Retroactive: Detective Comics 2001 & Daredevil 1976

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 2000 and Daredevil 1975. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 2001detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1976daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 2001 & Daredevil 1976

  1. Great edition of Retroactive, love the cover to Detective #752 as well, great how it depicts Poison Ivy. Its also a very creepy version of the character as she is wearing a gas mask. Well, I have to go for Daredevil #133 its a really fun cover, its very exciting, and it’s got Uri Geller on it as well. I wonder if he bent any spoons in it?

    • I have to admit I had no clue who Uri Geller was but a quick trip to Google and all I have to say is: “what an odd and interesting choice.” Mind-Wave VS Daredevil with a special guest star who can bend spoons with his mind? Simply marvelous! 🙂

      Also, thanks for sharing your choices!

  2. Most of the Detective Comics covers published in 2001 don’t show the leading character. In most of them a supporting character is in the foreground and Batman isn’t even shown, or is just a little spot in the background. As you know, I love this artistic choice, so my eyes shone when I saw these covers.
    My favorite one is Detective Comics # 754. When you bump into a superhero comic book, you expect to see a fight scene between the leading character and a villain on the cover: well, Detective Comics # 754 totally disregards this unwritten law, because it doesn’t show either the leading character or the villain. The cover artist made something totally unexpected, that is to say portraying the less known characters of the Bat – world: Gotham’s cops.
    There are a lot of other reasons why this cover won me over: the amazing coloring, the detailed background, the noir movie atmosphere… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    As for Matt, the gold medal goes to Daredevil # 131. Not only it shows a clash between Matt and the awesome character named Bullseye, but also foreshadows some slice – of – life scenes concerning Daredevil’s private life, because the tagline announces “A startling new job for Matt Murdock!”
    Also, the man who wrote Daredevil in that period must be obsessed with darts, because even in the cover I selected for 1975 the villain attacked Daredevil with them. I enjoy the comic book much more if the villain uses more spectacular weapons (guns, submachine guns, bombs and so on)… but if the villain is an awesome character like Bullseye, I would buy the issue even if he attacked Daredevil with a custard pie. : )

    • “The cover artist made something totally unexpected, that is to say portraying the less known characters of the Bat – world: Gotham’s cops.”
      A really solid choice. I had a feeling you’d go for this one due to your affinity of the Gotham Central series. Speaking of that series, my LCS just recently had a sale and what did my eyes get drawn to? Why it was the complete TPB series of Gotham Central. I scooped up all four volumes due to your high praise. I can’t wait to tear into them…once I catch up on my weekly issues that is.

      “There are a lot of other reasons why this cover won me over: the amazing coloring, the detailed background, the noir movie atmosphere… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.”
      I’d award my runner-up prizes to #753 (that iconic Two-Face shadow consuming our hero) and #760 (I love the use of colouring for this Mad Hatter cover).

      “As for Matt, the gold medal goes to Daredevil # 131.”
      And this was my runner-up. The first appearance of legendary villain Bullseye is fantastic and dare I say it…hits the mark. 🙂

      “But if the villain is an awesome character like Bullseye, I would buy the issue even if he attacked Daredevil with a custard pie.”
      Ha ha! Nice line there wwayne.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

      • “I scooped up all four volumes due to your high praise.” You really couldn’t have made a better purchase. And I’m honored that you decided to make it because of my good word. I hope you’ll love them as much as I do.
        “Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your replies! : )

Leave a Reply

