The Villainous Comic Connection: Issue #27

comicconnection Welcome to the twenty-seventh edition of the Comic Connection! The main point of its existence is to share and discuss, to Connect through Comics. Its centrepiece is the Weekly Question, a question I will pose dealing with anything Comic related. Then I turn it over to you and to Twitter to offer any feedback/your opinion on the topic with your answers being featured on next week’s posting. I’ll also share some cool comic-related fan art along with links to my favourite blogs and people to follow on Twitter. With that said, let’s revisit last week’s question:

________________________________________________________

Last week I asked “Who are your top Batman villains?” To see my answer on the topic visit HERE. As for what the rest of you had to say…

@paul_bowler: Well I’d have to say my top 3 Batman villains would be…. 1: The Joker, 2: Clayface, 3: Riddler Really enjoyed reading your views and descriptions of your top 3 Batman villains.

@SidekickReviews: Joker! I love your description, it’s perfect!

@disastercouch: My all-time favorite Bat-villain has to be Mr. Freeze, and it has everything to do with his look.  Like all the great Bat-foes, he’s been drawn a hundred different ways over the years, but there have been a few common factors: a deadly looking freeze ray, some kind of cool goggles, and a domed helmet.  I love that he’s been both high-tech and kind of retro, with a look that recalls early NASA space suits..  Sadly, he’s not always written that well, but there have been a handful of great stories, including the incomparable Batman: Snow. I’m a huge fan of the diabolical al Ghul family as well.

@ZakkSaam: Joker, Riddler, and Scarecrow.

@JosephKasch: Joker, Catwoman (if you count her) and two face

@DweebCast: Two-Face, Black Mask, Joker, Cain, Bane, Hush & Catwoman (when she’s being bad).

@BizarremoonS: I didn’t have to even think about this… Catwoman of course. Though she could also be a good guy sometimes. Hmmmm

@2ComicNerds: 5. Mr. Freeze (not new 52 version) 4. Two Face (all thanks to the villain issue) 3. Riddler 2. Deadshot 1. The Joker

________________________________________________________

“Who are your top Spider-Man villains?”
________________________________________________________

It’s my second of four villain-centric editions of the Comic Connection and I could think of no better way to follow-up my Batman question with the man who has an equally impressive stable of comic book villains, none other than Spider-Man. Over the years he has attained quite a collection of foes from all walks of life, a group of villainy that surpasses any other hero’s from the entire Marvel Universe. Of course, with every collection of individuals there are those rare characters that capture your imagination, that become your favourites. That is true for me as well and that is why I’ll be taking a look at my Top 3 Spider-Man Villains this week. Without further ado:

Green Goblin:
Whenever Norman Osborn pops up in the pages of Spider-Man you immediately know that something big and important is going to transpire. Arguably Spider-Man’s #1 foe (with Doctor Octopus his closest rival for that distinction), the Spider-Man-Green Goblin rivalry has seen it all including the murder of Gwen Stacy, masterminding the clone saga, and causing the death of Ben Reilly to name just a few. At times he can be crazy and psychotic while at other times he can be cold and calculating. Overcoming death itself to plague his hero once again, in recent years Osborn has become a thorn in the side of not only Spidey but the Avengers as well. Quite a step-up indeed!

Electro:
Electro will always hold a special place in my heart. He was the villain of my first comic book I ever read and I thought he was the Amazing Spider-Man’s biggest foe ever. I read that issue over and over again, all the while loving the design and the powers of this man I knew so little about. It wasn’t until many years later that I learned more about him but that still doesn’t impede the smile that crosses my face every time he shows up. While he may not be in the Top 5 characters for most Spider-Man fans, Electro will always rank high in my opinion and I can’t wait to see if Jamie Foxx does the character justice in the Amazing Spider-Man 2 movie. If not, it won’t taint my memories of a character that introduced me to the wondrous world of comics and brings up fond recollections of my childhood every time he graces the pages.

Hobgoblin:
The first episode I ever watched of Fox’s 1990 Animated Spider-Man TV show starred this man. I loved his look, I loved his attitude, and I loved his voice (provided by the great Mark Hamill). My affection for the villain continued for the entirety of the series until its conclusion and then I discovered him all over again in the pages of the comic verse…and loved him even more. What the comics did right was creating an overarching mystery that kept us glued to our seats, wondering just who could be the man behind the mask. It was well done and took many twists and turns until the eventual reveal came our way. After that, the character sadly faded in and out of Spider-Man comics until recently when the true Hobgobllin made his triumphant return, something that was long overdue and something that I hope will not be a temporary event. Regardless of what people may think, Hobgoblin will always be my favourite Goblin villain, a fact that makes me long to see this character and his story make the transition to the big screen movie verse.

