On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/13/13

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Avengers Arena #17
Avengers Arena #17

Creative Team

Dennis Hopeless and Kev Walker
Solicitation
“THE FINAL FIGHTS RAGE ON! Up on Murder World Island, it’s the surviving contestants in an all-out battle royale! Down in Arcade’s lair, it’s two other contestants vs. Arcade!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The end is near as we have reached the penultimate issue of this series. Say what you will about this entire series’ existence in the first place but my excitement levels are reaching max capacity as I eagerly await who lives, who dies, and the (hopefully) grand reveal that everyone I care about is somehow still alive and kicking anyways. Otherwise…
________________________________________________________

Batman #25
Batman #25
Creative Team
Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo
Solicitation

“BATMAN: ZERO YEAR reaches a new level as The Riddler sends Gotham City into total darkness! ‘Dark City’ begins in this issue that features an embossed cover. And the ZERO YEAR blackout spreads into other titles this month, affecting heroes across the DC Universe! This issue is also offered as a combo pack edition with a redemption code for a digital download of this issue.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
 The Riddler is my second favourite Bat-Villain ever and what Snyder has done with the character these last few months have made my admiration for him grow even more. You can’t go wrong with the tandem of Snyder and Capullo and I’m confident that this will be another epic issue after last issue’s double-sized masterpiece.
 ________________________________________________________

Batman: Li’l Gotham #8
Batman Lil Gotham #8
Creative Team
Dustin Nguyen
Solicitation
“It’s August, which means no holidays! But Alfred thinks Bruce could use a break, so he sends The Dark Knight on a strange and wonderful trip: a vacation! And while the Bat’s away, the villains come out to play, and the rest of the family has a hot time in Gotham City!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: this series is just plain fun! The premise of this latest chapter looks to produce even more charming results as the rest of the Bat-Family tries to make do with Batman’s absence. Hilarity will ensue along with some dosh garn cute art. This series is for the kid-at-heart of every Batman fan out there. 
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #5
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #5
Creative Team
Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“FOES! FOREVER! You can’t steal the head of Silvermane without severe repercussions – a lesson the Foes are about to learn the hard way! Don’t miss out on the next action-packed chapters of the sleeper hit of Superior Spider-Month!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
If you are a fan of amazing comics then you owe it to yourself to be reading this series. This issue sees our ragtag bunch of villains put into motion their heist to capture the head of Silvermane but knowing them things are not going to go off without a hitch. Also, I can’t wait to see how they resolve that cliff-hanger involving Shocker. Intrigued yet?
________________________________________________________

Superman/Wonder Woman #2
Superman Wonder Woman #2
Creative Team

Charles Soule amd Tony S. Daniel
Solicitation
“Whom the gods destroy, first they piss off! Seeking help against Doomsday, Diana turns to her brother Hephaestus for weapons-but a more immediate threat is Apollo and the other gods. They do not approve of Superman as a consort to Diana, and he will have to prove himself in combat!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The first issue was gorgeous albeit light on story. I hope and pray that this follow-up is more of the same in the art department and much improved in the story. Its my uncertainty about this series that actually sees it nab the final spot but with Superman interacting with Diana’s “extended family” I’m sure that great moments are to be plentiful within its pages.
  ________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
All-New X-Men #18
Batgirl #25
Coffin Hill #2
Deadpool #19
Federal Bureau of Physics #5
Fearless Defenders #11
Forever Evil: Arkham War #2
Green Lantern Corps #25
Justice League of America #9
Nightwing #25
Rocket Girl #2
The Rocketeer/Spirit: Pulp Friction #3
Smallville Season 11 #19
Suicide Squad #25
Superior Spider-Man #21
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 11/13/13 goes to….
Batman #25
Batman #25
Riddle me this: why is this series like Christmas? Answer: every time I open an issue up its like unwrapping a present on Christmas morning!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (10 Issues), Marvel (6 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/13/13

  1. I’ve got All-New X-Men, Fearless Defenders, and I think I’ll pick up Marvel Knights X-Men. And My Little Pony, obviously. And actually, I might pick up X-Men Gold. Depends on how big it is. It’s $6, so if it’s twice the size of a normal comic, that’s not a bad deal. That’s something I’ll figure out when I get to the store.

    • I’m approaching all the Marvel Knights titles as potential Off The Shelf purchases. So far I was one for one with Spidey and I’m fairly confident that the X-Men title is going to be x-cellent as well. As for X-Men Gold…I’ll give it a flip and see if the content/story is worth the price of admission. Thanks for sharing your list!

Leave a Reply

