On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 09/18/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Daredevil #31
Daredevil #31
Creative Team
Mark Waid and Chris Samnee
Solicitation
“The Jester returns! And it is no laughing matter. Plus: Meet Matt’s new law partner! Plus PLUS…News from Hank Pym!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Waid. Samnee. Daredevil. A newly revamped Jester. News from Pym. All of these separate elements would make any series a must see for me but when you combine them all together what you get is not only a must see but a can’t miss.
________________________________________________________

The Flash #23.3: The Rogues
Flash #23.3 Rogues (Standard Edition)
Creative Team
Brian Buccellato and Patrick Zircher
Solicitation

“The Rogues have their rules and their ways of doing business–so what do they think of the Secret Society’s claims that the Justice League is dead, and that the world’s villains need to unite? It’s a culture clash that won’t end quietly!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
I’m a huge fan of the Flash and by extension his Rogues so this issue is right up my alley. I can’t wait to see them rebel against the Secret Society and forge their own path with this issue really being a prelude to their upcoming mini-series, Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion. A bigger spotlight on the Rogues is always a great thing!
 ________________________________________________________

Infinity #3
Infinity #3 (of 6)
Creative Team
Jonathan Hickman and Jerome Opena
Solicitation

“Prison break. Stealing a worldkiller. The fall of Attilan.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Infinity is a true example of an Event Comic done right. I came into the first issue cautiously, half expecting this was going to be another disappointing crossover but how wrong I was. As soon as each chapter concludes I eagerly await the next installment. At least this time I only had to wait two weeks which makes me very happy indeed. Fantastic art matched with a big movie feel storyline makes it that anyone who is a fan of cosmic comics or not needs to check it out. I expect the stakes to climb even higher as we hurdle to the halfway point. 
________________________________________________________

New Avengers #10
New Avengers #10
Creative Team
Jonathan Hickman and Mike Deodato
Solicitation
“Inhuman secrets reveal the desires of Thanos. The machinations of Maximus the Mad. The battle for Earth continues . . . what an awful time for an incursion.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
New Avengers was great before Infinity with its Incursion plot steering the course. Then came Infinity which made this series an essential companion piece to the main title. Now comes this issue which looks to combine the Incursion plot with the Infinity one. So what happens when you combine an awesome concept with an awesome Event with an awesome creative team? The personification of pure awesomeness!
________________________________________________________

Superior Spider-Man #18
Superior Spider-Man #18
Creative Team

Dan Slott and Ryan Stegman
Solicitation
“Superior Spider-Man vs. Spider-Man 2099. Who will be the most superior Spider in the Multi-verse? Plus: secrets uncovered in time!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
You had me at “Superior Spider-Man vs. Spider-Man 2099” which I’m sure is the same sentiment as countless other Spidey Fans out there. I really needn’t say any more.
  ________________________________________________________

Superman #23.3: H’el
Superman #23.3 Hel (Standard Edition)
Creative Team

Scott Lobdell and Dan Jurgens
Solicitation
“After his last battle with Superman, H’el wakes up on Krypton years before it is destroyed! Can H’el manipulate the Science Counsel, soldiers and countless others including Jor-El, to save the planet? And what does it mean for the birth of Superman if he succeeds?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
H’el may not have the most love directed his way by fans but the way we left him after the “H’el On Earth” crossover ended left me salivating at the possibilities. H’el on Krypton before it exploded?! This issue can really go either way in terms of quality but it has two things going for it: #1 Time travel (I’m a sucker for anything time travel related) and #2 It is the starting point for the even more interestingly entitled “Krypton Returns” storyline. Yeah, I’m sold.
________________________________________________________

DC%20Comics%20Villains%20MonthMy Top 5 Anticipated Villain’s Month Titles Seeing Release This Week
1. The Flash #23.3: The Rogues
2. Superman #23.3: H’el
3. Green Lantern #23.3: Black Hand
4. Wonder Woman #23.1: Cheetah
5. Action Comics #23.3: Lex Luthor
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Batman #23.3: Penguin
Batman ’66 #3
Batman and Robin #23.3: Ra’s al Ghul
Batman Beyond Universe #2
Batman – The Dark Knight #23.3: Clayface
Detective Comics #23.3: Scarecrow
Doctor Who #13
Ghostbusters #7
Justice League #23.3: Dial E
Justice League Dark #23.2: Eclipso
Justice League of America #7.3: Shadow Thief
Mind The Gap #14
Morning Glories #31
Secret Avengers #9
Superior Carnage #3
Swamp Thing #23.1: Arcane
Teen Titans #23.2: Deathstroke
Uncanny X-Men #12
Venom #41
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 09/18/13 goes to….
Infinity #3
Infinity #3 (of 6)
This series is good. So, so good!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics Villain’s Month (14 Issues), DC Comics Regular (2 Issues), Marvel (8 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 09/18/13

      • Meh. I considered picking up something else, but there’s nothing I’m really crazy enough about to spend money on. Cable & X-Force is out because of my Hopeless boycott. New Avengers is just not for me. Morbius is ending. Daredevil is great, but I don’t really care enough to buy it. Secret Avengers . . . there’s something that holds me back from really loving it. Same with Superior Spider-Man.

        So, I’ll probably just save the money for the next time I’ve got a big week. Probably in October.

        • Don’t care to buy Daredevil???? What is wrong with you? 🙂

          As for Secret Avengers, I know where you are coming from. Superior is pretty good but pretty awful for others and New Avengers isn’t everyone’s cup of tea.

          Big weeks are always a killer on me…especially when my LCS surprises me with a backlog of Eaglemoss figures. Always happens on my biggest week too…

Leave a Reply