________________________________________________________

Comic Art Spotlight

Here I thought I’d share some of my favourite comic-related works of art from Ed Foychuk. To check-out more from him, go to his DeviantArt page HERE.

avengers_assemble__by_juggertha-d5eilhr________________________________________________________thanos_by_juggertha-d58qfsl________________________________________________________Dr_Strange_by_Juggertha________________________________________________________Loki__God_of_Lies_and_Mischief_by_Juggertha________________________________________________________nightcrawler_by_juggertha-d389gk8________________________________________________________ Spidey_Portrait___Colors_by_Juggertha________________________________________________________the_sinister_six_by_juggertha-d3fr5jm________________________________________________________
Blog Quote Bubble

In this section I’ll highlight the various WordPress based blogs that I recommend:

House of Flying Scalpelshttp://houseofflyingscalpels.com/
Cover of the Week, Iconic Panel Art, and awesome reviews.

Sci-Fi Jubilee http://scifijubilee.wordpress.com/
Really nice in-depth reviews from a perfect gentleman residing in the UK.

Sidekick Reviewshttp://sidekickreviews.wordpress.com/
Blog I go to for excellent The Walking Dead and Arrow episode reviews.

The Indigo Tribe http://indigotribe.wordpress.com/
A blog about all things Green Lantern including reviews and musings.

Arousing Grammar http://arousinggrammar.com/
Great reviews that are a nice hybrid of commentary and full-page comic art.

The Pure Moodhttp://thepuremood.com/
Reviews and thorough articles are the makeup for this blog that also has a podcast element to it.

Comic Book Junkiehttp://comicbookjunkie.wordpress.com/
Previews of the coming week of comics, Cover VS Cover, and more.

X-Men X-Pert http://xmenxpert.wordpress.com/
A great blog that covers all things related to the X-Verse.

Bag & Bored http://bagandbored.net/
A comic book and entertainment review site run by a team of five. Varied content by a varied group.

________________________________________________________

twitter-logoRecommended People To Follow On Twitter
@Comic_Maven
@tommylutz
@Kooliebear
@TweetsoftheBat
@paul_bowler
@Superherologist
@JulzHendricks
@BlueJaigEyes
________________________________________________________

That wraps up the twenty-seventh edition of The Comic Connection. Have any comments? Anything you wanted to share? You know what to do.

7 thoughts on “The Villainous Comic Connection: Issue #27

    • “J. Jonah Jameson is the correct answer for best Spider-Man villain.”
      That is a good answer. Hopefully the character pops up in the ASM2 movie though I can’t imagine anyone topping J.K. Simmons’ performance from the Raimi trilogy.

  1. love these comic connection posts man, and the villains theme to tie in with villain’s month is a great idea!

    Fave Spider-Foe HAS to be Doc Ock, and the current “Superior Spider-man” status quo has only made me love Otto Octavius more!

    • Thanks for the support! It definitely is a good time to be a fan of Otto. Some people may be outraged over the current direction but I’m of the attitude that it is a nice refreshing pace. Peter will come back (it’s inevitable) but what I’m really unsure about is what will happen to Otto then. Will he remain a hero? Revert back to a villain? Something else entirely?

  2. Awesome comic connection post, really enjoying the villains theme you are using to coincide with villains month.

    My top three Spidey villains would be 1: Green Goblin / Norman Osborn is Spiderman and Peter Parker’s arch nemesis. 2: Venom / The alien costume that became one of Spidey’s most deadly enemies! 3: The Lizard / I always feel a bit sorry for Dr Curt Connors as his experiment to regrow his missing arm turned him into a monster. Hope we get to see the Green Goblin or Venom in a new Spiderman film one day, that would be great!

    • Green Goblin’s return to the movieverse is imminent with Venom not far behind if I had to wager a guess. And if rumours of a Sinsiter Six forming is true, then the Lizard will have his time to shine once again! Thanks for sharing your favs. 🙂

      • That’s right, hope Venom gets to appear in a film, didn’t like how they portrayed the character in Spiderman 3. Be great if the rumour about the Sinister Six actually happens, would be great to see the Lizard return as well!

Leave a Reply

