Retroactive: Detective Comics 1987 & Amazing Spider-Man 2011

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1986 and Amazing Spider-Man 2010. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1987detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 2011amazing-spider-man-logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1987 & Amazing Spider-Man 2011

  1. I completely agree with the Batman cover you chose. I think it’s been drawn by McFarlane: maybe he’s the only artist whose covers have been uploaded in the Retroactive section both for Detective Comics and Amazing Spider – Man.
    Special mention for Detective Comics # 579: I love the contrast between the immobility of the surgeon and the extreme dynamism of Batman, as I love the unusual fact that the villain is in the foreground and the superhero is in the background. Speaking of the background, notice how meticulously the cover artist drew the machinery behind the surgeon… yes, this cover definitely deserves the silver medal.
    As for Spidey, I pick ASM # 661. Both of us are huge fans of the Avengers Academy, so I don’t think I have to explain you why this cover got the first prize. : )

    • “I think it’s been drawn by McFarlane”
      Upon researching I’ve found…that you are 100% correct. Nice! No wonder it drew me in.

      “Special mention for Detective Comics # 579: I love the contrast between the immobility of the surgeon and the extreme dynamism of Batman, as I love the unusual fact that the villain is in the foreground and the superhero is in the background.”
      Oh! I love how you put that. You are quite the wordsmith. As for my runner-up…I’d give it to that iconic image of #574. Another emotional scene.

      “Both of us are huge fans of the Avengers Academy, so I don’t think I have to explain you why this cover got the first prize.”
      Ah…Avengers Academy. Hard to imagine that the series has been gone for almost an entire year. 😦

      I’d like to make mention of Amazing Spider-Man #659 as well. A fun, well drawn cover with a lot of character details that capture everyone’s personalities brilliantly. I’ve got this cover as a poster as well!

      Thanks for sharing. Only one ASM cover left to go!

  2. Great choice of covers, really like Detective #557 the year two story was brilliant. This cover is excellent, with Batman hugging the gravestone of his murdered parents like that. ASM #655 is really striking, with the red and white tones, excellent choice.

Leave a Reply

