Retroactive: Detective Comics 1994 & Daredevil 1969

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1993 and Daredevil 1968. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1994detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1969daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1994 & Daredevil 1969

  1. I really like Daredevil # 51. Matt Murdock is walking on a tightrope: by doing that he might compromise his secret identity, because no one would believe that a normal blind man could do that. Why is he behaving in such a risky way? How did he get there? And how will he get out of trouble? Questions, questions, questions.
    Also, notice that Daredevil’s mask makes the windows of the skyscraper look like a crossword puzzle. It is a delightfully subtle way to underline the enigmatic nature of this cover.
    Special mention for Daredevil # 55. Why does Matt feel so guilty?
    As for Batman, I pick Detective Comics # 677, simply because my eyes shine each time I see Nightwing. : )

    • “Matt Murdock is walking on a tightrope: by doing that he might compromise his secret identity, because no one would believe that a normal blind man could do that. Why is he behaving in such a risky way? How did he get there? And how will he get out of trouble?”
      Not just that but upon closer inspection the tightrope is breaking apart.

      “Also, notice that Daredevil’s mask makes the windows of the skyscraper look like a crossword puzzle. It is a delightfully subtle way to underline the enigmatic nature of this cover.”
      You are right! Great catch there on that one.

      “Special mention for Daredevil # 55.”
      And for #54 which is my runner-up. I love the ghostly image of Daredevil standing next to the grave of Matthew Murdock. What?!

      As an aside, how ecstatic are you that Daredevil is getting a TV series? Albeit one that is only going to be on Netflix?

      “As for Batman, I pick Detective Comics # 677, simply because my eyes shine each time I see Nightwing.”
      And with rumors of Nightwing appearing in the Batman VS Superman movie, that must make you even happier! 🙂

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

      • “As an aside, how ecstatic are you that Daredevil is getting a TV series?” I didn’t know that! After reading your comment, I looked for some informations on Google, and I found out that a tv miniseries of Daredevil will be launched in 2015. I hope it will have so much success that Netflix will finance a second season.
        “And with rumors of Nightwing appearing in the Batman VS Superman movie, that must make you even happier!” I had read this a few hours before reading your comment. I hope Adam Driver won’t play Nightwing: his face is too ugly and dumb looking.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your reply and, most of all, for bringing me this marvellous news! : )

        • “I hope it will have so much success that Netflix will finance a second season.”
          Hell yes. The key component is finding just the right actor to portray Matt Murdock. I’m also really excited for the announcement of the Iron Fist show and the fact that all four shows will culminate in a crossover series called the Defenders. Its the Avengers formula but for the small screen and something that ABC should learn from if they’re going to do any more Marvel shows.

          “I hope Adam Driver won’t play Nightwing: his face is too ugly and dumb looking.”
          Again we are on the same page. I did a double-take when I saw his pic. That is not Nightwing! I cross my fingers that they see that… Please tell me you can see that Zack Snyder…

  2. Great choice of covers for this weeks Retroactive. I really like Detective Comics #678 as well, its a classic cover. For my choice though I would go for Detective #671 as I like how Batman is surrounded by Frankenstien, The Mummy, and The Wolf Man! Guess I’m still got Halloween on my mind, and I love the universal horror films as well, so this cover is a winner for me. Daredevil #53 is brilliant! I had a feeling we would both choose this one, with the giant image of DD holding the scales of justice, and it also hints to the flashback to Matthew Murdock’s early carrier as well, brilliant!

    • “For my choice though I would go for Detective #671 as I like how Batman is surrounded by Frankenstien, The Mummy, and The Wolf Man!”
      I very nearly selected this one as my selection for this year. A simply great visual that really gets your mind racing as well.

      “Daredevil #53 is brilliant!”
      Yeah you can say that again! Speaking of Daredevil, how happy are you that Daredevil is getting a TV series finally? Albeit one that is only going to be on Netflix…

  3. this year is a tough one for Detective because KnightQuest was such a weak storyline…gotta give it to #678 bc much like you say it’s the only one that makes me think “I have to know what happens in that issue.”

    I love Silver Age covers that highlight ridiculous villains, so both DD #58 (Stuntmaster) and #59 (The Torpedo) jump out at me.

    • “Gotta give it to #678 bc much like you say it’s the only one that makes me think “I have to know what happens in that issue.”
      Glad to see we are on the same page here.

      “I love Silver Age covers that highlight ridiculous villains, so both DD #58 (Stuntmaster) and #59 (The Torpedo) jump out at me.”
      I have to admit that I’d never even heard of these bad guys until I did the feature this week. Retroactive – broadening my horizons each and every time! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your selections!

Leave a Reply

