Comic Book Rankings Special Edition: My Top Live-Action Comic Book Movies

Rankings

Welcome to the third of five special editions of the Rankings. This time I’m going to reveal my favourite live-action comic book movies broken down into three categories: DC, Marvel, and the Independents. I should mention that only movies I’ve seen will qualify. Here’s the List:

My Top 8 DC Live-Action Moviesdccomicslogo

Rank #1the-dark-knight_2The Dark Knight
_________________________________

Rank #2Batman_Begins_PosterBatman Begins
_________________________________

Rank #3the-dark-knight-rises-posterThe Dark Knight Rises
_________________________________

Rank #4Batman_ver2Batman
_________________________________

Rank #5Batman_returns_poster2Batman Returns
_________________________________

Rank #6stardustStardust
_________________________________

Rank #7man_of_steel_xlgMan of Steel
_________________________________

Rank #8Batman_forever_ver7Batman Forever
  ________________________________________________________

My Top 8 Marvel Live-Action Movies
marvel logo

Rank #1the-avengers-film-posterMarvel’s The Avengers
_________________________________

Rank #2M Payoff 1shtIron Man
_________________________________

Rank #3first classX-Men: First Class
_________________________________

Rank #4captain_america_the_first_avenger_ver6Captain America: The First Avenger
_________________________________

Rank #5X2 ONE SHEET A ¥ Art Machine Job#5263 ¥ Version A ¥  02/28/03X2: X-Men United
_________________________________

Rank #6xmen_ver1X-Men
_________________________________

Rank #7spiderman-poster-usaSpider-Man
_________________________________

Rank #8ironman3posterwatermarkIron Man 3
________________________________________________________

My Top 8 Independent Live-Action Movies

Rank #1Hellboy_II_lg_posterHellboy II: The Golden Army
_________________________________

Rank #2teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-the-movie-movie-poster-1989-1020189738Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
_________________________________

Rank #3hellboy_ver5Hellboy
_________________________________

Rank #4mystery-men-movie-poster-1999-1020211306Mystery Men
_________________________________

Rank #5the-green-hornet-movie-poster-02The Green Hornet
_________________________________

Rank #6rocketeerThe Rocketeer
_________________________________

Rank #7teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-2-the-secret-of-the-ooze-movie-poster-1020299556Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze
_________________________________

Rank #8the-mask-1994The Mask
________________________________________________________

Did your favourites make the list? Want to share yours? Comment below!

5 thoughts on “Comic Book Rankings Special Edition: My Top Live-Action Comic Book Movies

  1. My overall Top 10 is:

    1) The Dark Knight Rises
    2) The Dark Knight
    3) The Mask
    4) Batman
    5) Road to Perdition
    6) Batman Forever
    7) Iron Man 3
    8) Spider – Man 3
    9) Superman 3
    10) Batman & Robin
    Special mention for Daredevil and Spawn.

    I know that probably you opened your eyes wide when you read Batman & Robin, but believe me: if you value it as a live action cartoon, it’s a very well done movie.
    As for my special mentions, I love these characters so much that I really couldn’t exclude their live action movies. Both the Daredevil movie and the Spawn one are very underrated, by the way.
    I don’t know why I tend to appreciate 3rd chapters more than the others, I think it’s a pure coincidence. What do you think about my chart?

    • “What do you think about my chart?”

      1. I’m shocked that Batman Begins is nowhere on it.

      2. Happy to see that you like the Mask as well.

      3. More surprises with Spider-Man 3 and Superman 3 over the other entries in each respective series.

      4. I personally have never seen the Road to Perdition but I take it that it is really good to earn 5th place.

      5. As for liking the 3rd chapters the most, I’m the opposite in that regards. It stretches to other franchises as well (LOTR – liked the second one the best, Transformers – liked the 1st one, etc.). I can’t think of a threequel that I liked the best in any trilogy. Yes, sometimes they are better than the sequels though…

      Thanks for sharing!

      • “I’m shocked that Batman Begins is nowhere on it.” That movie had a very nice atmosphere, but I can’t recall a single detail of its plot. I thought “It’s a good movie, but it didn’t remain engraved on my memory, so I think I won’t include it.”
        “Thanks for sharing!” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

        • “That movie had a very nice atmosphere, but I can’t recall a single detail of its plot.”
          Bruce Wayne being trained by Ducard? Ducard being revealed as the real Ra’s al Ghul? Scarecrow poisoning the Narrows? Rachel getting poisoned and the chase scene between the Cops and the Tumbler? I could go on and on. Love this movie…but to each his own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

