Retroactive: Detective Comics 2010 & Daredevil 1985

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 2009 and Daredevil 1984. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 2010detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1985daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

9 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 2010 & Daredevil 1985

  1. I really like Detective Comics # 866.
    Batman is holding his mantle in his hands, and he’s using it as a sort of parachute while he’s jumping from one building to another.
    The inner side of the mantle shows a very old image of him passing by that very same building with a young Dick Grayson next to him. It’s a very creative means to say that he’s thinking about the days during which he used to roam that street with his very first sidekick.
    Also, notice the cover artist used light colours for the scene depicted in the mantle and much darker ones for the rest of the cover. It’s a delightfully subtle way to say that at those times Bruce’s life was more light – hearted, because he lived in a better world and he had a joyful boy who used to cheer him up when he was in low spirits… and now things are not that easy, because the world became a much darker place and he doesn’t have Dick at his side anymore.
    If I had seen this issue in a comic shop, I would have catched it the second I saw it, but not because of these marvellous details: I would have done so because the issue is written by Dennis O’ Neil, who wrote some of the best comics I’ve ever read.
    As for Matt, I completely agree with the Daredevil cover you chose. Special mention for issue # 219 and # 220, because both of them are among my favorite comics ever – and, as chance would have it, Daredevil # 220 is written by Dennis O’ Neil. : )
    P.S.: This is the first page of Marvel Team – Up Annual Vol. 1 # 2: https://twitter.com/MaxBrighel/status/434379341640658944/photo/1. Can you imagine a better way to start a comic book? : )

    • “I really like Detective Comics # 866.”
      This cover is excellent on many levels with special mention towards the artist, who is one of my all-time favourites, Dustin Nguyen.

      “Also, notice the cover artist used light colours for the scene depicted in the mantle and much darker ones for the rest of the cover. It’s a delightfully subtle way to say that at those times Bruce’s life was more light – hearted, because he lived in a better world and he had a joyful boy who used to cheer him up when he was in low spirits… and now things are not that easy, because the world became a much darker place and he doesn’t have Dick at his side anymore.”
      Your assessment is almost entirely right. The brighter colours representing more cheerful times, the darker colours citing the more harrowing current outlook. Why is the present so depressing? Because of the immense weight of responsibility on Batman’s shoulders. I only know this because I own the issue, for you see that the Batman on this cover is actually Dick Grayson Batman after Bruce “died” in Final Crisis. As for my runner-up, as I told Paul Bowler, it is #864. Another beautiful and captivating image!

      “Special mention for issue # 219 and # 220, because both of them are among my favorite comics ever – and, as chance would have it, Daredevil # 220 is written by Dennis O’ Neil.”
      My other cover that I kept going back and forth on was #216. I love the oversized characters navigating the buildings/words. It really stands out to me as quite a gem despite the fact that I have no clue who the Gael is…

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices!

      • “It really stands out to me as quite a gem despite the fact that I have no clue who the Gael is…” I admit that I don’t know him either, so he probably sank into oblivion a long time ago. : )
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

        • According to another site: “The Gael was a hitman for the Irish Republican Army who later turned on his employers. His modus operandi included leaving paper shamrocks on his victims’ foreheads. The Gael traveled to New York City to assassinate Glorianna O’Breen, the daughter of an IRA member the hitman had previously murdered. Prior to his death, Glorianna’s father had entrusted to her proof of the Gael’s identity. Before the Gael could carry out his plan, Daredevil captured him. After escaping from prison, the Gael made another attempt on Glorianna’s life as she tried to flee the country. He was easily captured at the airport when he became a victim of a scheme perpetrated by the Russian extortionist known as the Cossack to temporarily blind the public.” He appeared in a total of three issues…

  2. Well, I really liked Detective #864 where Batman is perched on the gates of Arkham, shrouded in shadows, cape fluttering, smashing cover. I also think Daredevil #220 is really good as well, with DD in attack stance as fog swirls around him. Brilliant and very spooky cover

    • “Well, I really liked Detective #864 where Batman is perched on the gates of Arkham, shrouded in shadows, cape fluttering, smashing cover.”
      This was my runner-up for this year. From the colouring, to the use of shadows, to the moon with a skull face in it: yes, this cover is just plain awesome!

      “I also think Daredevil #220 is really good as well, with DD in attack stance as fog swirls around him.”
      It was a very interesting effect that the artist used to create that fog look and a technique that you don’t see many apply to their work.

      Thanks for providing your selections! 🙂

Leave a Reply

