Retroactive: Detective Comics 1983 & Amazing Spider-Man 2007

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1982 and Amazing Spider-Man 2006. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1983detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 2007amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

10 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1983 & Amazing Spider-Man 2007

  1. My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 523. First of all, I like it from an aesthetic point of view: the warm colours are used in a very skilful way, the composition is extraordinary, and I also love the contrast between light and dark on Batman’s and Solomon Grundy’s bodies.
    I like this cover also because it makes me think that only a brilliant deus ex machina could save Batman. He’s trapped in a warehouse which is burning in flames, and there’s a 2 metres tall obstacle between him and the door: even if you are the smartest superhero in the world, you can’t overcome so many difficulties without a first rate deus ex machina.
    As for Spidey, I pick ASM # 542. First of all, Kingpin is the main villain, and this detail would convince me to buy the issue alone.
    I also appreciate that the villain is in the foreground, and the superhero is just a little spot in the background: usually it is just the opposite, so this cover shows something unusual – and, as you know, the more a cover is unusual, the more it gets close to the gold medal in my personal ranking. : )

    • “My favorite Batman cover is Detective Comics # 523.”
      Yeah, I love the way the flames frame the two characters squaring off and I love how visually interesting the artist drew them. My runner up would have to be #524 though. I love how the smoke from the gun trails and blends into the main title, the way Batman is lying there motionless on the cover, and the clever use of shadows to obscure the villain’s true identity.

      “I also appreciate that the villain is in the foreground, and the superhero is just a little spot in the background: usually it is just the opposite, so this cover shows something unusual – and, as you know, the more a cover is unusual, the more it gets close to the gold medal in my personal ranking.”
      Oh, good point. I love the overall perspective of the cover and the look on the Kingpin’s face, oblivious that Spider-Man is looking for vengeance right behind him. My runner up would have to go to #543 from the look of anguish, to the blood red background, to the body lying underneath the sheet, a body whose identity is obscured. Who in Spider-Man’s life just joined Uncle Ben in the afterlife? My Spidey-Senses are tingling.

      Thanks, as always, for providing you choices. 🙂

      • “My runner up would have to be #524” As you know, each time a cover shows a publicity stunt, I don’t give that cover the gold medal as a rule. Especially if it shows a fake death, because it’s the most obvious publicity stunt ever.
        Anyway, I really appreciated the clever use of shadows too.
        “My runner up would have to go to #543” I don’t give the gold medal as a rule even to the covers that don’t have a well – defined background. But in this case the lack of background is effective, because this way the attention is entirely focused on Spidey and his grief.
        “Thanks, as always, for providing you choices.” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

  2. Awesome choice for Detective #529 what a great cover! I really like the red sky in contrast with Gotham and the darkness of Batman’s billowing cape. Amazing Spiderman #539 is also really good, enjoyed the back in the black story line. I always liked the black costume and I think this cover is just stunning!

  3. Wow, 1983 was a vintage year for covers on Detective Comics. Er … as usual, I have different favs and I would go for either 524 or 528. Both of those covers really build the suspense – what exactly is happening here?

    • Yeah, #524 is my personal runner-up. Whoever could that villain be? And #528 is great by having the villain’s face reflected in the very knife he is about to impale Batman with. Super choices. Thanks for providing your picks!

Leave a Reply

