Retroactive: The Flash 1973 & Uncanny X-Men 1981

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1972 and Uncanny X-Men 1980. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1973flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1981uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1973 & Uncanny X-Men 1981

  1. It’s just a shame that Terry Austin loses out for his incredible cover for 142, one of my all-time favourites.
    As for the Flash, I just love these covers and I’ve never seen them before. They were obviously running out of ideas by the end of the year though. “Hey, the Flash is the fastest man alive! Well, what if we had the fastest man dead!”
    ‘Good grief’, as our hero might say as he inadvertently wrecks an entire city.

    • “It’s just a shame that Terry Austin loses out for his incredible cover for 142, one of my all-time favourites.”
      This cover was my runner-up. I couldn’t deny the awesomeness of 141 though.

      “They were obviously running out of ideas by the end of the year though. “Hey, the Flash is the fastest man alive! Well, what if we had the fastest man dead!””
      Yeah you’re right about that. Next thing you know there’ll be the slowest man alive… 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your choices! Much appreciated.

  2. As you know, I love covers that show unusual situations instead of the same old “superhero vs villain” image. That’s why I particularly like UXM # 151.
    The first thing we notice is the presence of a crying young girl in the foreground. This detail alone instantly catches our attention and builds an emotional connection between us and Kitty Pride.
    And then you give the cover a second look, and you notice a very intriguing tagline: “The day Kitty Pride leaves the X – Men, is the day the X – Men fall!” Why should Kitty’s goodbye have so serious consequences for the other X – Men? This tagline is another detail that would make you buy the issue alone.
    Also, notice that nobody is trying to make Kitty change her mind, and all of them are looking at her with perfectly impassive faces. Why don’t they feel sorry for her departure? Did she make something bad to them? Did Charles decide to throw her out of the academy because of this misterious crime? Or is she leaving of her own free will? Questions, questions, questions.
    The cover you chose comes pretty close in my personal ranking. I decided not to give it the first prize because it contains a lot of fake deaths, and, as you know, even a single fake death is enough to lose the gold medal in my personal ranking.
    As for the Flash, I pick issue # 222. Gotta love that 4th wall breaking SOS from Green Lantern! : )

    • “That’s why I particularly like UXM # 151.”
      Well summarized explanation my friend. A cover that pulls at your emotional heartstrings while giving you pause for thought. My runner-up would have to go to #142 though. The perfectly posed shot, the drama, and that tagline (Everyone Dies!) is simply too good to pass up.

      “As for the Flash, I pick issue # 222. Gotta love that 4th wall breaking SOS from Green Lantern!”
      This was my runner-up due to said 4th wall breaking and the burning question of why the Flash is wanting to kill everyone in the first place.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

  3. I really liked the cover of Flash #220 featuring Flash and Kid Flash, its really dramatic cover. I had to choose Uncanny X-Men #141 as well, the start of the Days of Future Past storyline. Actually, I was reading this very issue digitally this afternoon, cue Twilight Zone music!! LOL Fun installment of retroactive!

    • “I really liked the cover of Flash #220 featuring Flash and Kid Flash, its really dramatic cover.”
      A very puzzling one indeed! How in the world did these two heroes join together? Was Flash teaching Kid Flash how to vibrate his molecules? A super-villain attack? Your guess is as good as mine.

      “Actually, I was reading this very issue digitally this afternoon, cue Twilight Zone music!!”
      Now if you had also just watched the X-Men: Days of Future Past trailer as well we could of gone for the trifecta! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your choices!

Leave a Reply

