On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 09/11/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Batman #23.2: The Riddler
Batman #23.2 Riddler (Standard Edition)
Creative Team
Scott Snyder and Jeremy Haun
Solicitation
“With The Dark Knight out of the picture, The Riddler engages in an epic game of wits. Learn what maddening early moments led a young Edward Nygma to evolve into Gotham City’s Prince of Mischief! And see how events of ZERO YEAR continue to affect The Riddler today!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
As I mentioned in this Week’s Villainous edition of the Comic Connection (Issue #26), the Riddler is my second favourite baddy from the Bat-Verse so having an entire issue dedicated to Edward Nygma is a very exciting proposition for me. Add to the fact that it will be written by Snyder and thusly have some impact on Zero Year and you have an issue that any dedicated Bat-Fan cannot afford to miss. Riddle me this…what comic looks to deliver pure awesomeness this week? This one! You don’t have to be a genius to figure that out.
________________________________________________________

Buffy The Vampire Slayer Season 9 #25
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season Nine #25 (Phil Noto cover)
Creative Team
Andrew Chambliss, Dexter Vines, and Georges Jeanty
Solicitation

“Buffy can’t ever just be a vampire Slayer, can she? Always, the world seems to want more, and as the lives of her loved ones are threatened, Buffy shows why she is the Chosen One. Whatever is thrust upon her, she can handle it! Er . . . sometimes with a little help from her friends.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Season 9 ends here. While Angel & Faith was the superior series of this current season, I still am very intrigued to see how the Season ends. Season 8 took out magic and killed Giles so I wonder how this conclusion will top that? And how will this ending affect Season 10? It will be interesting to find out.
 ________________________________________________________

Detective Comics #23.2: Harley Quinn
Detective Comics #23.2 Harley Quinn (Standard Edition)
Creative Team
Matt Kindt and Neil Googe
Solicitation

“If Dr. Harleen Quinzel wasn’t crazy when she fell for The Joker at Arkham Asylum, she sure was messed up afterwards! Find out more from Harley’s time with her beloved Mr. J. and see what got her into so much trouble that she was “recruited” for the Suicide Squad!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Just like I mentioned for the Riddler this week, Harley Quinn is my #3 favourite Bat-Baddy and definitely in the running for my favourite overall DC villainess…if you can call her a real villain that is. My affinity for the character is not up for debate so a solo issue staring her will just wet my whistle for what is to become a regular occurrence when her ongoing series starts in November. Crazy, goofy, and dangerous, this issue will hopefully do her justice and be as good as Kindt’s Deadshot issue from last week.
________________________________________________________

The Flash #23.2: Reverse-Flash
Flash #23.2 Reverse Flash (Standard Edition)
Creative Team
Brian Buccellato and Francis Manapul
Solicitation
“Discover the untold origin of Reverse-Flash! Who is he, and what is his relationship to Barry Allen? Secrets are revealed and questions answered as we race through the history of Reverse-Flash right through to Forever Evil!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
At last we know the Reverse-Flash’s identity but how he gained these fantastic powers is a truly big question. This issue promises to answer said question and it is coming to us from the regular Flash creative team so we know it is going to look absolutely drop-dead gorgeous. For any fan of the Flash I needn’t really explain anymore why you need to pick up what is sure to be an essential chapter in this series’ ongoing saga.
________________________________________________________

X-Men #5
X-Men #5
Creative Team

Brian Wood and David Lopez
Solicitation
“BATTLE OF THE ATOM PART 3! The X-Men and Future X-Men pursue young Scott and Jean. Not all the X-Men agree that the All-New X-Men should be sent back. The cracks in the new all-female X-Men cast start to show.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Battle of the Atom did not disappoint with its opening two chapters and they really got me pumped for the rest of the crossover. I didn’t have to wait very long for the third chapter to see release which is always a positive in keeping a storyline’s momentum alive. If you didn’t read the first two chapters you owe it to yourself to check it out but if you already did you are right there with me in anticipation to see how it all plays out.
  ________________________________________________________

DC%20Comics%20Villains%20MonthMy Top 5 Anticipated Villain’s Month Titles Seeing Release This Week
1. The Flash #23.2: Reverse-Flash
2. Batman #23.2: The Riddler
3. Detective Comics #23.2: Harley Quinn
4. Superman #23.2: Brainiac
5. Aquaman #23.1: Black Manta
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #23.2: Zod
Avengers #19
Avengers Arena #15
Batman & Robin #23.2: Court of Owls
Batman: Li’l Gotham #6
Batman: The Dark Knight #23.2: Mr. Freeze
Deadpool #16
Earth 2 #15.2: Solomon Grundy
Fantastic Four #12
Fearless Defenders #9
Green Lantern #23.2: Mongul
Indestructible Hulk #13
Justice League #23.2: Lobo
Justice League of America #7.2: Killer Frost
Smallville Season 11 #17
Teen Titans #23.1: Trigon
TMNT Villain Micro-Series #6: Hun
The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys #4
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 09/11/13 goes to….
The Flash #23.2: Reverse-Flash
Flash #23.2 Reverse Flash (Standard Edition)
Reverse-Flash origin story! The answer to this big question mark eclipses everything else this week for me.
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics Villain’s Month (13 Issues), DC Comics Regular (2 Issues), Marvel (7 Issues), and Independent (3 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 09/11/13

  1. Fearless Defenders, Mighty Avengers, Uncanny X-Force, X-Men and My Little Pony, for me. As uncomfortable as I am picking up anything with Greg Land’s art, I do want to show my support for Marvel’s attempts at diversity. So Mighty Avengers will be picked up.

    • I’ll skim through it on the shelf and if it catches my eye maybe I’ll pick it up. I commend Marvel for the diversity but there isn’t anyone on that team that makes it a must buy for me (besides Spider-Man that is and who knows how much he’ll even be in there) Hopefully it surprises me!

Leave a Reply

