Retroactive: The Flash 1962 & Uncanny X-Men 1966

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1961 and Uncanny X-Men 1965. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1962flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1966uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1962 & Uncanny X-Men 1966

  1. I select UXM # 23. First of all, there’s a tagline that really talks to my heart: “Action lovers! This one’s for you!”
    After reading the tagline, I looked under the main title, and I noticed an eye widening fight scene. The X – Men are so overwhelmed by the adrenaline pumping fight they’re having that they strike their enemies in a potentially deadly way: for example, Beast is throwing a huge stone, and Iceman is launching a big piece of ice too. Both these weapons could easily kill their villains.
    The only X – Man still in controlf of himself is Angel, because he’s trying to stop the stone thrown by Beast.
    You’re shocked because of the X – Men being so out of control, but you’re also curious, because you want to know what made them become so raging. A really intriguing and effective cover.
    As for the Flash, you know how much I love whodunit plots, so I pick issue # 130.

    • “You’re shocked because of the X – Men being so out of control, but you’re also curious, because you want to know what made them become so raging. A really intriguing and effective cover.”
      Exactly. It looks like the X-Men are in for the fight of their lives against…I really don’t know who they are against. Those have to be the most oddly dressed and varied group of unfamiliar villains I have ever seen. But they must be really dangerous since the X-Men are holding nothing back.

      “As for the Flash, you know how much I love whodunit plots, so I pick issue # 130.”
      This cover and #133 were my runner-ups. Like you said, I love the “whodunit” concept of #130 and I love #133’s zaniness. “I’ve got the strangest feeling that I’ve been turned into a puppet”? How exactly would you know that Barry Allen? How would you know what that feels like? 🙂 Makes for a terrific image though!

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

  2. It’s X-Men 16 all the way for me, although #17 is a very bold and unusual design. There seems to be a real drop in quality after #17 both in villains and artwork.the first year and a half had been a spectacular success for the book with Magneto, the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants, the Juggernaut and the Sentinels so I suppose it was impossible to maintain the quality.
    I was intrigued to see the word ‘novel’ used on the cover to Flash 131, years before the idea of the graphic novel came into common usage.

    • “It’s X-Men 16 all the way for me, although #17 is a very bold and unusual design.”
      You and Paul Bowler are in agreement with this one.

      “There seems to be a real drop in quality after #17 both in villains and artwork.the first year and a half had been a spectacular success for the book with Magneto, the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants, the Juggernaut and the Sentinels so I suppose it was impossible to maintain the quality.”
      Yeah there are definitely some strange and unknown villains that pop up as the year goes on. They must not of been very popular either…

      “I was intrigued to see the word ‘novel’ used on the cover to Flash 131, years before the idea of the graphic novel came into common usage.”
      Oh I didn’t catch that the first time around. Good eye!

      Also, thanks for taking the time to list your favourites. Much appreciated!

  3. Awesome choice of covers for the week! I really like The Flash #128 as well, its such an unusual cover, as Flash fades and his costume crumples empty, its very mysterious and strange. X-Men #16 is my fave cover this time, with the giant Sentinel on the cover, with t X-Men so tiny next to it, a classic issue!

    • “X-Men #16 is my fave cover this time, with the giant Sentinel on the cover, with the X-Men so tiny next to it, a classic issue!”
      A great image for sure. The Sentinel looks like its going to reach off the cover and throttle the reader while we also get a real sense of scale, at just how insurmountable this foe could be for our team of young heroes. My runner-up would have to go to #20 though. The top portion has the X-Men fighting…the X-Men? No, that’s not right. Is that the Blob and Unus the Untouchable dressed as the X-Men? As if that wasn’t interesting enough the bottom image promises the revelation of how Prof X lost the use of his legs? I would have snatched this issue up immediately…if I was alive in 1966 that is. 🙂

      Thank you as well for sharing your choices!

Leave a Reply

