Retroactive: Detective Comics 2000 & Daredevil 1975

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 1999 and Daredevil 1974. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 2000detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1975daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

9 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 2000 & Daredevil 1975

  1. I really liked the cover of Detective #741 with the Joker lying in the snow and Batman standing over him, that was great, simple and very striking. I agree with you on Daredvil #121, brilliant cover, with DD fighting the Dreadanought, what na exciting cover!

    • So many great Batman covers. From #740, 741, 745, 747, 749, and 750. I just kept going back and forth and back again. Any one of these covers could easily of won any other year. Too bad for them that they all came out at once.

      Also, thanks for sharing your selections. It is much appreciated. 🙂

  2. I liked DD 122 best – a really nicely drawn and coloured cover. DD 125 is fascinating too. It really sets up the story. Is it my imagination or is DD 127 by John Byrne? It looks like his style.

  3. Daredevil # 124 shows one of the most typical situations of dark comics: a gunfight in a murky blind alley. Being a huge fan of dark comics, my heart lightened when I saw it.
    I was even more delighted when I realized that once again the Daredevil writer gave a personal touch to an old cliché. Instead of filling Daredevil with lead, the villain fills him with poison, since he’s using darts instead of bullets.
    Also, the thought bubble coming from Matt’s head points out that he must find an antidote in a few seconds, or he’ll die: this means that in a very short time Daredevil must find a way out from that blind alley AND getting an antidote somewhere. Even if you’re a smart and powerful superhero as Daredevil is, you need a big fat deus ex machina to save your life in a desperate situation like that… and, as you know, a cover foreshadowing a deus ex machina has a big chance to get the gold medal in my personal ranking.
    As for Batman, I pick Detective Comics # 740. A wonderful tribute to an iconic cover + big muscles + 2 wonderful characters like Bane and the Joker in the same issue… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    P.S.: At present I’m using the computer of my parents, because my new pc apparently died. It’s the second time in a very few months, and with 2 different computers. In this period it is very difficult to find a technician, so I’m afraid I will comment your posts less frequently during the Christmas holidays.
    P.P.S.: Yesterday I read Superman/Wonder Woman # 3, and I was shocked by its absolute perfection. This series really is an instant classic. In 2020 and 2030 we’ll look back to the 2013 issues of Superman/Wonder Woman and say: “I can’t believe how lucky I was to read such a beautiful series each month.”

    • “I was even more delighted when I realized that once again the Daredevil writer gave a personal touch to an old cliché. Instead of filling Daredevil with lead, the villain fills him with poison, since he’s using darts instead of bullets.”
      Not just Darts but “Darts of Doom” 🙂

      “Even if you’re a smart and powerful superhero as Daredevil is, you need a big fat deus ex machina to save your life in a desperate situation like that… and, as you know, a cover foreshadowing a deus ex machina has a big chance to get the gold medal in my personal ranking.”
      Well you are right. It definitely has me intrigued. For me my runner-up would have to go to another cover featuring the same villain: DD #125. “You wanted to learn who was buried in this grave, fool–and now you know…it’s you!” A great line, a fantastic setting, and an awesome scene unfolding before our very eyes.

      “As for Batman, I pick Detective Comics # 740.”
      I knew instantaneously that you’d pick this one. I love the added touch of the gun not saying BANG like you would expect but HELP. Really puts it over the top in a good way. There were so many awesome covers this year. My runner-up would have to go to #747. I love how the flowers slowly turn into bats, the use of shadows, and the overall design sense.

      “At present I’m using the computer of my parents, because my new pc apparently died.”
      Oh no! What awful luck… I’ve been having trouble this week not with my computer but with my internet connection. It just keeps dying unexpectantly. Hopefully your computer woes can be fixed posthaste.

      “In 2020 and 2030 we’ll look back to the 2013 issues of Superman/Wonder Woman and say: “I can’t believe how lucky I was to read such a beautiful series each month.”
      High praise indeed. I’m happy to hear you get so much joy from it.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

Leave a Reply

