Retroactive: The Flash 1964 & Uncanny X-Men 1968

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1963 and Uncanny X-Men 1967. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1964flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1968uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1964 & Uncanny X-Men 1968

  1. I really like X – Men # 50.
    A woman is put at the center of the cover, and her position suggests that she plays a key role in the issue.
    Her eyes are wide open and she has a haunted gaze, so you instantly think that she’s out of her mind… but then you notice her left arm, which she raises as if she could turn off the sun with a snap, and you realize that things could be less easy than it seems.
    When you look at her, you really don’t know what to think: is she out of her mind? Is she in control of herself? Is she good? Is she evil?
    The background is great too. Everything around her is burning, and you instantly think that she has a hand (probably the left one) in the matter, since the flames seem to come directly from her body (this is particularly evident if you look at her legs).
    You also wonder: “Why are the X – Men looking at her? Do they blame her for the explosion? Or are they looking at her because she’s the only one that could save the day?” Questions, questions, questions.
    As for the Flash, I pick issue # 146. Usually the Flash entirely relies on his speed to defeat his enemies: now that the Mirror Master deprived him of his superpower, he must devise a new tecnique of crime fighting.
    The author of this story made something a writer of superhero comics should always do, that is to say making the superhero save the day by using his brain and not just his physical gifts.
    P.S.: I just finished to read Hawkeye # 14, and there’s one thing I really can’t understand. Madame Masque clearly is a very wealthy woman, so why did she make Flynt Ward steal the orchids instead of just buying them?

    • “I really like X – Men # 50.”
      I came so close to choosing this as my #1 pick. I enjoyed reading your synopsis and you hit everything I was going to touch on. The only other notable moment on the cover was that it featured the debut of that now iconic logo. Simply great stuff. I’m sure I’ll look back on this week months down the line and say to myself: I should have chosen #50 but at the time I was writing this piece #46 just caught my imagination. #50 is in another league when you compare the artistic details though mixed with the excellent Kirby Krackle.

      “As for the Flash, I pick issue # 146”
      My runners-up would have to be #143 (two Hal Jordan Green Lanterns?) and #149 (Flash is revealing his identity on national TV?).

      “The author of this story made something a writer of superhero comics should always do, that is to say making the superhero save the day by using his brain and not just his physical gifts.”
      My thoughts exactly! 🙂

      “Madame Masque clearly is a very wealthy woman, so why did she make Flynt Ward steal the orchids instead of just buying them?”
      The last line of dialogue by her is: “The orchids were lovely. They are a lovely detail to my evening bath. I shall require more.” I took it that she didn’t seek them out originally, that Ward stole them to suck-up to her and he mentioned the idea of putting them in her bath which she loved afterwards. That’s my take on it.

      Thanks, as always, for offering your selections!

  2. Great choice of covers, I nearly picked the same. However, for the Flash I picked #143, with the Flash and Green Lantern on the cover, which I thought was really fun to see. For X-Men I decided on #50 with Polaris on the cover, one of my fave characters. I like how she is such a mystery in this issue, and the cover seems to glow green with her magnetic powers. Brilliant.

    • As I mentioned to wwayne, both of your choices are my personal runners-up. We were so close this week. That Polaris cover in particular is simply brilliant and I think months down the road I’ll look back and say I should have picked that one. It was so, so close!

      Thanks for sharing your choices!

Leave a Reply

