Between The Continuity – Week 50: Cutting The Pull-List

tinytitanscontinuity

As 2013 ratchets to a close, I can’t help but look ahead at 2014 and to all the new comic series that are coming to us from Marvel and DC. There are so many titles that I’m looking forward to that I just can’t decide what to pick up and what to pass on. What I can do however, is take a hard look at my pull-list in its current incarnation and make some much-needed cuts to make room for the new arrivals. Their exits will be immediate and their absence on the Rankings will take place in the next edition. So which series did I decide to give the old heave-ho and why?

DC
Justice League Dark – This title is going to be caught-up in an 18 Part crossover with three other titles that I have no interest in. Perhaps I’ll bring it back to my pull-list when that is over.
Red Hood and the Outlaws – The current direction of this book is just not doing it for me and with a new writer on the horizon I thought now was the perfect time to abandon ship.
Batman ’66 – A Digital First title with a $3.99 price tag that is not essential compared to other titles.
Adventures of Superman – Ditto.
Batman: The Dark Knight – My lowest ranked Batman title. It has moments of brilliance but some of its storylines drag on for far too long. Looking at future solicitations, none of the upcoming arcs interest me.
Damian: Son of Batman – This mini has been a disappoint for me and I don’t feel like spending the $3.99 price tag to see it to its conclusion.
Teen Titans – My second worst DC title I read gets the axe. Maybe if a new writer comes on board I’ll give it another shot.
Superman Unchained – The worst DC title that I have on my pull-list is a no brainer drop.
That reduces my pull-list from 39 to 31, albeit 3 of the 31 are mini-series which will be ending in the next few months.

Marvel
Indestructible Hulk – This series has multiple problems: the ever-changing art team and the constant catering to the latest event. Not even Waid can save this title from execution any longer.
Mighty Avengers – I already have too many Avengers books and this one has my least favourite cast.
Secret Avengers – My lowest Ranked non-mini Marvel title.
That reduces my pull-list from 24 to 21, albeit 7 of the 21 will be ending in the next few months.

Independents
Mudman – This series hasn’t had an issue see release since August so I’m dropping it from the Rankings until it gets back on track.
Danger Club – Same except this one hasn’t seen an issue since April.
That reduces my pull-list from 23 to 21, albeit 8 of the 21 will be ending in the next few months.

So the end result is me waving goodbye to 13 series. Think I should have saved any of them from execution? Let me know in the comments below. Otherwise, until next time…Happy Reading!

– GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: Detective Comics 1998 & Daredevil 1973
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 12/11/13
Retroactive: The Flash 1963 & Uncanny X-Men 1967

12 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Week 50: Cutting The Pull-List

  1. Yes, I’ve been thinking of cutting back the pull list as well, especially JLA Dark because of the crossover. I don’t normally follow things like that either, although I made an exception for Battle of the Atom this year, which I did enjoy a lot. I like my stories contained, and just can’t afford to get other titles in a crossover event.

    Superboy and Indestructible Hulk have all been very poor, so they will be going soon as well.

    Lots of great books for 2014 so will be nice to shake things up a bit and try some new titles and cut out the ones that are no longer up to scratch.

    • “I don’t normally follow things like that either, although I made an exception for Battle of the Atom this year, which I did enjoy a lot.”
      That was a great crossover and it didn’t affect me since I already picked up all the series involved. It also helped that it grabbed me from the get-go. The start of JLD’s one however left me severely wanting…

      “Lots of great books for 2014 so will be nice to shake things up a bit and try some new titles and cut out the ones that are no longer up to scratch.”
      Too many great titles, not enough money to buy them all. 🙂

      • Yes, I collect the X-Men Books and Bat-Books so those are the only crossover events I tend to follow. Yes, lots of great comics for 2014, wish I could afford more as well 😀

  2. I agree with you on Superman Unchained. It had a lot of potential in the first few issues, but the story and the pace of it I just find to be slow and not interesting now. I’ve been thinking of picking up a Marvel title since I don’t have one on my pull list. Maybe possibly Captain America and/or Spider-Man. For Indies, I’m thinking of picking up Saga. I hear that’s a real good series.

