Retroactive: Detective Comics 1989 & Daredevil 1964

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1988 and Amazing Spider-Man 2012. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1989detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1964daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

9 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1989 & Daredevil 1964

  1. My favorite Bat – cover is Detective Comics # 596. Batman is unconscious, his costume is in shreds, and only a few films rolled all over his body prevent him from falling in the dark. How did Bruce faint? How did he damage his costume? And why did the villain decide to hang him on those films, instead of just killing him? This image is very striking and question – raising, so it deserves the gold medal.
    Anyway, the cover you chose comes pretty close in my personal ranking, because I love unusual narrative choices, and a team up between Batman and Demon definitely is an unexpected event. I also love how the artist drew Bruce’s cowl, and I thoroughly appreciate the “gothic vibe” you mentioned.
    As for Matt, you know how much I love red backgrounds… but I pick Daredevil # 4. A wonderful tribute to Amazing Fantasy # 15, a detailed background, a delightful contrast between light colours (the yellow of Matt’s costume and Karen Page’s hair) and dark colours (the grey skyscraper and the purple villain)… yes, this cover definitely deserves the first prize.

    • “My favorite Bat – cover is Detective Comics # 596.”
      Yet again, I was so, so close to picking this cover for the very reasons you stated. Quite a haunting image indeed.

      “A wonderful tribute to Amazing Fantasy # 15, a detailed background, a delightful contrast between light colours (the yellow of Matt’s costume and Karen Page’s hair) and dark colours (the grey skyscraper and the purple villain)… yes, this cover definitely deserves the first prize.”
      A nice homage from a different angle then we’re used to gives this cover bonus points in my opinion. The tease of the villain’s power is also interesting as just calling him the Purple Man really gives us no clue as to what he could truly do.

      Thanks for sharing your choices…and I hope you enjoyed the first of many Daredevil covers to come! 🙂

  2. Great choice for these issue, really like Detective #603, I like how this features a team up with the Creeper as well. Its a very dark and gothic scene with the two of them featured like this. Not many covers for the first year of Daredevil, really like issue 2 as well, but I would have to go for issue #1 It may not be a very iconic cover in terms of first issues, but I just like how its almost like an action packed panel of the comic itself.

    • “It may not be a very iconic cover in terms of first issues, but I just like how its almost like an action packed panel of the comic itself.”
      True, true. They definitely went all out trying to attract new readers to this new series. Putting Spider-Man and the F4 on the cover was another inspired choice to bring this title the attention of fans for those respective characters.

  3. The ghost Robin in #606 is eerily cool, looks like he’s blaming Batman who is kneeling by the gravestone like he wants forgiveness. My favorite is #596, it immediately caught my eye: It’s the way Batman body is dangling with a badly tattered costume and the film strips adds another layer of intrigue.

    • Batman crying is a sight rarely seen. The weight of Jason Todd’s death had a big impact on him for many years to come. Also, you and wwayne are on the same page with 596, my runner-up. A great cover but in the end I just barely gave the edge to my selection. It was close though… Thanks for sharing your picks!

Leave a Reply

