On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 10/02/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Forever Evil #2
Forever Evil #2 (of 7)
Creative Team
Geoff Johns and David Finch
Solicitation
“The villains have taken over the world! The Teen Titans fight back! Can the inexperienced teen heroes do what the adults could not? (Answer: Nope. It goes very poorly.)”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Villains Month may be over, but this series is continuing on. The first one had a whole lot of things going on, acting as the backbone of the entire event, containing moments that were furthered explored in other individual issues. This latest one looks to be a whole different beast. Not having to be relied on for that much, this second issue has room to take what was already an enjoyable debut and make it even better.
________________________________________________________

Green Arrow #24
Green Arrow #24
Creative Team
Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino
Solicitation

“After months away, Green Arrow returns to Seattle with new ally Shado at his side. But a furious Count Vertigo is hot on their tail! Plus, the city’s mysterious new crimelord is revealed!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Count Vertigo’s Villains Month spotlight was quite a highlight indeed and was even better than other offerings because it actually involved the regular creative team. Building off of previous events, we are guaranteed some superb art, a riveting story, and a surprise or two. Who is this new crimelord? Is he an established character? An entirely new villain? Or a villain awaiting his New 52 debut? I can’t wait to find out!
 ________________________________________________________

Quantum & Woody #4
Quantum & Woody #4 (Regular Sook Cover)
Creative Team
James Asmus and Tom Fowler
Solicitation

“The staggering first appearance of…the Goat! Bitterly divided and hopelessly outgunned, Quantum and Woody are getting torn apart! Literally! Can they get their #$@% together before being shredded to atoms by the mysterious Crone and her super-science footsoldiers?! Probably not. But when a new ally emerges from the shadows, they’ll find the strength to fight baaaaack.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Ever since this series arrived we’ve been teased with one looming debut: the Goat. Said Goat even appeared on the first issue’s cover. How does a goat fit into all of this though? How can a goat become a new ally? The payoff is here for all of us new Quantum & Woody fans. We know it will be anything but baaaaaad. I’m sorry, I couldn’t help myself with that one…
________________________________________________________

Reality Check #2
Reality Check #2
Creative Team
Glen Brunswick and Viktor Bogdanovic
Solicitation
“Will is having one bad day. The woman who broke his heart has returned and she may actually have a thing for Dark Hour – the fictional hero come to life from Will’s imagination. Meanwhile, the hideous Devil-Inside stalks their every move, waiting for the perfect moment to kill them all.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The first issue was a solid comic, showing more emotion and more depth then I thought it would have. This follow-up could go either way though as I’m enthralled to learn how that twist actually happened and excited to see how Will is going to interact with his creation but I’m nervous that this series my lose some of its heart in the process. My fingers are crossed that it doesn’t.
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #4
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #4
Creative Team

Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“Getting the Band Back Together!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This series is awesome! Don’t believe me? I dare you to try the first three issues and not agree. Another installment of this series does nothing but put a smile on my face and joy in my heart. Did I mention how awesome it is?
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #24
All-New X-Men #17
All-New X-Men Special #1
Detective Comics #24
Earth 2 #16
Green Lantern #24
Iron Man #16
Mara #6
Mark Waid’s Green Hornet #6
Mind The Gap #15
Morning Glories #32
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 10/02/13 goes to….
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #4
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #4
There is a very strong chance that this series will one day capture my #1 Spot on my Marvel Rankings. The road to that goal continues here.
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (6 Issues), Marvel (4 Issues), and Independent (6 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 10/02/13

      • I love Ewing’s writing, and I want to support a book with such a strong minority presence. However, my continued support of the book is going to be based on how much I can stand Greg LAAAAAAANNNND! He didn’t offend me as much as usual in #1, so I’ll pick up #2. If he’s not as bad as usual there, then I’ll pick up #3. But as long as he’s on the book, every issue could very well be my last until he leaves.

        • Poor, poor Greg Land. He’s one of the few artists that can elicit 100+ pages of discussion on message boards (mostly negative). Sometimes I really feel bad for the guy…

  1. Ohh… Forever Evil #2… I’m going to check it out… I don’t have the highest expectations for this book, lol. Looking forward to All New X-Men, Lazarus and the Movement.

Leave a Reply