    • “I agree with you on Superman Unchained.”
      Snyder + Jim Lee should have been awesome. That my expectations were so high made this series all the more disappointing. What a long and drawn-out first arc that has accomplished so little…

      “I’ve been thinking of picking up a Marvel title since I don’t have one on my pull list.”
      Superior Spider-Man, Hawkeye, Daredevil, the Superior Foes of Spider-Man…I could go on and on. Between Cap and Spidey, I’d definitely go with Spidey though.

    • If you want to start reading a Marvel title, I think that trying Hawkeye is the best choice you could make. Daredevil is a great comic book as well.
      I think that the upcoming Punisher series will be very good too. Not only because the main character is awesome, but also because the writer is Nathan Edmonson, who proved himself to be very skilled in creating action packed comics.

  3. As you know, I hate crossovers, so I’m quite disappointed that a title I read (The Phantom Stranger) is involved in the upcoming Trinity War event.
    The Phantom Stranger is not the best DC series, it will never get glowing reviews and it will never make huge numbers in the sales chart, but it constantly is a very, very nice read.
    I also find it very relaxing, because it has an easy plot, so you don’t have to rack your brains to understand what’s going on (as I had to do a few days ago, when I read the beautiful but very complicated miniseries called Catwoman: When in Rome).
    I’m not surprised that you decided to cut Teen Titans, because I read innumerous disappointed reviews about that title. One of them stated that “if you purchased Teen Titans #25 and cut each page into its constituent individual panels– then mixed them up and put them back together in random bunches… You’d probably get a more coherent narrative than the one I read.”
    What makes Superman Unchained and Damian: Son of Batman so bad that you decided to drop them?

    • “As you know, I hate crossovers, so I’m quite disappointed that a title I read (The Phantom Stranger) is involved in the upcoming Trinity War event.”
      So what are you going to do? Drop the title or keep it going hoping that they do a good job of summarizing? It is 18 Parts after all…

      “One of them stated that “if you purchased Teen Titans #25 and cut each page into its constituent individual panels– then mixed them up and put them back together in random bunches… You’d probably get a more coherent narrative than the one I read.””
      So, so true. Teen Titans’ current incarnation pales in comparison to the series pre-New 52.

      “What makes Superman Unchained and Damian: Son of Batman so bad that you decided to drop them?”
      Superman Unchained goes pretty much nowhere every issue and I could care less for the new character of the Wraith. Add that along with a $3.99 price point and I have had enough. Damian: Son of Batman on the other hand, doesn’t quite nail the characterization of Damian for me and I can’t justify spending $3.99 on a book that I’m disappointed in. Maybe I’ll pick up the remaining issues if they go on a good sale at my LCS.

      • “So what are you going to do? Drop the title or keep it going hoping that they do a good job of summarizing?” I’m too fond of The Phantom Stranger to stop reading it.
        I hope I’ll be able to follow its plot even without reading the other titles, as it happened when Witchblade was involved in a 4 parts crossover a few months ago.

  4. I tend to slowly catch up on trades so I’m usually out of the loop with current issues. But yeah, it sounds like a good plan to drop titles you’re no longer enjoying and save some money for other titles. After reading Batman: The Dark Knight vol 1, my first impression is that it’s very formulaic with little substance. I personally enjoyed Teen Titan vol 1 but vol 2 was disappointing, the only redeeming story is finding out about how Wonder girl or whatever she likes to be called got her powers/bracelet.

    • “After reading Batman: The Dark Knight vol 1, my first impression is that it’s very formulaic with little substance.”
      The first volume was the worst of the series with the best arc being the one with Scarecrow. The main problem I find with this series that focusses on the villains is that the arcs run on just an issue or two too long with the Mad Hatter one feeling like it went on forever and ever. If it had been say 3 issues it would have been fantastic but by the end I was completely bored and wishing it would just end already.

      “The only redeeming story is finding out about how Wonder girl or whatever she likes to be called got her powers/bracelet.”
      I agree. It wavers in quality with me more often than not disappointed with the end result. I like the characters involved just not the stories that they partake in.

Leave a Reply

