Between The Continuity – Two Matters of Discussion (01/16/14)

Icon

In this Week’s edition of Between The Continuity, I want to address two things. The first area is that of Off The Shelf. Last time I mentioned that I’d be revealing the upcoming slate of Off The Shelf titles, a feature that I’m currently six editions and counting behind in. Without further ado here is the tentative slate:

Indestructible #1 (IDW Publishing)
Marvel Knights: Hulk #1 (Marvel)
The Midas Flesh #1 (BOOM Studios)
Dead Boy Detectives #1 (Vertigo)
Legenderry: A Steampunk Adventure #1 (Dynamite Entertainment)
Black Widow #1 (Marvel)

My goal starting next week is to release two Off The Shelf features every week until I’m back on track. That is the same goal that I have in mind with my Covers of The Week feature as well.

The second thing I want to discuss is scheduling. Last Sunday I failed to post a new feature which deeply saddened me. This event though has me refocused and also led me to the conclusion that the current schedule needs some tweaking. Since I have to work every Saturday and Sunday, there is less time on those two days for blogging compared to the rest and it always leaves me scrambling. What I’ve decided is to rearrange the features to better help alleviate my time crunch. This will help greatly in keeping a more consistent flow as well.

________________________________________________________
Previously On
#Trending In The World Of Comic Media: 01/01/14-01/08/14 (Superman/Batman Rumors, Days of Future Past, & Other News)
Retroactive: Detective Comics 2003 & Daredevil 1978
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/15/14
“Arrow Hits The Bullseye, Young Avengers Swan Song, & Quantum & Woody Continue To Impress” – The Top 5 & Comic Book Rankings: 01/08/14-01/14/14
Retroactive: The Flash 1968 & Uncanny X-Men 1976
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 01/08/14-01/14/14 (Three New Series From DC, An Amazing Return, & Other News)
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadAs discussed above, next time on Between The Continuity I’m going to reveal an all-new schedule. Some features will remain where they are, others will move to new days, some will change release format completely, and there just might be a new one lurking in the wings. Stay tuned next week for the grand reveal!
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

5 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Two Matters of Discussion (01/16/14)

  1. “Last Sunday I failed to post a new feature which deeply saddened me.” Don’t worry GothamRogue, there’s no need to be sad for such a small thing! We understand you’ve got plenty of things to do apart from blogging, so none of us will be angry with you or stop following you just because you take a day off.
    To change the subject, yesterday I gave a look to the Marvel solicitations for April 2014, and I found a lot of interesting new titles. I’m going to order the 1st issues of Nightcrawler, All – New Ultimates and Deadpool vs Carnage. The last series I mentioned seems to have been made for us: one of your favorite heroes vs one of my favorite villains. How could we pass over this miniseries? : )
    Now that I think about it, Deadpool and Carnage probably are the best comic book characters invented in the ’90s. Along with Grifter and the Marvel – lous character named Cable, of course.

    • “The last series I mentioned seems to have been made for us: one of your favorite heroes vs one of my favorite villains. How could we pass over this miniseries?”
      The simple answer is that we can’t! 🙂 It certainly is right up our alleys!

      “I’m going to order the 1st issues of Nightcrawler, All – New Ultimates and Deadpool vs Carnage.”
      April brings me Iron Fist, All-New Doop, & Deadpool Vs Carnage for new #1s. I may or may not try out Elektra, Nightcrawler, and Hulk as well. Marvel’s reliance on $3.99 books though is a little too much. Where have all the $2.99 books gone? As my LCS always says: no one heard of a $3.50 price point at least?

      • I think that even $ 2,99 is an excessive price for a comic book containing a single 20 pages long story. Here in Italy with a slightly bigger expense (3,50 €) you get a comic book containing 3 stories, being 60 pages long and made with a much better paper (italian publishers employ a kind of paper which is very thick and very similar to the glossy paper used for printing pictures).
        The other side of the coin is that American comics are printed in the italian edition with a few months delay. For example, Justice League of America, Katana and Vibe started being published in the italian edition with a 10 months delay. As you can see, there are pros and cons. Thank you for your replies! : )

Leave a Reply

