On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/06/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Amazing X-Men #1Amazing X-Men #1 (McGuinness Wraparound Cover)Creative Team
Jason Aaron and Ed McGuinness
Solicitation
“An AMAZING new era for the X-Men starts here! Ever since his Nightcrawler’s death in X-MEN MESSIAH COMPLEX, the X-Men have been without their heart and soul. After learning that their friend may not be gone after all, it’s up to WOLVERINE, STORM, BEAST, ICEMAN, NORTHSTAR and FIRESTAR to find and bring back the fan favorite fuzzy blue elf! Super star artist ED MCGUINNESS (HULK) joins master X-Writer JASON AARON (WOLVERINE AND THE X-MEN, X-MEN: SCHISM) to bring you the most exciting comic on the stands!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
NEW SERIES ALERT! While I question the necessity for yet another X-Men title, that doesn’t mitigate my excitement for this series mainly because it marks the return of Nightcrawler. How will they bring him back is always a question on most comic book fans’ minds when a character bites the bullet and this issue will go a long way in answering that. Add that to the fact we are going to be treated to the fantastic art of Ed McGuinness along with the awesome wordplay of Jason Aaron and we have a potential can’t miss series here.
________________________________________________________

Detective Comics #25
Detective Comics #25
Creative Team
John Layman and Jason Fabok
Solicitation

“A BATMAN: ZERO YEAR tie-in! James Gordon confronts the corrupt elements in the G.C.P.D.-and the vigilante known as Batman!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
“Zero Year” comes to Detective Comics and placing the focus on James Gordon early on in his career is an inspired choice and something that should lead to one fantastic tale while possibly acting as a prelude of what we can expect when FOX’s live-action Gotham City TV series comes to fruition. It’s going to be great to see where Gordon’s head was at 5 years previously compared to where he is now.
 ________________________________________________________

Forever Evil #3
Forever Evil #3 (of 7)
Creative Team
Geoff Johns and David Finch
Solicitation
“The first universe-wide event of The New 52 continues to explode across the DC Universe! With the world under the rule of the mysterious and deadly Crime Syndicate and our greatest heroes dead, it’s up to the unlikeliest of defenders to rise up to save us-humanity’s only hope-Lex Luthor?! Plus, a startling revelation about the dark secret of the Syndicate’s mission on Earth-and what it means for the future of the DC Universe and its heroes and villains.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Geoff Johns. David Finch. DC Villains. Even more DC Villains. Villains versus Villains. This series has everything I could possibly want and so far it has not disappointed. In this issue, our ragtag bunch of villains look to finally unite…if they don’t kill each other first that is. I can’t wait to see how it all plays out.
________________________________________________________

Green Arrow #25
Green Arrow #25
Creative Team
Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino
Solicitation
“A BATMAN: ZERO YEAR tie-in! He’s just returned from the island and must try to find his place in the world! Now, Oliver Queen becomes Green Arrow for the first time as he battles Killer Moth in Gotham City!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
A “Zero Year” tie-in that isn’t involving a Bat-character? Forced event comic or necessary reading? I’m going with the latter for sure. Watching Ollie get into costume for the first time, battling Killer Moth, and witnessing his past relationship with Mr. Diggle combined with some excellent art by Sorrentino gets my blood pumping just talking about it.
________________________________________________________

Quantum & Woody #5
Quantum & Woody #5 (Regular Robinson)
Creative Team

James Asmus and Lee Garbett
Solicitation
“All-new arc, all-new jumping-on point! All-new problems? Eric and Woody have had their lives turned upside down. What do you do when the most annoying person in your life is also the only thing keeping you alive? You move in with him! And his goat. And his barely legal clone girlfriend. Besides, every team of heroes needs a secret headquarters and this one has a slightly used hot tub. Plus: Quantum meets his first true super-villain!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
What more can I say about this series that I haven’t already said. A fun and hilarious superhero romp, I love the chemistry between the two leads, I love the zany stories, I love the use of flashbacks, and now I think I love a goat. If that last one confuses you, you owe it to yourself to check this series out. I know it will be at the top of my to-read pile the moment I pick up my comics.
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #25
Batman/Superman #5
Earth 2 #17
Ghostbusters #9
Green Lantern #25
Iron Man #18
Mark Waid’s Green Hornet #7
Marvel Knights: Spider-Man #2
Mighty Avengers #3
Morning Glories #34
Reality Check #3
Superman Unchained #4
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 11/06/13 goes to….
Green Arrow #25
Green Arrow #25
A fantastic flashback tale with ramifications for the present day has my undivided attention.
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (8 Issues), Marvel (4 Issues), and Independent (5 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

10 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/06/13

  1. I strongly hope that the upcoming Gotham City tv series you mentioned in your post will lead to the resurrection of an old DC series I’m deeply fond of, Gotham Central.
    When I started reading Green Arrow, Oliver had a Van Dyke goatee, so my heart lightened when I saw him bearded once again. Unfortunately I think that he will be drawn as a bearded man only in this flashback issue.
    Also, Before Watchmen Nite Owl was an AMAZING read. A 5 stars miniseries, that’s for sure. I do suggest you to read it too.

    • “I strongly hope that the upcoming Gotham City tv series you mentioned in your post will lead to the resurrection of an old DC series I’m deeply fond of, Gotham Central.”
      I think that is a very, very strong possibility. So strong I’d be willing to place a bet.

      “Unfortunately I think that he will be drawn as a bearded man only in this flashback issue.”
      Alas, DC prefers the clean shaven Oliver…

      “Also, Before Watchmen Nite Owl was an AMAZING read. A 5 stars miniseries, that’s for sure. I do suggest you to read it too.”
      Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Captain Marvel!

    Also Iron Man and Mighty Avengers.

    But mostly Captain Marvel. Oh man. Kit! I love Kit. I’m sad that this is going to be the last issue until March. That’s a long time to wait.

    My main concern with Amazing is that I have hated Wolverine and the X-Men so, so much. I honestly don’t think I can give Amazing a fair chance. As for it being another X-title, well, it’s replacing Astonishing, so it’s not taking up any new slots. It’s just that Astonishing has been so middling for so long that it’s easy to forget it was still coming out.

    • “Oh man. Kit! I love Kit.”
      Who is this Kit that you speak of? And why is she so awesome?

      “As for it being another X-title, well, it’s replacing Astonishing, so it’s not taking up any new slots. It’s just that Astonishing has been so middling for so long that it’s easy to forget it was still coming out.”
      Oh you are right. Completely slipped my mind.

  3. Great post! I’m looking forward to Superman Unchained 4 and the Batman tie-in this week. I’ve been looking for a good Marvel title. I tried Wolverine’s first four issues but I lost interest. Can you recommend a good series?

    • I would personally recommend Matt Fraction’s Hawkeye and The Superior Foes of Spider-Man. Love them both along with Waid’s Daredevil, though his run is sadly ending pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

