Retroactive: The Flash 1967 & Uncanny X-Men 1975

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1966 and Uncanny X-Men 1970. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1967flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1975uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1967 & Uncanny X-Men 1975

  1. I really like The Flash # 170: a dark atmosphere, flames, guns, bullets flying all over… this is something I always wish to see in a superhero comic book (unless it’s a slice – of – life series like Superman/Wonder Woman), so selecting this cover was a no brainer choice for me.
    As for the X – Men, UXM # 95 shows a heated fight scene as well, so it got very close to the gold medal… but at the end I decided to pick Giant Size X – Men # 1, because I agree with you that it’s the most eye catching cover of the year.

    • “I really like The Flash # 170”
      What I really like is the fact that Flash passes by all this action and states: “Things sure are quiet in town tonight! Might as well turn in!” It grabs me right away as odd and makes me want to find out more. My runner-up would be #171. Everyone going about their business as the Flash lies dead in the street. That image of the little boy whistling as he casually walks right over top of our hero gets me every time.

      “But at the end I decided to pick Giant Size X – Men # 1, because I agree with you that it’s the most eye catching cover of the year.”
      It was so great a cover that they made a statue out of it too: http://colossuscollection.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/giant-size-x-men-cover-sculpture.jpg

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

  2. Awesome instalment of retroactive, so many great covers! I really like the cover of Flash #173 featuring Flash, Jay Garrick, and Kid Flash. Its really fun to see them all on one cover like this. As for the X-Men, well its gotta be Giant Sized X-Men #1 for me as well! This is one of my fave ever comics! I just love how the New X-Men are bursting through the cover with the Original X-Men fading in the background, and what a classic run of stories that followed! Brilliant!

    • “I really like the cover of Flash #173 featuring Flash, Jay Garrick, and Kid Flash.”
      Great choice. I actually own this very issue.

      “As for the X-Men, well its gotta be Giant Sized X-Men #1 for me as well!”
      You completely shocked me with your choices. 🙂 In all seriousness, this new era not only brings us better storylines but even better covers!

      Thanks for sharing your choice. It is much appreciated!

      • I bet it was a shock I chose Giant Sized X-Men #1 LOL! This was a brilliant era, one of my all time faves, and it what got me hooked on the X-Men comics. Wiow, great you have that issue of the Flash as well!

Leave a Reply

