead and Arrow episode reviews.

The Indigo Tribe http://indigotribe.wordpress.com/
A blog about all things Green Lantern including reviews and musings.

Arousing Grammar http://arousinggrammar.com/
Great reviews that are a nice hybrid of commentary and full-page comic art.

The Pure Moodhttp://thepuremood.com/
Reviews and thorough articles are the makeup for this blog that also has a podcast element to it.

Comic Book Junkiehttp://comicbookjunkie.wordpress.com/
Previews of the coming week of comics, Cover VS Cover, and more.

X-Men X-Pert http://xmenxpert.wordpress.com/
A great blog that covers all things related to the X-Verse.

Bag & Bored http://bagandbored.net/
A comic book and entertainment review site run by a team of five. Varied content by a varied group.

________________________________________________________

twitter-logoRecommended People To Follow On Twitter
@Comic_Maven
@tommylutz
@Kooliebear
@TweetsoftheBat
@paul_bowler
@Superherologist
@JulzHendricks
@BlueJaigEyes
________________________________________________________

That wraps up the twenty-sixth edition of The Comic Connection. Have any comments? Anything you wanted to share? You know what to do.

6 thoughts on “The Villainous Comic Connection: Issue #26

  1. My all-time favorite Bat-villain has to be Mr. Freeze, and it has everything to do with his look. Like all the great Bat-foes, he’s been drawn a hundred different ways over the years, but there have been a few common factors: a deadly looking freeze ray, some kind of cool goggles, and a domed helmet. I love that he’s been both high-tech and kind of retro, with a look that recalls early NASA space suits.. Sadly, he’s not always written that well, but there have been a handful of great stories, including the incomparable Batman: Snow.

    I’m a huge fan of the diabolical al Ghul family as well.

    • Never had the pleasure of reading Batman: Snow but you have my interest piqued. Mr. Freeze is a great character though. I have so many memories of him from the 90s Animated TV show and thought that revised origin was much better than his New 52 one any day of the week.

  2. Great instalment of the comic connection! Think people are getting used to the idea of Ben Affleck as the new Batman, I think he will be good in the role as well. As for my favourite Batman villains, well I’d have to say my top 3 Batman villains would be…. 1: The Joker, 2: Clayface, 3: Riddler Really enjoyed reading your views and descriptions of your top 3 Batman villains.

    • Thanks for the compliments. Nice to see we are on the same page (2 out of 3 ain’t bad). Clayface done right can be a great choice as well but he’s also one of those characters that I think DC would be less willing to adapt to the big screen sadly… Maybe one of these days?

Leave a Reply

