On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 03/12/14

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Batman #29
Batman #29

Creative Team

Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo
Solicitation
“The ‘DARK CITY’ chapter of ‘ZERO YEAR’ reaches its conclusion in this amazing, extra-sized issue! Now, the next chapter of Zero Year is almost upon us, and we’ve saved the best for last! What corners of Batman’s past will be revealed? And how will they impact his very near future? Find out here!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
While I haven’t enjoyed the Dark City chapter of Zero Year as much as the first arc in Snyder and Capullo’s epic storyline, that doesn’t diminish by excitement in the positives that have come of it. The biggest positive? The elevation of the Riddler into a villain not to be trifled with. That fact along with this extra-sized finale is nothing but a win-win situation for me.
________________________________________________________

Batman: Li’l Gotham #12
Batman Lil Gotham #12
Creative Team
Dustin Nguyen
Solicitation

“FINAL ISSUE Damian’s fowlest friend Jerry has disappeared, but the people of Gotham City are not helping in his search for a missing turkey. This November, the Condiment King is making a Sandwich Day run! Then we close out the year with a bang before taking a long winter’s nap.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Noooooooooo! The time has unfortunately come: this series is ending. Every month I had looked forward to some lighthearted fun in the Bat-Verse, a series that drew a smile on my face at least three times each issue. It was also a comic that was rooted in the classic DC Universe before the New 52 (Oracle in her chair being an example) and it was my only chance to witness the greatness that was Damian Wayne. Why oh why does it have to come to an end?
 ________________________________________________________

Hawkeye #17
Hawkeye #18
Creative Team
Matt Fraction and Chris Eliopoulos
Solicitation
“Who could forget that time when Clint Barton let his neighbor’s kids watched a holiday cartoon at his place? o At long last THIS ISSUE is pretty much the cartoon they all watch. YOU’RE WELCOME. A very special holiday HAWKGUY that at long last lets legendary letterer CHRIS ELIOPOLOUS flex his astounding cartooning muscles in our pages. Matt and Matt do their regular jobs though. Maybe David will letter it? Probably not.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
By looking at the previews, this is one of those issues that you are either going to love or completely loathe. It’s going to take this series’ zaniness to another level. Whether it works in the end has me wondering but in Fraction I trust.
________________________________________________________

Justice League 3000 #4
Justice League 3000 #4
Creative Team
Keith Giffen and Howard Porter
Solicitation
“The Justice League of the future learns the terrible truth behind their creation!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Ever since this title’s inception, the big mystery has been how did these future Leaguers come to be. We’ve been promised that it simply isn’t a matter of them being clones and now the time has come for the grand reveal. I highly anticipate the answer along with looking forward to another humorous and enjoyable next installment.
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #9
printSizeImage
Creative Team
Nick  Spencer and Alejandro  Garza
Solicitation
“The Crime of the Century, Part 3. Boomerang’s been targeted for death. What does The Beetle know about it?Then, is Overdrive a rat for the feds? And where there’s a rat…there’s a cat.Nick Spencer, Steve Lieber and Rachelle Rosenberg continue the sleeper hit of the year.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
My #1 Marvel series releases its next chapter. It is too awesome that mere words cannot do it justice. Do yourself a favor and check it out for yourself. You’ll know what I mean afterwards.
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
All-New X-Factor #4
All-New X-Men #24
Batgirl #29
Coffin Hill #6
Deadpool #25
Fantastic Four #2
Federal Bureau of Physics #8
Green Lantern Corps #29
Indestructible #4
Justice League of America #13
Nightwing #29
Smallville Season 11: Alien #4
Superior Spider-Man #29
Superman/Wonder Woman #6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #32
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 03/12/14 goes to….
Batman #29
Batman #29
 Riddle me this: what series is marvelous and excellent at the same time? Answer: this one!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (9 Issues), Marvel (7 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

8 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 03/12/14

  1. All-New X-Factor, All-New X-Men, Captain Marvel (It’s finally back! Yay! Why isn’t it on your pull list?) Mighty Avengers, Revolutionary War and My Little Pony. I wish I could afford to put Black Widow, Superior Foes and X-Force, too, but I can’t.

    • “Why isn’t it on your pull list?”
      I might pick it off the shelf and give it another go-around. Who knows, maybe it will win me over like it has won you over?

      “I wish I could afford to put Black Widow, Superior Foes and X-Force, too, but I can’t.”
      The lack of Superior Foes from your list breaks my heart. 😦

  2. Really looking forward to Batman #29 as well, Zero Year has been so exciting. Will also be getting Superior Spiderman #29 and All New X-Men #24. Have a great new comic book day!

Leave a Reply

