Retroactive: Detective Comics 2002 & Daredevil 1977

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 2001 and Daredevil 1976. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 2002detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1977daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 2002 & Daredevil 1977

  1. I think that from an aesthetic point of view Detective Comics # 772 is by far the best Bat – cover of the year. The anatomy, the contrast between light and dark, the use of the various tones of red and black… everything in this cover is thought out and simply perfect.
    I like this image not only because of its huge esthetic value, but also because it raises a lot of questions. Who’s the lilliputian woman in the cage? Why did Batman trap her? Or is he trying to free her?
    As for Daredevil, you know how much I love cover artists that give us the illusion we’re part of the scene they depicted, so I agree with you that showing Daredevil through Bullseye’s eyes is a gold medal deserving artistic choice.
    I make a special mention for issue # 149: a muscular villain + a giant weapon + bricks flying all over + a meticulously drawn background… yes, if it wasn’t for Daredevil # 146 this image would have won the first prize with ease.

    • “Who’s the lilliputian woman in the cage? Why did Batman trap her? Or is he trying to free her?”
      Well put. It is a visually attractive image and I love that technique they used on his cape near the bottom of the cover. For me my runner-up would have to go to #764 though. Bruce and Vesper Fairchild caught in a loving embrace, our Dark Knight finally happy in his personal life. But what is this? A giant bat in the background is gnawing at a heart which could be symbolic that Bruce’s life as Batman is going to affect his budding romantic relationship in some way. It’s a powerful image that is unusual to see on a cover of Detective Comics.

      “I make a special mention for issue # 149: a muscular villain + a giant weapon + bricks flying all over + a meticulously drawn background… yes, if it wasn’t for Daredevil # 146 this image would have won the first prize with ease.”
      My runner-up would be #145. The giant image of the Owl leaning over the city and trying to grab our hero with a fantastic caption as well (Deadly is the Owl by night) seals the deal for me.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

  2. I really like the cover of Detective #765 as well, with the letters of the books title forming part of the city, and the last word being part of a sign on a building. Then we have Batman on the rooftop, swathed in shadows, and we can only see the bat emblem on his chest. Few covers are as bold and as inventive as this, I love it. I really like the cover of Daredevil ##146 with Daredevil wounded and facing Bullseye, with his image relayed on many TV screen in the background. This cover seems even more striking now, as we live in an age full of “reality TV”. Brilliant covers and another great instalment of retroactive.

  3. I like Detective comics #764. It may not be the most artistic and actually looks a bit cheesy but I like what I think it’s trying to represent with the bat eating away at the heart. Good breakdown of your picks and how you notice the details.

Leave a Reply

