Retroactive: Detective Comics 1999 & Daredevil 1974

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1998 and Daredevil 1973. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 1999detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1974daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 1999 & Daredevil 1974

  1. I really like Daredevil # 110.
    First of all, the writer took an old cliché (secret identity being blown up) and used it in a very unusual way: instead of revealing the secret identity of a superhero, this issue reveals the secret identity of a villain. I love writers who manage to give a personal touch to a narrative choice which has already been used innumerous times.
    I also love the way this unusual move has been announced: the tagline “Who is the mysterious villain they call… the Master?” is very intriguing.
    Secondly, the cover shows one of the most typical situations of superhero comics: a “1 vs 100” fight. Each time a single superhero must face a crowd of enemies, a brilliant deus ex machina is needed… and I, being a huge fan of unexpected stage tricks, always hope to find a deus ex machina when I read a superhero comic book.
    Thirdly, I love the fact that the cover artist used the same colours both for the superhero and the villain. It is a delightfully subtle way to underline that, even if one of them is a hero and the other one is a villain, they are more similar than you could think: both of them have an objective to achieve, a secret identity to protect, an enemy to defeat and so on.
    As for Batman, I pick Detective Comics # 738. Bane and Batman are walking together as if they had become allies: this image is so eye widening and question raising that it instantly catches your attention, so it is very effective. I could give it the gold medal for this reason alone.
    But there are lots of other marvellous details that won me over: muscles, giant guns, explosions… this cover shows all the elements an action packed comic book should have, so I instantly fell in love with it.
    When I decide to give the gold medal to a cover, I ask myself: “If you had seen it in a LCS, would you have noticed it amongst a sea of other comic books?”, or “If you had seen it in a LCS, would you have put your hand in your pocket hoping to find the money needed to buy it?”
    Sometimes the answer is “No, but I couldn’t find a better cover.” In this case, the answer is YES!!!

    • “I love the fact that the cover artist used the same colours both for the superhero and the villain. It is a delightfully subtle way to underline that, even if one of them is a hero and the other one is a villain, they are more similar than you could think: both of them have an objective to achieve, a secret identity to protect, an enemy to defeat and so on.”
      Well put. It is always a joy to read your analysis of why you chose what you chose. Daredevil #110 is a great kinetic cover that has a twist on the whole “secret identity exposed” angle but for me my runner-up would have to go with a more traditional approach: Matt Murdock risking his secret identity by engaging in battle with a giant monster. Hopefully no one is around to witness it…

      “As for Batman, I pick Detective Comics # 738.”
      I agree wholeheartedly with your choice. This was my personal runner-up and I had a tough time deciding between this one and my ultimate decision. I love that shot of the two of them walking away from an explosion, very similar to a scene you would find in countless movies. I did the aforementioned double take when I saw it, not believing my eyes that the man who broke the Bat and the Dark Knight were actually aligned and I would have answered yes to both of your questions!

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections.

  2. Great choice for covers in this retroactive, love the cover for Detective #739 as well, with Two Face confronting Harvey Dent, and with Commissioner Gordon kneeling between them with Batman looming in the back ground, almost makes me think this cover looks a bit like the scales of justice. I really like the cover of Daredevil #113 with Gladiator about to strike a dazed Man without Fear, as he struggles to use his radar sense. A brilliant cover!

    • “Almost makes me think this cover looks a bit like the scales of justice.”
      Oh, nice catch!

      “I really like the cover of Daredevil #113 with Gladiator about to strike a dazed Man without Fear, as he struggles to use his radar sense.”
      It seems that if a cover has the Gladiator on it then that cover has a strong chance of being chosen by Paul Bowler as #1! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your choices.

Leave a Reply

