On The Radar Special Edition: Upcoming Comic Book Movies

Radar

In this special edition I’ll highlight the upcoming comic book movies that I’m looking forward to the most and then list the various other ones that I’m sure to watch as well.

The Avengers: Age of Ultronthe_avengers___colors_by_marciotakara-d50639aRelease Date
May 1, 2015
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The first Avengers movie exceeded my expectations and with the sequel keeping Whedon in charge and bringing back the same cast with some new faces joining the mix, this could possibly even top it. James Spader is lending his vocal cords to the title villain which is an inspired choice and the endless possibilities of which character will pop-up next has my mind racing.
________________________________________________________

Captain America: The Winter Soldiercaptain_america_by_riccardo_fasoli-d681cs0Release Date
April 4, 2014
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Another movie where I loved the first offering and where I think the sequel will surpass it. Sharon Carter, Falcon, and the Winter Solider are all appearing in this movie which looks to focus on Steve in the present day battling threats from the past. Chris Evans has done a stand-up job with his portrayal of Captain America and I believe this will be another home run.
 ________________________________________________________

Guardians of the Galaxystar-lord 2Release Date
August 1, 2014
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Marvel’s biggest risk to date has compiled a phenomenal cast that looks to deliver on all levels. I’m not a big fan of cosmic comics but this movie looks to possess all the elements for one excellent, fun, and epic movie.
________________________________________________________

Superman VS Batmansuperman-batmanRelease Date
July 17, 2015
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Superman…teaming up…with Batman! If you are a fan of DC Comics I needn’t say anything else except I jumped out of my seat when I heard the news.
________________________________________________________

X-Men: Days of Future PastDAYS_OF_THE_FUTURE_PASTRelease Date
May 23, 2014
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Time travel: I’m a sucker for any movie that uses it. Hugh Jackman: his portrayal of Wolverine is perfect. X-Men First Class: this is a sequel to the movie I consider the best of any in the X-Franchise. Reuniting the original cast of the first X-Trilogy including Stewart and McKellen and bringing back the notable members of the First Class cast including Fassbender and McAvoy as well? Oh my god! This movie has it all and more.
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comic Book Movies I’ll Be Watching
The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Ant-Man
Ninja Turtles
Thor: The Dark World
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book Movie goes to….
X-Men: Days of Future Past
DAYS_OF_THE_FUTURE_PAST
This is FOX’s version of the Avengers movie…but with time travel! It wins the title over the rest in big part because its release is that much closer.
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (1 Movie), Marvel (7 Movies), and Independent (1 Movie). What are your most anticipated comic book movies that you are most looking forward to? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “On The Radar Special Edition: Upcoming Comic Book Movies

  1. I’m looking forward to all of these. 🙂 My most anticipated is Age of Ultron … should I be worried that an Avenger might not make it out in one piece? Guardians of the Galaxy is a big risk, I hope Marvel can pull it off. It’s been said before but it’s mind boggling how Rocket Raccoon can get to the big screen before Wonder Women or Aquaman. Some cut scenes are already filmed for Superman Vs Batman, maybe the studio is not letting on how far in advanced they are planning things?

    • “Should I be worried that an Avenger might not make it out in one piece?”
      It is a Whedon movie after all…though I have no clue who would actually get killed off.

      “It’s been said before but it’s mind boggling how Rocket Raccoon can get to the big screen before Wonder Women or Aquaman.”
      That’s what happens when you have a game plan instead of whatever DC thinks they have. A real shame indeed. Marvel can churn out two movies a year yet DC can only manage one every two years? Something isn’t right here!

Leave a Reply

