Retroactive: The Flash 1963 & Uncanny X-Men 1967

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1962 and Uncanny X-Men 1966. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1963flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1967uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

17 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1963 & Uncanny X-Men 1967

  1. Many centuries ago, an italian artist named Antonio Del Pollaiolo created a sculpture and a painting focused on the fight between Hercules and Antaeus. Both these works of art showed Hercules defeating his enemy by crushing him in a bear hug. These works of art are so impressive and so full of energy that they became iconic and received a lot of tributes, even in comics (http://ilovecomiccovers.blogspot.it/2013/04/homage-hercules-and-anataeus.html). UXM # 38 reminded me of those marvellous works of art, so I decided to give it the gold medal.
    The cover you chose got very close to the first prize. Not only because it reminds me of a novel I deeply love (“Under the Dome” by Stephen King), but also because, as you pointed out, it raises a lot of questions, and this is a purpose a cover should always achieve.
    As for the Flash, I pick issue # 141. You know how fond I am of detective stories, so the tagline challenging me to solve the mistery of Flash’s third identity instantly won me over.

    • “These works of art are so impressive and so full of energy that they became iconic and received a lot of tributes, even in comics. UXM # 38 reminded me of those marvellous works of art, so I decided to give it the gold medal.”
      Wow! I never would have drawn the connection. Thanks for sharing the link of that awesome Daredevil cover and for providing me with the background. Simply fascinating. I say a day is never done until you have at least learned one thing and you have helped me meet that requirement. My runner-up would have to be #39. New thrills! New costumes! And what is this about a Fateful Finale? Regardless it is the first appearance of that classic Cyclops costume as well so that is a positive right there.

      “As for the Flash, I pick issue # 141.”
      This was my runner-up for sure. Intriguing and mysterious. Whatever could the Flash’s secret be? And why does the Top know it? I had a feeling this would be your #1 pick!

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections.

  2. What a great year for the Flash! Who was the artist here? It’s amazing. It’s clearly an influence on Brian Bolland. I love them all.
    It was another poor year for the X-Men though. The Dome is the best of a bad bunch. How long do we have to wait for Neal Adams to make an appearance?

    • “Who was the artist here?”
      It is none other than the legendary Carmine Infantino.

      “How long do we have to wait for Neal Adams to make an appearance?”
      Just one more edition and then it is 1969 and the arrival of Mr. Adams.

      • I had no idea Infantino was so talented! Funnily enough, I had always assumed that DC comics had quite childish art back in the 1950s and 1960s so it’s been great to see how good the artwork really was.

  3. Yes, I picked Flash #139 as well, classic issue with the first appearance of the Reverse Flash. Brilliant issue, great story about how you got this issue as well. There were some great X-Men covers, but the one that stood out for me was X-Men #28 with Banshee screeching as he attacks the X-Men. I like the bright red background and the way the sound waves move out towards the X-Men. Simple, yet very striking cover.

    • “Yes, I picked Flash #139 as well, classic issue with the first appearance of the Reverse Flash.”
      I eagerly await the character’s debut in the Flash TV show. October is going to be such a long wait…

      “There were some great X-Men covers, but the one that stood out for me was X-Men #28 with Banshee screeching as he attacks the X-Men.”
      And this was my third runner-up for the exact reasons you listed.

      Thanks for sharing your choices! 🙂

Leave a Reply

