On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/01/14

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Atomic Robo and the Savage Sword of Dr. Dinosaur #4
Atomic Robo Savage Sword Of Dr Dinosaur #4 (of 5)

Creative Team

Brian Clevinger and Scott Wegener
Solicitation
“Atomic Robo and his Action Scientists are trapped in Hollow Earth. If the magma, monsters, two different armies, Dr. Dinosaur, or his Time Bomb set to destroy the previous 65 million years don’t get them, then Majestic 12 will! ‘Cause those guys are invading Tesladyne Island. Don’t worry, there’s still one more issue for things to get worse.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
If that above solicitation doesn’t pique your interest, I don’t know what will.
________________________________________________________

The Flash #26
Flash #26
Creative Team
Christos N. Gage and Neil Googe
Solicitation

“In this special standalone story, The Flash loses someone important to him. To catch the villain responsible, The Flash must figure out how to use his powers in the one place where they do him little good: the sky!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
That cover partnered with the solicitation looks to present quite a dangerous situation the Flash has found himself in. What really has me intrigued though is the revelation that our hero has lost “someone important to him.” Who could that be? Did he track the killer to this flight? And how can the Flash hope to get himself out of this one? So many questions causes my anticipation levels to hit maximum levels.
 ________________________________________________________

Guardians of the Galaxy #10
Guardians of the Galaxy #10
Creative Team
Brian Michael Bendis and Kevin Maguire
Solicitation
“Angela and Gamora go hunting.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
After getting the shaft at DC, Maguire gets the chance to shine on a Marvel book. The promise of a Gamora-Angela team-up is something I’m highly looking forward to due to their tumultuous relationship so far and being backed by the talents of Maguire makes it just that much better. 
________________________________________________________

New Avengers #13
New Avengers #13
Creative Team
Jonathan Hickman and Simone Bianchi
Solicitation
“INHUMANITY TIE-IN! – ‘THE OTHER SIDE’ With the consequences of Infinity fresh on their minds, tough decisions are made.  The gathering of a new Illuminati. We learn more about the other beings related to the Incursions.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Learning more about the Incursions is welcome news indeed but this tease of a new Illuminati forming is truly something to behold. Who could this new group be? How will they get along with the old one? Why did they form? One thing for certain: this issue should be quite…illuminating. Sorry. I couldn’t help myself.
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #7
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #7
Creative Team
Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“The Sleeper hit of the year continues! Can’t do the time? Speed Demon shouldn’t have done the crime. Spencer, Lieber, Rosenberg, Caramagna, and a group of Foes on the brink!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Awesomeness. Excellence. Comedy. Unpredictability. Slice-of-life moments. All these words have one thing in common: it’s what you can expect every single time you open up an issue of this series. Need I really say anymore?
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Aquaman #26
Batwoman #26
Larfleeze #6
Red Lanterns #26
Rocket Girl #3
Superman #26
The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys #6
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 01/01/14 goes to….
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #7
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #7
This series is well on its way to be my favourite overall Marvel series they are producing today!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (6 Issues), Marvel (3 Issues), and Independent (3 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

3 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/01/14

  1. Huh. Apparently I don’t have anything this week, either. I might still take a walk down to grab something, if only because I need to pick up a new box to hold comics. I don’t know. See how I feel, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

