On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/08/14

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

All-New X-Factor #1
All New X-Factor #1

Creative Team

Peter David and Carmine Di Giandomenico
Solicitation
“‘NOT BRAND X’ Part 1 X-FACTOR IS BACK . . . LIKE NEVER BEFORE! Serval Industries, one of the world’s most trusted names in electronics and leader in cutting-edge internet and weapons technology, has just unveiled their newest contribution to society… the All-New X-Factor. Led by mutant mistress of magnetism, Polaris, the team uses its corporate backing for the betterment of society. With her half-brother Quicksilver, notorious thief, Gambit, and more by her side, can Polaris trust that her corporate masters really have good intentions?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
NEW SERIES ALERT. If you were a fan of Peter David’s X-Factor run (like myself) then it is pretty much a no-brainer that you are going to pick this up. I’m interested to see what new direction he takes the team in despite the lack of Madrox and Layla (my favourite characters from the previous volume). Any time a new series starts up there is that looming question: “Will it be any good?” With Mr. David crafting the story I can almost 100% guarantee it will.
________________________________________________________

Detective Comics #27
Detective Comics #27 Combo Pack
Creative Team
Various
Solicitation

“DC Entertainment presents this mega-sized issue featuring an all-star roster of Batman creators past and present! Don’t miss a modern-day retelling of The Dark Knight’s origin by the incredible team of writer Brad Meltzer and artist Bryan Hitch! Plus, all-new stories by Scott Snyder and Sean Murphy, Peter J. Tomasi and Guillem March, Paul Dini and Dustin Nguyen, Gregg Hurwitz and Neal Adams and more! Also in this issue, John Layman and Jason Fabok kick off the new storyline “GOTHTOPIA”! It’s a bright, shiny, happy place where dreams come true . . . as long as you don’t look at things too closely.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
A celebratory issue that looks to honor my favourite DC character’s 75th Anniversary kicks off the Year of the Bat. Just look at that creator line-up above and tell me that doesn’t get you excited. I dare you!
 ________________________________________________________

Green Arrow #27
Green Arrow #27
Creative Team
Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino
Solicitation
“‘The Outsiders War’ part 2! Green Arrow fights for his life against the head of the Shield Clan, the deadly Kodiak! Plus, learn the tragic secret that turned Oliver Queen into Green Arrow!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Lemire and Sorrentino’s epic run continues with Part 2 of the Outsiders War. Being back on the Island is an enticing prospect but learning more about Oliver’s past is just as equally awesome. Going one on one with Kodiak is just the cherry on top of what should be a highly enjoyable affair.
________________________________________________________

Quantum & Woody #7
Quantum & Woody #7 (Regular Doyle Cover)
Creative Team
James Asmus and Ming Doyle
Solicitation
“So two superheroes, a clone, and a goat move into a junior two-bedroom. As a totally questionable romance blossoms between Woody and his runaway science experiment girlfriend, Eric finds himself quickly rising through the ranks of his new employers at Magnum Security. But when he comes to find that his duties as an on-staff superhero are bit more unsavory than he ever expected, it’s down to Quantum, an old army buddy, and Woody-interloper!-to discover the illicit truth behind Mr. Magnum’s all-seeing private security empire.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
At the end of last issue, things were not going right for our intrepid heroes…like they ever do. What do I expect with this issue? More comedy, more hijinks, and more cover-to-cover fun. It is fast becoming my #1 Independent Comic series and there is a mighty good reason why.
________________________________________________________

Young Avengers #15
Young Avengers #15
Creative Team
Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, and Others
Solicitation
“After the saving the world, there’s the after party. And after the party, it’s the hotel lobby. And around issue 15, we have to clear the lobby and then head to our rooms and do something jolly rude. MIC-DROP!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The end is here, the party is over, and our time together was all too short. It’s with a heavy heart that I bid this series goodbye and I can’t help but wonder what will fill its void on my pull-list. When Avengers Academy ended I asked that same question and got this series but I see no successor anywhere in sight. Farewell Young Avengers, you will not be forgotten anytime soon. I take solace in the fact that we at least get one more stellar issue to enjoy before it rides off into the sunset…
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #27
Avengers World #1
Batman/Superman #7
Deadpool #22
Earth 2 #19
The Federal Bureau of Physics #7
Five Ghosts #8
Forever Evil: Arkham War #4
Green Lantern #27
Infinity: Heist #4
Iron Man #20
Marvel Knights: Spider-Man #4
Morning Glories #36
Smallville Season 11: Alien #2
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 01/08/14 goes to….
Detective Comics #27
Detective Comics #27 Combo Pack
After this week I can finally proudly proclaim: I own Detective Comics #27…Volume 2 that is.
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (8 Issues), Marvel (7 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/08/14

  1. X-Factor, of course. And Young Avengers. Avengers AI, Iron Man, Revolutionary War Alpha (I read a lot of the old Marvel UK Death’s Head 2 series, and loved it). Possibly the Now .1 comic – I’m psyched for the new Ms. Marvel, and there’s a couple other stories that look good, but it’s a bit pricy, and I’ve got 5 books already. So unless the whole thing is awesome, I probably won’t end up buying that one.

    • “Possibly the Now .1 comic – I’m psyched for the new Ms. Marvel, and there’s a couple other stories that look good, but it’s a bit pricy, and I’ve got 5 books already. So unless the whole thing is awesome, I probably won’t end up buying that one.”
      I’m the same. I don’t know why they make these things so expensive if its whole point is to entice others to buy the respective series held within.

Leave a Reply

