Between The Continuity – Week 45: Year 2 Is Here!

tinytitanscontinuity

Year 2. It is something I never imagined I’d ever get to as I honestly didn’t know how this blogging experiment would turn out or how long it would keep my interest. I’m happy to say that I’m not going anywhere as I find the activity a really nice stress reliever and I enjoy immensely all the feedback and comments. So…what is Year 2 going to bring you ask? If I could sum it up with one word: growth. I plan to grow the audience, to grow the number of features, and possibly grow the team involved on this site which currently sits at just myself. Along with all of that I plan to grow personally and finally pursue two lifelong goals of mine: open a comic store of my very own and secure an artist to try to make a run at a career in the wonderful world of comics.

Some of this growth may take longer than others but it all starts with taking one small step after another. So what’s the first step? This week is all about returning things to normal after the one month celebration played havoc with the schedule. On the itinerary is bringing back the Comic Connection (including an updated Blogs You Should Follow List) and catching up on #Trending (where I’ll list all the past month’s hottest news before returning to weekly installments). Then comes next week when I’ll post the slightly tweaked schedule including what day the second Retroactive feature will be on… Yes, you read that right: two Retroactive features every week!

I was thinking last Friday that Detective Comics was coming to a close in the coming months and that its replacement was always going to be Batman. Then I thought that means its going to be years before I ever get to a DC character other than Batman and thusly I made the decision to start a second Retroactive feature to remedy that situation. This will also help with this site’s growth (there’s that word again) as Retroactive is The Speech Bubble’s most popular weekly feature. So, who are the lucky DC and Marvel series that will be featured? There is one DC character that stands just behind Batman as my favourite and that individual is potentially getting his own TV Show next year. Yes, it is none other than the Fastest Man Alive…the Flash! As for Marvel, they just celebrated a big anniversary and next year they are going to see the release of a huge blockbuster movie. For the first time ever, I’m going to feature a team when I highlight…the Uncanny X-Men! Look for the new second Retroactive to debut next week!

And with that, I just want to wish everyone a stellar rest of the week. Until next time…Happy Reading!

– GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
“Justice Strikes, Avenging Pays Off, & Off The Shelf Successes” – The Top 5 & Comic Book Rankings: 10/24/13-10/30/13
Retroactive: Detective Comics 1993 & Daredevil 1968
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/06/13
Relationship Issues, Team Dynamics, & Date Night: Comic Book Covers of the Week 10/30/13
“Damian Returns, Infinitely Awesome, & Ghost Sightings” – The Top 5 & Comic Book Rankings: 10/31/13-11/06/13

9 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Week 45: Year 2 Is Here!

  1. Two Retroactive features every week? That’s sooo cool! It was a true pain to wait an entire week between one Retroactive post and the following one.
    Also, I leafed through the first 3 issues of Cable and X – Force, and I decided not to add this series to my pull list, because, despite being a big fan of Cable. none of those 3 issues particularly intrigued me.
    Now that Cable and X – Force has been discarded and 3 series I regularly buy (Katana, Vibe and Daredevil: Dark Nights) are about to close, my pull list merely consists of:

    Green Arrow
    Hawkeye
    Punisher (starting next year)
    Witchblade
    X

    I also buy these comics in the italian edition:

    Animal Man, Swamp Thing and the Phantom Stranger (bundled up in a comic book called “Dark Universe”)
    Batman, Detective Comics and Nightwing (bundled up in a comic book called simply “Batman”)
    Daredevil and Thunderbolts (bundled up in a comic book called “Devil”, because that’s how we name Daredevil here in Italy)
    Thor and Young Avengers (bundled up in a comic book called simply “Thor”)

    Sooner or later I’ll probably read the italian issues of Venom too. I stopped buying and reading them after you told me that Betty Brant wasn’t featured in it anymore, but I want to catch up as soon as my budget allows me to do it.

    • “Two Retroactive features every week? That’s sooo cool!”
      Glad to see you’re excited. 🙂

      “Also, I leafed through the first 3 issues of Cable and X – Force, and I decided not to add this series to my pull list, because, despite being a big fan of Cable. none of those 3 issues particularly intrigued me.”
      Good to know. I picked up the first issue when it came out and was not impressed either. Never picked-up any issues after that so your comments only reaffirm my decision. Too bad, though its companion Marvel Now title, Uncanny X-Force, wasn’t any better either.

      “My pull list merely consists of: Green Arrow, Hawkeye, Punisher, Witchblade, & X”
      Quality over quantity for wwayne, that’s for sure.

      “Animal Man, Swamp Thing and the Phantom Stranger (bundled up in a comic book called “Dark Universe”)”
      Called Dark Universe but no Justice League Dark? Huh…

      “Batman, Detective Comics and Nightwing (bundled up in a comic book called simply “Batman”)”
      Understandable name since everyone knows Batman sells!

      “Thor and Young Avengers (bundled up in a comic book called simply “Thor”)”
      Strange combo, that’s for sure.

      “Daredevil and Thunderbolts (bundled up in a comic book called “Devil”, because that’s how we name Daredevil here in Italy)”
      I see Marvel only groups 2 series while DC does three. Are the collections relatively similar in price to one another?

      “I stopped buying and reading them after you told me that Betty Brant wasn’t featured in it anymore, but I want to catch up as soon as my budget allows me to do it.”
      She never did pop back up and now the series is over. Where will she show up next I wonder? Maybe Superior Spider-Man when Venom guest-stars in it?

      • “Called Dark Universe but no Justice League Dark? Huh…” Justice League Dark is published twice a year, and directly in a TP size.
        “Strange combo, that’s for sure.” I agree. I don’t even read the Thor stories, because they look like pure boredom to me. Probably the italian branch of Marvel Comics decided to put Young Avengers together with Thor because Kid Loki is featured in it.
        “I see Marvel only groups 2 series while DC does three. Are the collections relatively similar in price to one another?” You must pay 3,50 € to get an issue collecting 3 DC stories, and 3,50 € as well to get an issue collecting 2 Marvel stories + a fill – in or two: for example, the latest issue of Thor contained a Thor story, a Young Avengers story and 2 short stories starring Lady Sif as the leading character.
        “Maybe Superior Spider-Man when Venom guest-stars in it?” I strongly hope so! Thank you for your replies! : )

        • “Probably the italian branch of Marvel Comics decided to put Young Avengers together with Thor because Kid Loki is featured in it.”
          Of course! I slapped myself on the forehead that I didn’t connect the dots. Silly, silly me.

          Also, thanks for elaborating about the pricing and the JLD. I’m always fascinated about how things are done in your slice of the world. 🙂

  2. Wow, this sounds so exciting, looking forward to what you have planned for year 2! It sounds awesome! Double Wow!! A new retroactive feature, so happy it will feature The Flash and The Uncanny X-Men!! I love these characters, and as you know, I’m a big fan of the X-Men as well. Can’t wait! Have a great week and a brilliant new comic book day!

    • Happy to hear that you are excited for the announcement. I thought you may have liked the selections. 🙂

      “Have a great week and a brilliant new comic book day!”
      And you as well my friend!

  3. P.S.: I forgot to include Superman/Wonder Woman in the list of the comics I buy in the U.S. edition. Since I regularly buy this series, Thunderbolts and Swamp Thing, Soule should send me a present for Christmas. : )

    • I’m waiting for the reveal that Soule actually cloned himself. Only explanation for the amount of titles he writes while practicing law as well. That or he’s superhuman! 🙂

Leave a Reply

